We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“continue to lynchburg” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Appomattox VA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 Appomattox VA
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Appomattox
Altoona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“continue to lynchburg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

wanted a room overnight so we dont have to go back to richmond and 90 min drive.booked this place when in ruther glen, va the night before so we have a place after touring the courthouse compound. got there at 4 pm, checked into our room at the front desk,only to find out it was still being cleaned. the woman at the front desk should have known it wasnt cleaned yet and given us one that was cleaned. killed time at the food lion that was behind the hotel. there is only a strip mall to the left of the hotel with a few stores and wendys. there is a road in the parking lot which connects to the walmart behind the strip mall. there is no other places to eat around the hotel. when we checked out the next day, we saw the woman at the front desk going up to check our room that we stayed in.

Room Tip: continue past this hotel and drive 20 min more to lynchburg for more variety of places to stay and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank civilwarloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    54
    74
    33
    14
See reviews for
79
48
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Concord, va
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Very pleasant stay. Rooms clean, staff friendly & helpful. Small breakfast, but satisfying. Would recommend

Room Tip: The motel offered a pleasant night's stay. Rooms very clean, staff helpful & friendly. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieboy033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times before and was very satisfied but this will be the last time we stay there. Prevously the King non-smoking rooms we stayed in had recliners which helps my husband sleep due to breathing issues. This time the room had a regualr chair and I asked if we could switch to one with a recliner to help my husband. They did so grudgingly and when my husband went to try it out, the left arm all but fell off and the foot rest was also loose. I went back down to the desk and was informed very rudely by the manager on duty that this would be the last time we would be allowed to change rooms so we better check it thoroughly. I thought we had until later I looked behind the shower curtain and found that the bottom of the tub was cracked with chunks of pieces missing and others loose & lifted up. (I took pictures.) We showered at our daughter's home as we were afraid we would might cut our feet. At the least I wouldn't know how to clean a tub like that. I was afraid to say anything at the desk since he was so rude before - thought they might kick us out! The next time we visit the area we will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeeMeeof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Appomattox hotels

Piqua, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

I stayed there when i was vistiting the Historic Court House there and found out there were two hotels in the town one was a budget in and this super 8. I went to the budget inn to check the price and look at one of the rooms. They dont even give you soap and shampoo so my wife definatly didn't want to stay there. We went to the super 8 and looked at one of the rooms and it was really really clean and it seemed like they were carpet cleaning the whole hotel. I loved the price and the room. Would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jareddavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, West Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

This hotel is a basic no frills place to spend one night off the beaten path. This hotel looks to be the best of two low budget hotels found in Appomatox. We were there to visit the Appomatox Court House Historical Park.

We were greeted by a mother/son combination. The mother could barely speak English. The young boy checked us in and we discovered they had only been there two weeks working at the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised of the price of $60.00.

We found the room to be clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom fixtures were worn and old. The bathtub was extremely worn and I would not have sit down in it.

After turning on the heat, these strange bugs were seen walking on the walls and the ceiling. They were brown marmorated stink bugs. I knew they weren't harmful so I killed them with a shoe. We didn't complain about the bugs. We just killed them.

The room had a refrigerator and a recliner. We survived the night and the next morning we were pleasantly surprised at the nice breakfast. It was a good value for a room and a breakfast.

Super 8 in Appomatox is just a no frills, low budget hotel where you would spend one night and get on with your journey the next day.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
549 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

We stayed here on our way home from a week at Kitty Hawk. Hubby wanted to stop at the Appomattox Civil War sites. There are not too many hotel choices at Appomattox. We were very tired from driving and sightseeing that day, and Super 8 is the first hotel we came upon, so decided this was it. The clerk was very, very friendly upon check-in. Our room was reasonably clean and it did smell clean upon entering the room. It had a nice flat screen TV, and as always anymore, we checked for bedbugs. None were seen, and the mattress and its cover were not stained and appeared to be clean. I went to get ice to make drinks for hubby and I, and noticed that one of the plastic glasses was not wrapped in plastic. We threw it away, and I went to the front desk for more glasses. The clerk gave us 4 more of which we really didn't need that many. The room had a chair, but it was not a recliner. It really was pretty comfy though. Towels were not stained, and had plenty of waterflow for the shower. They offered free Wifi, and it was pretty fast and reliable. We chose not to stay for the breakfast, but they did have bread for toast, muffins, and a couple cereals, along with juice, coffee, and milk. There were 2 drawbacks to our room. The first one is that our room faced the highway, so we had a lot of highway traffic noise. If you stay here, request a room on the back side of it. The second one is that the room did have some bugs. We call them stink bugs in the Midwest, and they were huge! If it weren't for them, this place would have been a nice place to stay. They were even seen in the hallways. It was our fault, but we should have complained about the bugs. Not sure where they were getting in at, but it appeared to be a problem throughout. I'd probably stay here again, and if the bugs were still there, I would most definitely point it out to management. In general, the place was clean, and that is what I find is most important in selecting a hotel/motel. We all have some darn, pesty bug that occasionally gets in our own homes.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here one night on our way to Gettysburg PA. The room was mostly clean-- I checked the sheets and blankets very well and they were spotless. The bath tub however was disgusting. It had a dirty filty mat in it that made me sick! In addition the recliner in the room was missing an arm. Add to that the fact that the bed's mattress was so bad that with each move I was poked by the springs. Never again will I stay here. Getting a good night's sleep is important to me --- if it is to you then choose to saty somewhere else -- even if you have to drive a little farther away from town!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank territrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appomattox
1.0 mi away
Appomattox Inn & Suites
Appomattox Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Appomattox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
19.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
18.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Lynchburg
BEST WESTERN of Lynchburg
#15 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
18.2 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
17.9 mi away
Courtyard Lynchburg
Courtyard Lynchburg
#17 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Appomattox VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Appomattox VA

Property: Super 8 Appomattox VA
Address: 7571 Richmond Highway, Route 4 Box 100, Appomattox, VA 24522-8905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Appomattox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Appomattox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Appomattox VA 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Appomattox VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appomattox Super Eight
Appomattox Super 8
Super 8 Appomattox
Super Eight Appomattox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing