We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Appomattox VA
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Appomattox
Rockland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed there for one night. We had a clean spacious quiet room with no problems at all. We would definitely stay there again if in the area. The area itself is a great place to visit with all it's history. the new Museum of the Confederacy was great as well as the Appomattox Courthouse. The actors playing the soldiers tell an interesting story.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_j_scanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    57
    76
    33
    15
See reviews for
81
50
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I was in town for two nights. The hotel is inexpensive, although its only non-B & B competition in town is a Budget Inn. The desk staff were very friendly, and check-in was easy. My room was adequate. There were minor issues--the hair dryer was missing, although I didn't need it; the bed had a flat (not fitted) sheet covering the mattress, and the bathtub surface was scratched very badly. All things considered, though, these were not huge problems. The bed was comfortable, and the shower had good height and water pressure. The hallway smelled of cigarette smoke when I arrived, but the smell was gone by the next morning. The hotel is convenient to the National Park and the new Museum of the Confederacy, and there are shopping and dining options within a short drive. The wi-fi was fast and reliable throughout. There was a free breakfast, but I did not partake. Should I return to Appomattox, I would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bovenzba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel shows its age, and it has not aged well. It's in serious need of a makeover, I stayed here as a last resort due to other vacancies in Lynchburg, VA.

Owners appear to be more interested in money, then service or customer satisfaction!

Room Tip: Drive to Lynchburg VA instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nukefixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We traveled to Appomatox to visit the National Park and had a choice of 2 hotels! I would suggest that if you are going to visit that area, to stay in Lynchburg or another city relatively closeby. The National Park was nice, but other than that, there is not much to Appomattox. The hotel was not very Super, but like I said, it was either that or the Budget Motel, which looked like it wasn't even open. The window of the room we had was totally cracked and held together with tape! Fortunately my kids didn't notice it, as we tried to spend as little time in the room as possible. The breakfast ended really early, so I never saw it. I can say that the owners were very friendly, the price was super cheap, and the rooms were not gross.(they weren't good, but they weren't gross)

Room Tip: Stay in a different city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinky1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Older, clean, quiet. Really nice checkin and out. Get room away from Parkway...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bru15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Walked in on a Tuesday night and got a double queen room for about $60. Room was clean, service friendly, and breakfast was adequate (cereal, toast, pastries, bagels, milk, juice, coffee). Area is quiet and close to downtown, and Appomattox National Historical Park. Would stay again and recommend. Other than the Budget Motel, this is the only motel in the immediate area. Room was on the smaller side.

Only complaint, there was no hairdryer.

Room Tip: Ask for AAA rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StonewallBrigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This room is average. Much better than I had expected. I can't really say anything bad about it. Bed was very comfortable but could tell it was old and worn out however I slept beautifully. Bed linens were clean and crisp. Nice little town, too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMILEYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appomattox
1.0 mi away
Appomattox Inn & Suites
Appomattox Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Appomattox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
19.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
18.3 mi away
Best Western of Lynchburg
Best Western of Lynchburg
#15 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
18.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
17.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Appomattox VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Appomattox VA

Property: Super 8 Appomattox VA
Address: 7571 Richmond Highway, Route 4 Box 100, Appomattox, VA 24522-8905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Appomattox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Appomattox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Appomattox VA 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Appomattox VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appomattox Super Eight
Appomattox Super 8
Super 8 Appomattox
Super Eight Appomattox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing