We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Where History was Made

An amazing place to visit. Larger than one might think, with various restored buildings to the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Divemasterking
,
Pensacola, Florida
It was worth a 2 hour detour for us

Visiting this National Park was absolutely worth a two hour detour. We wanted to see the SURRENDER... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Nancy D
,
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Read all 856 reviews
  
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
651
178
18
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
651
178
18
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews civil war living history visitor center northern virginia general lee several buildings ranger talk american history war ended worth the trip short film both sides general store small museum great history re enactors answer questions
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

An amazing place to visit. Larger than one might think, with various restored buildings to the 1860s era. Free admission!

Thank Divemasterking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visiting this National Park was absolutely worth a two hour detour. We wanted to see the SURRENDER HOUSE and learned so much. We had not realized Appomattox Court House was actually a village of about 100 people and not a court house. So start with the visitor center and tour all the historic buildings of the village and then save the McLean House where the surrender ceremony took place for last like a frosting on a cake. Plan to spend several hours here at least. The nps employee at the McClean house had much knowledge to share and was able to answer all our quesitons.

1  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife told me about this place and she suggested we travel there on the way to Asheville, NC. It was a little out of our way, but history is history, especially when it comes to important events that reflected in our future.
This was where the ending of the Civil War treaty was signed between Grant and Lee. I did not get the memo. Anyway, to stand in the rooms where this took place many years ago and imagining those two men together who signed the agreement to end the Civil War was amazing. This house was build and rebuilt over the years, but the history is still there. Several building on the site and feel free to take photos in any of them. Free to enter and a nice staff.

Thank TBRD113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Appomattox Court House is a must-see historic site. You can see and experience everything in 2-3 hours, but don't skip it even if you have only a few minutes to see the highlights. Or, spend an entire day here walking the battlefields. The few buildings remaining in the small town are all part of the National Historical Park. Several buildings can be entered and viewed in their decoration and condition during the American Civil Way. There are homes, a dry goods store, the McLean house, the Court House and several others. Great signs describe what you see and the events that took place here during the way. But, the best way to experience Appomattox Court House - and the reason this review gets 5 stars - is the presentation by actors telling the story from a soldier's perspective. These actors remain in character during their ~45 minute story telling and throughout the rest of the day, even while resting on a front porch. They will hold a discussion with individuals as if they were still in 1865, even questioning the strange device you hold in your hands (cell phone).

Here's a few tips for your visit:
- Access and admission are free. Paved parking is abundant with overflow and space for large RV's in grass fields (be wary of getting stuck on rainy days).
- Expect to walk a mile to see the highlights. Much more if you want to see the battlefields and all sites.
- Most everything is outdoors, so plan ahead for bad weather. The nearby Civil War Museum may be a good alternative.
- There is a small bookstore and gift shop. Additional displays are in the Court House.
- The location is off the beaten path and away from interstates, so crowds should remain limited most days.
- Bring a good camera. There is a lot to see!

2  Thank Gabe10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't miss the opportunity to see this site where Lee surrendered to Grant to end the Civil War. History abounds here and you will need 2-3 hours to take it all in. Be sure to start at the Visitors Center where you can see an interesting introductory film before going out to explore the historic village. The Park Rangers and staff are friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. There are docents in period costumes who share information and re-enact events that occurred here. And the best thing is that you can enjoy all this history for free. There is no admission charge to this National Historic Park.

Thank travel50states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Begin your tour at the visitor’s center and watch the terrific video. The excellent guides help you put this quiet, little village into historical context. The home where Lee surrendered looks exactly as it did back then. Amazing to think about battles raging just outside. So worth the trip!

Thank NickK7501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to take in some amazing history lessons. We got lucky enough to experience a moment with a re-enactor, playing the role of Robert Caldwell a young man who went off to fight in the civil war as a Confederate soldier. They have a donation container that you should be prepared to drop some dollar bills in, it's worth it the whole place is free! The staff and park rangers are passionate and knowledgeable. Loved this stop.

Thank 561robertaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed this site. The buildings are amazing and the history is incredible. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. So much history here to see.

Thank Sisollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Appomattox is worth the drive. From Northern Virginia it is a very scenic drive. The ranger program & the video provide many interesting details of the personalities of Lee and Grant.

Thank hhigbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are a history buff or just want to learn more of the history of the United States, this National Park is a must experience. We watched the short film and toured the small museum in the Courthouse before we began our self-paced tour of the town. And, we’re fortunate enough to get to participate in one of the volunteer park ranger’s talk of the events that took place at Appomattox Court House.

After attending the discussion, we toured the surrender site (McLean House), the Tavern and the jail. It’s a self-paced tour and you can spend as little or as much time as you like in the town and in visiting the various historical buildings and sights.

For us, everything was completely free of charge. Don’t know if this is the case every day, but it was on our visit.

Very enjoyable, educational and moving experience. If you take a bit of time to stop and just think of what happened at Appomattox Court House, you cannot help but be more than a little in awe of the significance for the nation of the events that took place here.

Thank MarkMM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews