We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WARNING”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appomattox
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spring Grove Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Appomattox B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WARNING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have been staying at this property for a number of years when it was an old worn out house that was in need of MUCH repair. Actually it should have been torn down and converted back to farmland, but the owners had a vision that only they could see. They did not repair the original house, they "RESTORED" it to what it was when it was built in the 1860's. and added additional buildings to the property to make it something so special that you must put this on your bucket list. There is no detail that was left undone as the owners did much of the work themselves. We have traveled the world, and this has a special place in our hearts. The owners over the years have collected all of the furniture throughout this 15 room bed and breakfast. You will never meet a more interesting couple than the owners, Joe and Emily. If you are looking for a quite getaway and a beautiful unobstructed view of the stars, then you must visit Spring Grove Farm. After your stay, i'm sure you will say the something we always say....WOW. How did they do it..

Room Tip: Every room is unique, so each room is a different experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a wonderful time. The house is awesome, breakfast tasted good, innkeepers very cordial. It would be great if they could control the beetle population. It is a true getaway from it all place, We would come back if we are in the neighborhood again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I booked a trip to this B and B for a college event nearby, only to discover we had obligations for another child back in Richmond and would have to drive back and forth. We ended up not being able to arrive the first night, and the owners did not charge us for this first night even though they had the right to do so. Emily and her husband were very gracious and helpful, and the property is really very lovely. Hope to return when our weekend isn't so hectic.

Room Tip: The room upstairs with an outside balcony (Tulip Room?) is great for stargazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virginiatraveler1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,251 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed one night at Spring Grove, and I could have stayed longer. Emily and Joe are delightful hosts and made us feel right at home. We got there around 6:00, and a ball game my husband wanted to watch was on. After we were shown around a bit, we plopped down on the large sectional and watched the game while Joe and Emily went on to bed early. Their living area is on the third floor of this spacious property, and we saw at least 5 rooms on our floor, but I believe there are 13 guest rooms and 21 bathrooms in all. Joe provided my husband with a wi-fi hot spot so he could work in our room, and it worked great. Our suite was massive, including the bathroom, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful, and Joe helped us with tourist options afterward. There are 6 dogs on the property, but they are all very well behaved. This is a weekend property only now.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This property is incredible...from the moment we arrived and saw the beautiful antiques (four antique pianos!), and Emily told us she was upgrading our room request to a suite with a jetted tub, we knew we would love this place. Our room had a real fireplace, which we didn't use, and the largest bathroom I have ever seen! It's an easy drive to Appomattox or Lynchburg. You won't be disappointed staying here!

Room Tip: The Rose Room is my recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed one night last week in a cottage on the property. Lots of charm. Nicely appointed. Joe and Emily are very gracious hosts who really enjoy people. It was a pleasure meeting them and some of the other guests that we shared a lovely breakfast with. Exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Charming, antique setting in the country, huge property to explore, and charming hosts make this a wonderful escape. The prices do appear higher, but they have no minimum length of stay, their rooms have more amenities such as real fireplaces and jetted tubs, (except TVs and internet connectivity--which we wanted to get away from anyway), and you can probably expect to be the only guests staying at this place with 13 guest rooms. The proprietors are very relaxed and don't mind the slow business since their property and upgrades are paid off--they just want to meet new people and see others enjoy this magical place they have created. The only negative is that the floors creak (they are old) in the main building. This really is a romantic place and the proprietors really do make you feel at home, with personal touches along the way. It is perfect for a short romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appomattox
1.0 mi away
Appomattox Inn & Suites
Appomattox Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Appomattox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
19.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
16.9 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
18.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
0.8 mi away
Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Grove Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Grove Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spring Grove Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3440 Spring Grove Rd, Appomattox, VA 24522-8545
Region: United States > Virginia > Appomattox
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Appomattox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing