We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Valley Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Moab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Two of us stayed one night before exploring Arches. A few miles away from the park and there was road construction, but the property was well worth it to stay there. Great property, very clean, very comfortable sleeping, quiet, nice proprietors and excellent breakfast. Our room was small and we could not get any cell phone reception - although not a big deal for us (we did have free wireless and satellite TV), it may affect some other people's decision.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1000aire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    54
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
73
271
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July for 2 nights... wish we could have stayed longer! Our hosts were delightful, the setting was perfect, and the breakfasts were delicious! We stayed in the Anasazi cabin; enjoyed the privacy and our little porch. The property is absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed the hummingbirds buzzing around while having breakfast. Castle Valley is about 20-25 min from Arches NP entrance... a wonderful little green oasis with the mesas all around. The resort 10-15 min down the road has a great little restaurant that looks out over the river. We adored our stay and highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay near Arches National Park!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caitiesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I wish I could have written this review sooner, especially because of HOW HAPPY we were with our stay here. Jeanette was very sweet, and a lovely person to be greeted by. The rooms are clean and charmingly decorated. The scenery is extremely calming, and being in the hot tub surrounded by mountains is to be definitely enjoyed. My friend and I do not eat pork, and they were more than willing to accommodate this. Our breakfast consisted of a delicious quiche, fresh fruit salad, and probably the best scones we've ever had (thank you, Mercedes !). They were homemade (as was everything there) and so so tasty. She was even kind enough to give us the recipe.

All in all, we wish we could've stayed there longer than we did. It was such a fantastic experience ! I'd give it 10 stars if I could.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BykeRyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milpitasca
Level Contributor
489 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I spent a lot of time reading reviews on Moab properties before deciding to stay here. My husband and I had 4 lovely nights here in the Sommerville Bungalow. This inn is everything all the other positive reviewers state. But there is an unwritten vibe to this serene inn. Everything is rather Utopian - the cabins; the sky full of brilliant stars; the fabulous young couple that owns and works this inn; the helpful, smiling Mercedes; the adorable 2 year old son, Judah who entertains and smiles at all of the guests; Molly, the petable dog who begs for sausages; the never- tiring, feuding fan-tailed hummingbirds attacking the feeders close to the breakfast tables; the fabulously tasty and healthy home-cooked breakfasts; and other like-minded guests from all over the world enjoying the peacefulness of this inn and area. We loved our time here and you will too, hopefully. We used the gas BBQ to cook elk and beef steaks which we purchased in Moab at the Old Geezer Meat Co. After long days of touring, all we wanted to do was hang out here in the quiet of our bungalow enjoying the surroundings. This place to guaranteed to lower your stress and blood pressure levels. P.S. If you must, WiFi works in the room!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alicerabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Nestled in breathtakingly beautiful Castle Valley near Moab, this has to be the best place to stay in the area! After driving all day to Moab from Escalante, the hostess, along with the comfort and peacefulness of the country Inn were a welcome retreat! The Inn has lush green grass and beautiful flower gardens - a very rare site in Utah. The Hovenweep Bungalow with two queen beds was spacious, quiet and comfortable. It also had a kitchenette which was very useful. The Inn is not far from Moab and Canyonlands but away from the traffic and crowds of the parks and city. There are two nice restaurants within a mile or two so there's no need to drive back to Moab for dinner. Breakfasts were very good and the cookies at check-in were a nice touch. I would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here in mid-May (Sommerville Bungalow) for several nights. It's approximately 20-30 minutes from downtown Moab, located in beautiful Castle Valley, an easy drive along the Colorado River. It’s also very easy to get to both Arches & Canyonlands. If you are looking for hikes around the inn along the Colorado River there are many. The innkeepers, Jeanette and Jason as well as Mercedes your breakfast host will happily answer your questions and provide suggestions for things to do.

Jeanette, Jason, and Mercedes were very personable, laid-back, down-to-earth, and knowledgeable about the areas’ hiking, biking, and rock climbing.

Breakfast was scrumptious with a lot of local flavor and quite filling. They offer three breakfast times (you sign up for which you would like the previous day). They also have tasty treats in the common area of the main house. Jeanette even kindly offered us fresh brownies from the oven upon our departure; after I casually mentioned how yummy the treats looked and explained how we didn’t have an opportunity to sample them.

Our room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed (very relaxing after a long day of hiking). Our room also had a nice size dining table and mini-kitchen. The small table with chairs on the porch was an enjoyable place to sit in the fresh morning air overlooking the orchard.

The grounds are lovely and well maintained. We enjoyed taking leisurely strolls around the property after breakfast and enjoyed the large hammocks under the trees.

They have an adorable dog (Molly) that is just as sweet as can be and doesn't bark at all. She would often greet us on the porch to our room. A friendly cat (Amber) also wonders the property in hopes someone will pet her.

We will definitely stay at this inn again when in the Moab area.

Room Tip: The Sommerville Bungalow is a newer room in a separate building to the main house located on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4TheLuvofTravel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyDan
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights in June 2013 and have no complaints. The drive into the valley is a delight. The breakfast was very good. The room was a bit dated but was clean and fine for our needs. We ate outside each day because the weather cooperated. One morning a fox walked across the yard during breakfast. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeputyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
2.3 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
9.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
8.9 mi away
Cali Cochitta Bed & Breakfast
15.0 mi away
Moab Under Canvas
Moab Under Canvas
#2 of 33 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Valley Inn

Property: Castle Valley Inn
Address: 424 Amber Lane, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Castle Valley Hotel Moab
Castle Valley Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing