We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Lizard International Hostel
Ranked #16 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a great place to stay for experienced travellers with realistic expectations. The nightly price for a dorm room was ridiculously low. The hostel is well worn, but clean, and with all the basics covered. A functioning kitchen, free, fast wifi, colour tv, reasonably comfortable beds - what more do you need? There was a wide variety of folks staying there, some of them maybe a little rough around the edges, but overall the vibe was friendly and open. I can understand that some folks might be more comfortable in a more antiseptic environment, but this place is a real oasis in the expensive, commercialized Moab scene. On future trips I will definitely make reservations here well in advance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClimbnRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    63
    48
    20
    28
See reviews for
23
59
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Loved the place. Rocked up to stay three nights and priced the campground in town which was more expensive. It was a good place to stay as it has good WIFI. There was a good mix of people to chat to of an evening. The only negative was the employee with the grey beard. He was very direct and might need to learn more about customer service. The rest of the staff were very good. It was a good place to wait to see if the NP would open as there were other options. Go to Gooseneck State Park near Monument Valley as it is the same as Dead Horse Point state Park and it is free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were on a 3 week tour of National Parks, we opted for Moab because of its central location. We checked at other hotels/motels/inns and they were all very basic, with no character and at least $20 more a night than the lazy lizard.

When we arrived in town I called and spoke to a nice guy over the phone who was really nice and patient and told me all the options that were available and even went as far as to figure out the tax (we were on a tight budget) after reading the reviews I was surprised at how nice and not grumpy he was.

We ended up settling on a private cabin for $35/night (A little more after tax.) check in was smooth, fast & friendly. A different guy checked us in and again no grumpy Gus here! Super friendly. Showed us the community living room and laundry area.

Our cabin was basic but with a few appreciated touches: they provide towels, a space heater, mirror in room (thank you!), bench, lamp & a table to place your belongings. The room was clean with only one complaint... We walked in to find an envelope saying that if the room was clean to our satisfaction, Alisha would gladly accept a tip. So upon seeing that I took a keen eye to the room and pulled down the sheets to find a big clump of hair. Not dirty hair just obviously a clump that the dryer didn't catch. It wasn't gross but it wasn't doing Alisha any favors in the tip department.

The shower/bathroom area was clean and is much like a campground shower facility. Plenty of room.

One final thing: the thing that was most off putting about the lazy lizards reviews were that people said it was dirty (not true) and the picture of the black widow really put me off. I can happily report that I looked everywhere for spiders and found not one.

If you're like us and plan to spend your time outdoors and want a warm bed and hot shower, this is the place for you!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandi_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is the place to stay if you're in Moab, and Moab is a great place to go. It's crazy cheap, fun, and has a great common area where to hang out, meet other travelers and maybe join up with some of them to go hiking, climbing or mountain biking.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
587 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed there a few years ago when in Moab and should have made reservations like I did last time. But even in just showing up they were able to get me into a cabin instead of a room for only
$5 more so it still was a good value. Lots of mountain bikers were hanging out in the TV room where there was free Wi-Fi. Used the kitchen in the AM for some coffee & breakfast I brought with me. This is a clean & friendly hostel in a busy town. Worth seeking out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabondginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waianae, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Being very skeptical about staying here I was relieved that my visit was uneventful. the staff were accommodating the room was clean, sheets and towels were fresh. I liked having free internet. We were in a private room with bathroom located close to the room. recommend keep your stuff light because we had stairs to climb. overall I had a VERY pleasant stay.

Room Tip: for older clients try the ground floor or pack light
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Lazy Lizard is very clean and quiet. Sheets, blankets, and towels are fresh, showers are conveniently located and the staff was great about recommending coffee shops, places to eat, etc. I had a private room and shared a bathroom with another room and there was never a wait. The hostel is located at the end of downtown, but close to grocery stores, restaurants, bars and tourist attractions. Overall great value!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egabelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
716 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
804 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
3.5 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,324 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard International Hostel

Property: Lazy Lizard International Hostel
Address: 1213 S Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532-3062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lazy Lizard International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Lizard International Hotel Moab
Lazy Lizard International Hostel Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing