We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Gonzo”
Review of The Gonzo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gonzo Inn
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Gonzo”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We recently spent two wonderful nights at the Gonzo Inn. We found the hotel on Trip Advisor and we were very happy with our choice. As many other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel was one block off the Main Street and very quiet. We had a suite on the second floor. The suite was modern, clean and very comfortable. When we checked into the hotel Kristin was friendly and helpful. The maintenance person was on vacation and Kristin was able to turn on the gas fireplace for us with a smile. Breakfast was fresh and more than adequate. The pictures on the website don't do justice to the hotel. I would most definitely recommend the Gonzo Inn when visiting Moab!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor. The view is a bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    240
    47
    14
    9
See reviews for
187
380
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Putney, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Well, yes, our suite was more expensive than we wanted to pay, but it was 4 in the afternoon, and many other hotels were full, so....

Off the Main Street, so it's quiet. Really quiet.
We did NOT hear other people's air conditioners.

We slept with our windows open and felt safe.

A lush green surround to a lovely pool & hot tub.

Our suite enabled the early riser to get up, go to the living room and do her thing while the sleeper of the family slept on.

And we had Moab friends come over and visit on our patio.Lovely

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeditativeGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caliente
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at the Gonzo Inn for three nights the first week of September. I had looked through several hotel websites planning our trip and the Gonzo just looked clean and fresh and that is just how it is in person. Our room was spotless and so comfortable. I love how they carried their theme throughout the Inn with quirky little décor items that were quite cheery. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. They even took care of booking a couples massage for us at the Crystal Spa. The breakfast was better than the average continental breakfast and constantly being restocked and kept tidy so you felt like you were the first guest there. The location of the Gonzo was ideal for us as we had booked activities with the Moab Adventure Center and could just walk down one block and cross the street. It is also centrally located to walk through town and enjoy the shops and variety of restaurants. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about the Gonzo Inn and hope that we can return soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BasinBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senlis, France
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

From the minute you walk in the door and are greeted by a lifesize statue of a greyhound with a baseball cap, you know that this isn't any ordinary hotel. The reception itself looks like a bar with stools...and the lizard motif was everywhere (like the huge sign just off main street which points the way to the hotel). The receptionist was so welcoming and helpful. The jug of lemonade and fresh cookies were nice touches, after our long day's drive to reach Moab.
We stayed in large room just off the pool, complete with kitchenette. Everything was modern, clean and I spent one of the best nights of my whole trip in an extremely comfortable bed. The shops and restaurants were minutes away on foot. I liked being off the main street yet close enough to wal . Their varied and generous breakfast is included in the price. Wish we could have stayed longer than one night!

Room Tip: Check on the price of a suite versus two rooms if you are travelling with 3-4 people. Our room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marciebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We've been to Moab a couple of times before and had not been able to get rooms here - this time we were lucky - we managed to book the Gonzo Suite.

It was a great space - two beds, two baths and some indoor and outdoor living space.

It was very clean and the staff were very helpful (particularly as we had to take my Dad to the local hospital - and they directed us there).

It is just a short walk from the main road - meaning it is quiet, but near the restaurants (a very short walk).

I hope to be back in the future - but minus the trip to hospital.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank airedale_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We screwed up our reservation at Best Western, so the girl there referred us to The Gonzo Inn. This was nice as it was late after a day of driving from Vail. Don't get scared by the look of the dog mannequin in the middle of the lobby with the shorts an sun hat. The room was great, even though we had no choice, we were right off the lobby, as that. W what was left. It had a separate bedroom and eating area with a hide-a-bed. This is great with a young child. Feels like freedom when we get a door on vacation!

Seeing that I screwed up the reservation at Best Western, I was expecting my wife to nix this place when she went in, as it is a bit different. The large showers are glazed concrete, reminding me of high school!

The continental breakfast was one f e better on our trip.

The location is one block west of the Main Street, which makes it very convienient for shopping.

We'd stay again.

Room Tip: Don't get the first couple of room off of the lobby...unless you are expecting to use the pool t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNTripper1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornwood, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

If you are staying in Moab for any length of time, absolutely stay at the Gonzo Inn. From the overall cleanliness, wonderful location (off of the main road but we walked to everything), clean and well-kept pool,very helpful staff and great breakfast the Gonzo made our stay ( two adults two kids age 11/13) so memorable. We felt like we were staying in a home rather than a hotel, just can't say enough good things!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.5 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 35 in Moab
2,807 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
0.6 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
804 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonzo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonzo Inn

Property: The Gonzo Inn
Address: 100 W. 200 South, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#6 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gonzo Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gonzo Inn is designed with comfort and fun in mind. The eclectic expression of southwest influences, retro 70's and industrial era is entertaining and tantalizing to the senses. All rooms are uniquely decorated with superior furnishings,vibrant colors and hand-selected materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Gonzo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gonzo Hotel Moab
Gonzo Hotel Moab
The Gonzo Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing