We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Moab”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gonzo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gonzo Inn
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Moab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Gonzo Inn is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Moab. It's very funky and relaxed. They don't serve a hot breakfast but do offer something for everyone. We stayed in one of their suites which was very roomy and comfortable. It's centrally located but very quiet. And, they have the best tee shirts around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    226
    45
    13
    9
See reviews for
177
358
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We spent three nights in the Gecko Suite at the Gonzo Inn this month. We had stayed there many years ago, and were glad to be back. It is a great accommodation, well appointed in Gonzo fashion, with little features everywhere. The Suite had a separate bedroom with a deck, a living area with gas logs, another deck. The view from the deck was out over the Canyons surrounding Moab. It is quirky, clean, good beds and pillows, and very centrally located. Hard to find a better base camp for exploring Arches, Canyonlands and Moab.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panacea, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The first time we slept at Gonzo was in December 2013, when the wicked weather had chased us all the way from Florida. We had chosen the Utah route, to avoid the icy Denver-Tunnel-Vail Pass terror, to reach our west slope home, called in from New Mexico, and Gonzo Jerry set us up. Good thing, cause the snow caught up to us just about Monticello not that far south. We were stressed and tired only to find the snow was already really deep for Moab!

We stayed at Gonzo for the 2nd time again as a remedy for cabin fever a couple of weekends ago. Both stays 1 and 2 had all us animals sleeping like Ute Mountain in the terrific beds and bedding! What a refuge!

Room Tip: Hint: if you ask for a handicap accommodation, there are no rails or raised seats (ADA FYI).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrC-Silt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

An upscale (but not terrifically expensive) alternative to the chain hotels, this quirky place has both charm and personality as well as excellent service and very well-kept rooms and environs. Everything about this hotel was positive: our room had all the amenities and was very clean and quiet, plus had fantastic artistic features that are unique to this hotel. Down the hall was the pool and hot tub- we were here in January, so the hot tub was perfect: nice and hot and clean, and you can sit and watch birds and the blue skies or stars. Speaking of which, the location is right downtown- perfect for walks to dinners- along Mill Creek with a nice greenspace park adjacent to the hotel. We had our dog and they were very accommodating about her. Our only complaint was that during winter months they give a $5 breakfast voucher at one of the local spots instead of serving breakfast in the hotel (Moab is pretty slow in January), but $5 doesn't get you very far... Anyway, not a big deal.

Going to Arches or Canyonlands? Never been to Moab, or looking to stay somewhere more interesting than the normal chain hotels? You won't be disappointed in the Gonzo Inn- it's a cool place (without attitude) and I'm glad there are still hotels like this!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor with a balcony facing the pool or facing the creek. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_Go_Lucky_UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We loved this hotel! We went on a 7-day road trip and changed hotels each night, and this was definitely one of our favorites! This hotel is very close to Arches National Park, located right in the center of Moab, which is why we chose it. It's definitely, by far, the best hotel in town! The king bed was very comfortable, with white soft cotton sheets and dreamy downy pillows and all of the furnishings in the room were modern, yet eclectic and over all, very thoughtfully decorated. Loved the use of re-purposed wood and metal in the room's decor! The bathroom and shower were very spacious and was stocked with nice fluffy towels and ammenities. There was a coffee maker and a fridge in our room, which was extremely useful. The staff here were super personable and we wish we had stayed here more nights, as our room had a door to a park area and a nice view. Overall, a cozy, comfy, memorable experience.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and loved the back door to a little patio that looked out onto the park-l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Gonzo Inn for five days in September 2013. It was one of the most enjoyable vacations that we have ever had. Our room was beautifully appointed - not your usual nondescript hotel room. The staff was friendly and very eco-conscious. The breakfast had healthy options. The pool and the hot tub were a welcome end to a hot day's hiking. The hotel is centrally placed in Moab within easy walking distance of restaurants. We visited Arches and Canyonlands National Parks and Dead Horse Point State Park, all fantastic and within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, CT
Level Contributor
430 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

During the winter season (Dec to Feb) the reception is only open for 7 am to 7 pm/ This is rather inconvenient if you need help in the evening. The staff are really friendly and hlelpful. However, the internet was not available overnight for one of the days and was sketchy on other days. The room was clean and warm and the king suite was a perfect size allowing us to work in one room and have an extra bed for our son.
The sink and facilities allowed us to buy groceries and make sandwiches when wewent hiking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine3Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.5 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
2.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonzo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonzo Inn

Property: The Gonzo Inn
Address: 100 W. 200 South, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#6 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gonzo Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gonzo Inn is designed with comfort and fun in mind. The eclectic expression of southwest influences, retro 70's and industrial era is entertaining and tantalizing to the senses. All rooms are uniquely decorated with superior furnishings,vibrant colors and hand-selected materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Gonzo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gonzo Hotel Moab
Gonzo Hotel Moab
The Gonzo Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing