We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”
Review of The Gonzo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gonzo Inn
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have to say I had a unique experience here I will probably never have again. I like to look at real estate magazines and saw our room listed for sale in the booklet. It turns out all the rooms are condos. Interesting! We were assigned the handicapped room although we did not need it. This meant no view from the back deck but corrugated steel walls that rattled all night long. The toilet was the loudest I have ever heard (and I heard the neighbor's flushing as well). I also heard furniture dragging and feet stomping. All the cement and funk made noise absorption not possible. The window covering did not make the room dark at night so if street lights bother you you might find sleep difficult. The dining room has a nice view and the food is pretty good. The staff was helpful. We opted for the "green" service which meant no maid service. I felt a bit weird about that as this does not employ housekeepers and our room got messy after 3 days. It is your option and I probably would not choose it again if I did stay here again.

Room Tip: I would not recommend room 103 if you want a view from the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Water pipes rumbling LOUDLY all night, fixture that shorted a bulb and wasn't fixed during our stay (and a sorry excuse of a tiny, feeble lamp that was proffered as a stand-in), an absolutely horrendous breakfast relative to the nightly rate of $200+ (sawdusty instant oatmeal, pre-cooked and possibly frozen boiled eggs, and a toaster that burnt one side of the bread while toasting the other side normally), but friendly staff, then this place is for you! :-)

For me, Gonzo is a "no go."

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rms22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nnioznog, Manager at The Gonzo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

RMS22

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am sorry to hear that we did not go above and beyond your expectations. We value your feedback and will use your comments to implement necessary changes. We take our guest and customers service very serious. Please contact me if I can assist you further.

Kali Bisco
Operations Manager
435 259 2515

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We've stayed at the Gonzo about once a year for the past five years, and every visit has been excellent. Staff are helpful and friendly, breakfast is quite good and dining area pleasant. The rooms are large, comfortable and comfortably furnished, quiet, and beds excellent; rooms and bathrooms always spotless. Excellent location within easy walking distance of "downtown". Winner and will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueprc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great location just minutes from Arches National Park and a short drive to Canyonlands National Park. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The huge walk-in shower with lots of hot water was great after a long day of hiking. The included breakfast was delicious with lots of choices. Coffee and tea were always available and high quality (Seattle's Best Coffee and Tazo tea). The staff was very friendly and helpful. If (when!) we return to Moab we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecco815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed four nights in early March. It was just before the "Season" started. We used the reduced winter prices to upgrade to a Gonzo Suite. It was worth every penny. We enjoyed the views from the two balconies and fireplace was great on the cool evenings. The suite was very clean and house keeping did a great job keeping it that way during our stay. The Gonzo Inn is within walking distance of most restaurants and shops in town. Because it was preseason instead of the complimentary breakfast we were given vouchers for $5.00 per person for the Moab Dinner and the Love Muffin Cafe. We chose the Love Muffin each morning and with their reasonable prices the $10.00 took care of most of our check. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit Moab.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHOTOAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Gonzo Inn is great ! Close to national Parks and walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. The room was clean and spacious. The bed, pillows and linens were super comfortable. Best of all we brought our little dog. Many times it's hard to find a hotel that's nice for us and dog too. Also, if you "go green" and skip some housekeeping on days they offer a discount at the gift shop. Personally, I LOVED this idea! Staff was very friendly and we will be back for sure if we make it back to Moab again!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the first floor room with patio and fence for our dog who will bark when he sees other do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just stayed at The Gonzo and it was awesome! Amazing location near downtown Moab and short drive to Arches and 30-40 minutes to Canyonlands. Very clean, modern furniture and an overall fun atmosphere. Our bathroom had a stone walk-in shower, the room had vaulted ceilings and the bed was really comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was also fantastic - healthy options to get you ready for a day of outdoor recreation. Definitely hoping to be back next spring!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraLO87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.5 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 37 in Moab
2,984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
0.6 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 37 in Moab
877 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 37 in Moab
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonzo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonzo Inn

Address: 100 W. 200 South, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#5 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range: £80 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gonzo Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gonzo Inn is designed with comfort and fun in mind. The eclectic expression of southwest influences, retro 70's and industrial era is entertaining and tantalizing to the senses. All rooms are uniquely decorated with superior furnishings,vibrant colors and hand-selected materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Gonzo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gonzo Hotel Moab
Gonzo Hotel Moab
The Gonzo Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing