We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gonzo Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rustic Inn(Moab)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bowen Motel(Moab)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveller rating
437
262
51
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
262
51
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliquor storesmall balconythe main streetcookie cutterboutique hotelin townseparate bedroomhard boiled eggswalk in showernice pool and hot tubbiscuits and gravywithin walking distanceshops and restaurantsplace to staycontinental breakfastyogurtfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
452 - 457 of 774 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My first reaction was, oh, another motel. I was wrong. Yes it is a bit pricey and their breakfast really isn't and that's okay because any restaurant is a 5 minute walk away. Our suite was very nice and the detail shows from the linens, fireplace, and a terrific shower. Just about every other option is a chain establishment and many times the "upgraded" facilities are planned but not complete.

Room Tip: 2nd floor pool view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I'll be the first to admit the Gonzo may not be for everyone. It is a very unique and eclectic property, and it is NOT just another cookie-cutter hotel. We just got home yesterday from yet another stay at the Gonzo, and were--once again--totally satisfied. The property continues to be impeccably maintained, and there have been improvements since our last stay: namely safes in every room, and a waffle maker at the breakfast bar.

The staff was totally friendly & helpful--as usual--and the room was immaculate--also as usual. While the breakfast buffet may not offer the array of foods that Holiday Inn Express offers, what is provided is wholesome, tasty and fresh (can't say that about HIE's breakfast).

Yes, the Gonzo may cost a bit more than the cookie-cutter hotels, but we feel it is worth it. We have stayed at other properties in Moab when the Gonzo was fully booked, but we always return to the Gonzo whenever possible. In our opinion, it's the best hotel in central Moab and worth the extra cost. If you prefer hotels like HEI, Hampton Inn or Hotel 6, the Gonzo's ambiance may not appeal to you, so stay some place else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colorado_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great place to stay, funky and really central. As travellers from the UK we loved it. Very comfy beds and great shower. Nice continental breakfast too. Would highly recommend. When we come back to amazing Moab we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This one came by recommendation of other TripAdvisor members and we were very pleased with our decision to go with their suggestion.
We found the Inn to be very comfortable, rooms were nice and bed was very comfortable. They have a small pool on location with a restaurant. We did not use either, but would certainly not hesitate to stay here again. The parking lot was very full, so I am sure they are very popular. Lots of mountain bikers there as almost every car had a bike rack on the back.

Room Tip: We stayed on an upper floor, so we did not hear anyone walking around above us. They do not have elevators, so you will have to walk up about 20 steps to get to the second floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1momo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed for two nights on a layover between backcountry trips into Canyonlands National Park. I'd say this seems like one of the best choices in Moab for a place to stay. Close to downtown, very nice rooms, clean with ample space for a family and friendly staff. We enjoyed the pool and appreciated the property management's willingness to allow us to park our car for a couple of days when we were in the canyons. I would have given the property an excellent rating if it weren't for the following items:

1. The complimentary continental breakfast needs an upgrade to match its $200 per room price tag. Could have eaten the same or better food at a Holiday Inn breakfast bar.
2. A $100 fine is applied to any guest smoking on the grounds of the property. However, this rule doesn't seem to apply to the maintenance and cleaning staff who use the shade garden behind the Pool to do their smoking. Poor taste and even poorer policy when violated by the hotel's own employees
3. Check-in processes and transparency about room availability could be improved. We walked into our room and it had already been given out for the evening. Glad we didn't walk in on the other guest in a precarious situation.

All in all, I would stay here again but there are some very easy things the management can do to improve the experience.

Room Tip: Go for suite.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrockAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews