We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A good place to stay in Moab” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gonzo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gonzo Inn
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good place to stay in Moab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I recently spent a couple of nights at the Gonzo Inn prior to a kayak trip on the Green River. We had a good room (220) at the back of the property looking out onto a large mowed lawn. Twice in the afternoon we had deer visit the hotel garden.

The place was quiet, provided good service and had an adequate included breakfast. The room was large and comfortable. There was an in room refrigerator and an ice machine on the first floor. There is a laundromat on site for use by guests. The staff was generally friendly. In the afternoon, the hotel,provides free fresh baked cookies in the lobby.

A couple of minor negatives. We chose not to have our room serviced. In my mind this usually means not changing the sheets or towels. In Gonzo speak, this means not refilling in room coffee supplies, toiletries, Kleenex or emptying the trash. We did ask at the front desk for another package of coffee which they gracefully provided. For not having your room serviced, the Gonzo gives you a gift card for one drink from their espresso bar. Since their were two of us in the room, I believe they should have extended this offer and provided 2 gift cards.

We enjoyed the jacuzzi and pool on the first evening. On the second night, after some hiking, I was looking forward to another soak in the jacuzzi. Unfortunately it was closed because of a maintenance issue. This was July 4th weekend, so getting parts or service over the holiday weekend was certainly understandable.

I would definitely consider the Gonzo Inn in the future when I return to Moab.

Room Tip: Upstairs with a view of the main lawn/garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manicsubmersion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    225
    45
    12
    9
See reviews for
173
350
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 days in mid-July and would have stayed much longer if time had permitted. The staff were extremely helpful (even resetting the wifi for the whole inn just for me!) with directions and advice on local eateries. Our room on the ground floor had a lovely private grassy area outside it and the room itself was reasonably spacious, clean and slightly rustic. I would have given the inn 4.5 stars but I can't so 4 it is.

Room Tip: Ground floor at the back is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScootandScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. We had just been camping in Grand Tetons so needed a nice place to stay after a very long drive. We booked a suite with a King bed and it was great. Loved the decor in the room. It was really well down and very clean. The bathroom was also unique. I appreciated the microwave in the room along with the cabinets and plastic utensils. The continental breakfast had a wide variety of choices including blueberry waffles which were quite good. The hotel is located right downtown near everything. When you are in Moab you need to check this place out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I would stay here again in a heart beat! The bed was super comfy, and the shower was awesome. Our shower in room 101 was over 7 feet long. It was so great after a long day of hiking. The pool was heated but felt good at 102 degrees. The ice machine was right beside the room. But we didn't hear a thing. There is also a large mini fridge and microwave if it was needed. The breakfast was above average for a continental breakfast. The blueberry muffins and sausage and gravy were great. We actually miss it. They also had granola, cereal, waffles, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal and Bagels and muffins. The staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Gonzo Inn for the first time before and after a 6-day rafting trip. We like that it's off the main road, but close to many restaurants and shops. The first room we stayed in was very large, with high ceilings and very spacious. We like the Southwestern decor, not like your typical chain hotel. The shower is huge and all rooms have microwave and refrigerator. As someone else had already mentioned, some of the air conditioning units (we had different models in each room) constantly cycle on and off, which is very annoying. The pool is nice and wasn't very busy. Breakfast is better than the average hotel and staff is extremely friendly. In my opinion it is a little overpriced, but maybe that's what's to be expected during the busy rafting season. We'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want more quit, get a second floor room, facing away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, WY
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had 6 adults and 7 boys who all had a blast at the gonzo. Great pool, very nice grassy grounds for soccer, etc. helpful nice staff and clean comfortable room. Off main strip so it was quiet. It was a tad bit pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here as a part of a package with Western River Expeditions. We really enjoyed the hotel, and it is within walking distance of pretty much everything in Moab. The staff was courteous, and we enjoyed the patios, pool, and hot tub. There is a grocery/drug store right across the street. The breakfast was good. The A/C does blow most of the time, as mentioned by other reviewers, but it didn't bother me--it was more like "white noise." I would definitely stay here again, and I really loved Moab!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydoc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.5 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
2.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonzo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonzo Inn

Property: The Gonzo Inn
Address: 100 W 200 S, Moab, UT 84532-2535
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#6 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gonzo Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gonzo Inn is designed with comfort and fun in mind. The eclectic expression of southwest influences, retro 70's and industrial era is entertaining and tantalizing to the senses. All rooms are uniquely decorated with superior furnishings,vibrant colors and hand-selected materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Gonzo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gonzo Hotel Moab
Gonzo Hotel Moab
The Gonzo Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing