We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Weekend!”

Canyonlands Field Institute
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join CFI for a scheduled or custom river or land-based trip, or try a combination of the two! Hiking trips supported by pack stock or vehicles take you to rare desert treasures, while our wide range of river rafting and camping experiences show you historic and inspiring places only accessible by water. Plan a trip for your family, or gather a group of friends for a memorable experience of a lifetime. We offer something for everyone! You’ll enjoy a balance of moderate physical exercise, optional nature hikes from camp or along the river, time to read from our rich trip library, great food and company, interesting campfire conversations, spectacular night skies and the profound silence of desert back country. We work with local personalities, guest experts, and quality, locally-owned services. Trips are tailored to age groups, in some cases, because of the nature of the content and level of abilities. Each trip is clearly outlined with age requirements. Youth fees apply up to 17 years of age.Why CFI? CFI strives to create unforgettable experiences. Unique land and river trips focus on activities that bring families and friends, and student groups together to build shared memories and appreciation for the place we call home.- We focus on participation and learning. With our knowledgeable guides, everyone has a role as we explore the desert environment through active, fun, and unique learning experiences, hands-on sciences, cultural history, and day-to-day living.- Our trips are moderately priced. We are committed to taking a sensible approach to trip planning and provide affordable lodging, delicious and healthy meals, and comfort without the pampering.- CFI incorporates green thinking. We believe in buying locally from the many resources we have close to home, and teaching “leave no trace” and other environmentally sound practices on every trip.- And we are a nonprofit organization. While we provide rich experiences for you, your trip dollars help underwrite outdoor education programs for schools and youth.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
1 review
“A Unique Weekend!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife Sue and I went on the Bookcliffs Archeology and Historical Tour this October. It was the first tour of its kind and we enjoyed it immensely! We were able to view petroglyphs and pictographs on private land and in remote areas that we would never have seen ourselves. The tour included invaluable information from Dr. Carol Patterson, who taught us so much about the age of this rock art and the Indians who created it. She also involved us in measuring and photographing it to record it for the BLM! Our stay at the Three Canyons B&B was so nice and it was fun joining the Institute staff for meals and presentations about the area. We thank Karla and her staff for a great job in organizing this trip, we will join them for more in the future!! Rob & Sue Kasica

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wabasha, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Range Creek Archeology Tour”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I just completed a two day tour with CFI. Our tour was in to Range Creek Canyon - a box canyon the state of Utah now owns. Range Creek is a box canyon with many untouched pictographs, petroglyphs, and corn granaries. The people here were from the Fremont Culture and what a beautiful area they lived in! Our tour guide Rebecca Martin was extremely knowledgeable and enjoyable. Our other two guides were new to this tour and were as excited about the tour as we were. CFI does a great job in sending out a list of items needed for their tours. Binoculars were a definite must for this tour. The Fremont people placed their granaries in very inaccessible spots. You needed those binoculars to find the granaries. Our guide Rebecca also brought along a spotting scope and that was wonderful. We were really able to see details our binoculars could not pick up.
On the first tour day CFI gave us some background information and showed us a Fremont display in the John Wesley Powell Museum in Green River(our starting point). We then drove to Range Creek in a CFI vehicle. The first day consisted of short hikes to particular areas Rebecca was familiar with and we started scanning the canyon walls for evidence of the Fremont. I will say it was pretty tough to find things in those binoculars!
That evening we had a delicious meal with a warm beverage(it was chilly out) and a great fire.
The next morning we all packed up our tents as our guides prepared breakfast. We were headed to the end of the canyon where Waldo Wilcox's(former owner) ranch was located. On our way through the canyon we were lucky enough to see a couple of moose along the road. I had never dreamed moose would be living out in a desert environment! It was quite exciting!!
My one regret was not being able to explore more on this trip.
If you have the chance to take this tour, do it! One thing my husband and I did prior to the tour was go to the Utah Field House of Natural History Sate Park in Vernal, Utah. There is an excellent display of items from Range Creek Canyon at the museum. That really helped when Rebecca was talking about what kind of people lived in the canyon.
We hope to do another tour with CFI in the future.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A Sunday WELL spent”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have made several trips to the Moab area, and think it to be one of the most interesting and beautiful places in the U.S. This trip, as we were driving to Spanish Trail RV Park a few miles south of downtown, we saw Canyonlands Field Institute's (CFI) building, and decided to stop in to check out what they had to offer. Before we left, we (a) became a CFI member and (b) signed up for 2 of their weekend tours. Those two tours with our (their) delightful AND knowledgeable guide did 2 things for us (1) gave us a MUCH better insight and understanding of the area, and (2) helped us appreciate that beautiful area even more.

The first (morning) trip took us to see nearby petroglyphs and pictographs that we had no idea existed in the area. In the afternoon we went to Arches National Park for the sunset tour. Coupled with short hikes, the information given and scenery provided made this a memorable and enjoyable day - a day well-spent, and well worth the cost of the tours.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank d-m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
2 reviews
“Beautiful Canyon, Wonderful Water”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My recent trip down the Lower San Juan river with CFI Moab was terrific. Canyons were a myriad of colors and the rapids were great fun. Top notch guides who were great teachers as well. Hope to take some of my family on a CFI trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Epic Trip!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Recently took my second trip with CFI. My family (7 of us) spent 3 nights and 4 days on the river. The guides were truly top of the tier, this trip and the one I took 2 summers ago. Our trip was about seeing parts of nature that you don't usually get to see, quality family time, learning something new, and experiencing nature up close and personal. There wasn't one part I was disappointed with. The equipment was quality and the food was wholesome, yummy and satisfying...no quick fix or junk food. And along with good family time, we got to share time with the guides who were fun, helpful, friendly and great teachers. We experienced Bald Eagles, Rams, wild rapids, smooth and flowing stretches of river surrounded by massive rock walled canyons, petroglyphs up close, beautiful hikes, sunsets and sunrises. And so much more! I will do this trip with CFI again, bringing others so they can get this experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Canyonlands Field Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing