We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! The view takes your breath away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Moab
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Wow! The view takes your breath away”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

The property is gorgeous!
I highly recommend splurging & getting the private corner room at the far end of the property. It was such a highlight, that we stayed an extra night, & also had breakfast delivered to our balcony with views of the mighty Colorado & mountains. The view from each window is fantastic, including the indoor jacuzzi. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, ambiance, the food, the winery next door, and the proximity to Moab, and yet you are a world away from the kitschy little touristy town in a world of your own. It was a fabulous haven for us when the national parks shut down. Really beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cachirulatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    185
    108
    65
    41
See reviews for
248
353
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Sorrel River has the most idyllic setting imaginable - gorgeous red rock and Colorado River views, all from your cabin's front porch. How can you beat a clear view of the Milky Way or watching sunrises and sunsets turn the rocks to fire? Nine days was not enough. The cabin accommodations are quite nice, but the bathrooms need some more careful thought -- lighting is very dim, towels are not convenient to shower and tub, shower needs additional ledges or storage space. I found the practice of giving several teensy bars of soap but replacing them every day a bit odd. Housekeeping was very good most of the time but not great -- way too late at least once and the floor was gritty from the ubiquitous sand blowing under the door. Given the remote location and lack of alternatives, the restaurant is a disappointment. Mediocre to OK food, slow service, not enough variety of price points, beautiful setting. I recommend stocking the mini-refrigerator from stores in Moab (20 miles away) or timing your return to Sorrel so that you can dine in Moab, as we did. The Activities Desk was outstanding if you were lucky enough to encounter the right staff, a complete disappointment otherwise. All the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely return to Sorrel with the hope that they can kick it up a notch and make it a better experience for the price.

Room Tip: It's really about the views, I don't think you can make a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

On a bend in the Colorado River the valley broadens out creating a small swathe of fertile land, it is here you will find the Sorrell River Ranch nestling in the arid magnificence of the Utah wilderness. Acommodation consists of spacious log cabins. Ours consisted of a generous downstairs bedroom / kitchen / sitting room with a seperate bathroom. Upstairs there was a large bedroom with twin queens but no bathroom; perfect for a family not so perfect for separate couples who want to use the bathroom in the night, unless you are on really informal terms. The rustic style rooms were reasonably clean and fairly well apointed, although to our annoyance our room had not been cleaned when we got back from touring the National Parks in the late afternoon. All the cabins have a porch and on our second we and our travelling companions, were able to sit just 30 feet from the Colorado eating a picnic style dinner and quaffing chardonnay whilst we watched the sun go down. The change of venue took place because our first night's meal in the resort restaurant was much less agreeable. We started with carpaccio of buffalo, which was the smallest portion of carpaccio imaginable and bland to the point of no taste. At $10 it was also probably the most expensive meat we ever ate. Was this part of a buffalo conservation program? At this price the future of the species is assured. The main course was a disaster, rib eye tough, overdone and at $39 for a smallish portion, eye wateringly expensive. The mash was stone cold; enough said; we passed on dessert
Our impression of the resort was mixed great potential but unfufilled. The staff were polite and helpful but biggest disappointment was the combination of sky high prices and poor food, which marred the entire experience. If you are going there, bring your own food, eat it on the porch. Alternatively for dinner, Moab is 17 miles away on a twisty road, believe me if you want to eat out it's better than the alternative at the ranch.

Room Tip: Facing the Colorado River
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcallcutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miller Place, New York, USA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at the SRR for our anniversary. They had a lovely plate of chocolate strawberries for us in the room! The resort is beautiful but we were disappointed with our stay for a couple of reasons. First was the staff many of whom had a snobby attitude and were not service oriented. There was a bad smell outside our room (sewage?) and one night our smoke alarm went off two or three times during the night. The view from the porch was amazing. Not sure if we would spend the money next time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The stay at Sorrel was wonderful. The location gives a feeling of remoteness yet it's close to Moab and all that the region has to offer. Every activity possible is available from the hotel. There was almost a feeling of camping under the stars and moon at night. Despite the National Parks being closed there was still several areas to hike and tour to see the beautiful landscape.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We recently stayed at this property for three nights. The room was great and the view was spectacular! That's where it ends. The check-in for us in the evening was sub-par-- no one took us to our room which was a good distance from the main lobby and required driving a bit at dark and finding our way to a second floor room with only steps, no elevator. It took too long to even find the correct building and unit in the dark.

We had dinner at the restaurant twice and both times the wait was long when there were only a few other diners, and our meals were just average.

Even though we loved the room and the view we felt that service and attention were seriously lacking . Also, the concierge was not knowledgeable and in fact gave us some wrong information.
There were no newspapers until later in the day and no coffee available at the lobby until 8:15a.

The drive to Moab was 1/2 hour so this hotel is a little far from town but it would have been worth the drive if the customer service was better. It certainly wasn't worth the high cost to stay there!

Room Tip: Don't accept a second floor room if you have a lot of luggage to carry
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent 3 nights here and found the Ranch to be an enclave of peace and relaxation. We were in a Mountain View room which was very comfortably furnished to a high standard, although I consider the bathroom to be rather small. The suites do appear to have more space. There were spaces to relax around the ranch, and the pool was invigorating. The food was of a very high quality with locally sourced produce with great flavours, which was reflected in the price, but it is also possible to eat in nearby Moab with a good selection of more standard restaurants (a 25 minute drive for us because of roadwork, would probably take 15 minutes usually if you are unfamiliar with the road).

I would call out the high quality of personal service received. I had a couple of occasions to call housekeeping with minor queries. Someone turned up within minutes, fully prepared and with a ready smile.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank By_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
3.0 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 35 in Moab
2,806 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
11.8 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
12.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
716 reviews
11.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa

Property: Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Address: Mile 17 Highway 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Moab
#5 Business Hotel in Moab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#11 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst southern Utah’s spectacular scenery, Sorrel River Ranch Resort & Spa elevates the standard of luxury lodging in Moab, offering 160 acres of wide open ranch land along the Colorado River. Escape and discover extraordinary Arches and Canyonlands National Parks adventures, horseback riding, hiking, farm-to-table meals, rejuvenating spa services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrel River Ranch Hotel Moab
Sorrel River Hotel
Sorrel River Resort
Sorrel River Ranch Resort And Spa Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing