We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solitude” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Moab
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Solitude”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Beautiful establishment. The grounds were well maintained even though we went in low season.
Restaurant had very tasty meals. Our cabin was very quaint and cleanliness was excellent. My one gripe was the extra fees e.g. Resort fee, especially because nothing was available for use because of low season and internet was expensive. Overall though it was lovely for a short break and I am sure it would be wonderful in high season.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikijames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you Niki for the very appropriate review. December here in the red rock wilderness is quiet, peaceful and full of that special heightened feeling of solitude. It's true, we don't do horseback rides that time of year because most people would rather snuggle up next to a warm fire and watch the river flow by. But we do drop our rates for the off season to adjust for the differences in our offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    175
    104
    63
    40
See reviews for
229
337
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Exceptional service and beautiful rooms. Sorrel River Ranch has a wonderful setting near the river. Run don't walk to this hotel. It's the best Moab has to offer! The pool is refreshing on a hot day and roasting marshmallows by the fire is a great finish to your adventure. S'more kits are available at the front desk!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hankdogs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you Hankdogs! S'mores are wonderful, aren't they? Takes you back to those great early camping experiences. Seems not only the kids, but everyone loves them. And we've added live music to the mix every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday night, so the evening campfire is even more awesome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Gathered family for a 4 day weekend at this beautiful ranch on the Colorado River. The cabins were charming and the food was great. The grounds were lovely and friendly. Especially like the dog-friendly accommodations! Service was a bit off, but it was the beginning of the season. I think they could provide a bit more food as part of the high cost, like continental breakfast. Otherwise, would definitely recommend and return.

Room Tip: The "cabin" is a good size with upstairs sleeping quarters. River front is worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Sorrel River Ranch Resort. It is a stunning property and has the most amazing views! We were most impressed with their staff. To a person, they were gracious, helpful and seemed genuinely interested in their guests. Our room faced the river and was spacious and very comfortable. Great showers and tub. It is so quiet at night. We loved having a glass of wine on the grass or porch and watching the sunset. The restaurant is really excellent and highlights menu selections that come directly from the ranch and their garden. I loved the filet on wilted greens with potatoes. Breakfast was yummy too. Lots of activities are available or you can set off on your own to Arches National Monument, river raft or drive to the mountains. The resort is pet friendly. We did not visit the spa because we wanted to be outside, but I noticed they had a massage studio right by the water. We had a fabulous time in a most excellent setting.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are lovely. You are lulled with the sound of the river and birds singing.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very conscious of recycling and water conservation in arid Utah. They also provide environmentally friendly products.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reet1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We very much appreciate your comments about your stay, especially for noting the quality of attention our staff pays to our guests. It is a big deal for us. It is one thing to have a unique location and luxurious facilities, but we feel that what really sets us apart is the way we treat our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Right on the Colorado River, this lovely resort was better than expected. We took the advice of previous guests and booked a room with a river view. The room (a cabin, really) was beautifully furnished, quiet, and spacious. Yes, it WAS expensive, but as is so often the case, you get what you pay for. I took a horseback ride, which was a nice way to see the scenery. The restaurant (also expensive) was excellent, the wait staff very friendly and attentive, the food excellent. If you want a cheap Moab vacation,and lots of "action," this is NOT the place for you. If you want a relaxing, luxurious escape, very close to Moab and Arches National Park, this IS the place for you!
We were there in April and learned that, weather-wise, that is not the best time of year to visit. We would recommend visiting a little later in the spring.

Room Tip: Choose a river-view room, if possible
See more room tips
Green Features: They have a very large vegetable garden where they grow much of their produce for the restaurant.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. And what you said is so very true -- "If you want a cheap Moab vacation,and lots of "action," this is NOT the place for you." Couldn't agree with you more. We are priced so that we can provide a level of service significantly above what you would experience at any other place in Moab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We loved this place. Do yourself a favor a book a room with a river view. You might then enjoy having a coffee in the morning on your terrace watching both the near meses and the colorado river.
The place looks like heaven and was a great surprise. If you.re working during your vacations, note that the Internet connection is so-so and your cellular phone will likely be located in a blind spot.
For two consecutive days, our room has not been serviced. Since i complained about this, we were offered a diner at their great restaurant, which was a nice gesture. However, room servicing is not on par with standard expectations. Both my wife and i had a "YuK" when we founf out some disturbong details in the (cute) bathroom.
Make no mistake, i'd return there but if their staff reads this, the management should start setting up double inspections in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: River view, away from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate and pay serious attention to all feedback. Your feedback helps us in our effort to constantly improve. After reading your review, I checked with our Housekeeping Manager regarding your experience here last August. Unfortunately, with 10 months having passed, it is not possible to know what happened in your particular instance.

However, she assured me that we do have a system of double inspections in place for every single room prior to a guest's arrival. And for rooms with guests staying over from one day to the next, we have random inspections. During all stay-overs, each room is fully cleaned during the middle of the day, and then again in the early evening during our "turn down" service call if either the kitchen or bathroom have been used since the mid-day cleaning.

We are very sorry that your room did not get this normal level of service. I can assure you that, even when our staff meet up with a "do not disturb" sign, they make multiple attempts to revisit the room a second or even a third time in order to provide the ultimate four star experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at Sorrel River Ranch, centally located near Arches National Park and Canyonlands National Park. After a full day of hiking, it was lovely to return to our room for R&R. Or, if we had desired, also just hanging out was a great option. The room had a great view and was comfortable. The staff was by and large helpful and knowledgeable about the area and area hikes and viewpoints. The only negative were the limited menus for breakfast and dinner. They never changed, though there always was a special for dinner that was not listed on the menu. To the credit of the kitchen, they could always adapt for dietary or palate needs.

Room Tip: All the had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Our head chef, Henry, also over sees our garden which supplies a portion of our vegetables for the restaurants. He puts a lot of extra energy into changing the menu based on the produce that is ready that week. It is the core of our Farm-to-Table practice and one of several things that sets us apart from most of the resorts like us. However, those menu changes would not show up during a typical stay, given that most people stay here 2 to 5 days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
4.2 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#6 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa

Property: Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Address: Mile 17 Highway 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Moab
#5 Business Hotel in Moab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#11 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star resort in a secluded location near Moab, Utah. Perfect for spa relaxation or as a base camp for action-packed outdoor excursions. 59 luxury suites and rooms with breathtaking private views of red rock mesas and the Colorado River. Special signature wellness, yoga, sports and arts programming takes advantage of close proximity to Canyonlands National Park and Arches National Park as well as Moab, Utah state parks. Exciting adventures are at your doorstep with miles of trails for hiking, mountain biking and horseback riding, river rafting and kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, canyoneering, base jumping, hot air ballooning, motorcycling, Hummer(R) and ATV touring. Perfect for romantic weekends, family holidays, corporate retreats and photographs of a lifetime. Where Luxury Meets Adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrel River Ranch Hotel Moab
Sorrel River Hotel
Sorrel River Resort
Sorrel River Ranch Resort And Spa Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing