We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get off the grid and break your internet addiction in a happy place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Moab
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We came here to get away after some sad losses. We feel healed and rejuvenated. The rooms are really like cabins with porches to sit on as you enjoy the views. The scenery is spectacular. The bathtubs are big enough to actually enjoy a bath. The grounds are lovely and there is beauty all around. If you need to press the "re-set" button of life, this is a great place to do it.

Room Tip: Get a river view room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meredithATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Two nights at this fantastic retreat was way too short. A nice size room with a big bath and outdoor deck overlooking the Colorado River in a setting that looks as though it came right out of a Western movie. Giant cliffs across the river with huge Mesas out your front door. The grounds were well maintained with plenty of space to walk around. We were promptly greeted by a very friendly valet and warmly welcomed at reception. The valet showed us to our room, which was about 200 yards from reception, and was eager to help in any way he could. It is a bit of a drive to get to Arches National Park but it is a beautiful one as you wind your way through the river canyon. The restaurant is very good with a varied menu and great staff. Tough to beat having dinner outside along the Colorado River while watching the dessert sky change from dusk to dark. Every staff member we encountered, including housekeeping, was exceptional in their eagerness to be helpful. Although we did not use the pool, it looked like a great spot to relax. Live music at night under the stars with a roaring campfire nearby....wow! We should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a deck facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

And we would have loved to have had you stay longer! In fact, we recommend at least three days if you truly want to get a good sense of all that this extremely varied area has to offer. Rafting the Colorado River is a must. There is literally, nothing similar to it to be found anywhere. And that takes a day. Arches National Park is well worth a full day. As is the Island in the Sky District of neighboring Canyonlands National Park. Each is completely different from the other, in fact almost an opposite type of experience. That's three very full days of exploring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I am truly baffled as to why the Sorrel River Ranch is not rated higher within the Moab area. We stayed here May 13-16, 2014 and had a wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful in accommodating any request that we had. This included an “emergency call for directions” when our GPS took us on an unmaintained series of roadways. If you read other reviewers comments you will see heaps of praise for the facility, food, and staff. Our experience supports those reviews. The grounds were imaculate, and the smores at the evening fire pit was a pleasure.

As I reviewed lodging options in the Moab area I quickly narrowed the selection down to the Sorrel River Ranch and the Red Cliffs Lodge. I did not see descriptive information comparing the two, so I offer the following. Distance wise, both facilities are 20 minutes away from Moab, but the drive is spectacular and well worth the time. We visited the Red Cliffs Lodge during our stay and found that it is a much larger facility than the Sorrel River Ranch, and (during our visit) had a large tour group staying at the facility. Our empirical evidence suggests that large groups are a normal occurrence at Red Cliffs and they are prepared to handle such crowds. I judged the Sorrel River grounds and atmosphere to be a much calmer and serene experience. The Sorrel River cabins have much more space between them creating a nice buffer while Red Cliffs is tighter and more congested. We ate at both restaurants with our experience giving the edge to Sorrel River in terms of food quality, but Red Cliffs has a larger menu.

Room Tip: River View Rooms are fantastic. It was so nice to be able to kick back on a private porch and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2mnytls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

You are not alone in asking that same question about ratings within the TripAdvisor ecosystem. I suspect many people wonder the same thing. I know we have. The algorithms they use reward volume as much as anything. We are a smaller establishment than many, with only 55 cabins/rooms. And because our resort is not the run-of-the-mill type of place found in Moab Valley or Spanish Valley south of town, we cater to a unique kind of Moab visitor. Hence, we don't try for volume as much as quality of experience.

That being said, since the beginning of the year, we have moved from #14 in Moab to #8, so we must be doing something right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile


We stayed there for 5 nights .

- The Location is spectacular. The grounds are lush and well maintained located on the Colorado River with great views.

- We had a wall mounted air conditioner that rattled loudly.
They did offer to change our room BUT the view was perfect so we decided to stay and put up with the noise.

-For the price of the room and the fact that they have a well known spa, the toiletries (lotions, shampoo, bath soap) were subpar
, and they were not consistently replenished.
Rooms were clean, beautiful and new.

-The wait staff demonstrated varying levels of experience and training although they were very friendly .

-The food was generally good. They were very good at accommodating special request and you might want to request less salt on your food. Definitely order the flour less chocolate cake.

-Make sure you take advantage of the guided tours to Arches and other local sites.

Overall it was a wonderful experience and we will stay there again.






Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ZIPI08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear ZIP108,

Thank you for your sterling review of our property. We appreciate your notes about the defective air conditioner. That problem has been fixed and we are very sorry it appeared during your visit. We do make our best effort to keep all our systems in top shape.

We also love to hear good things about our staff. All of them give so much of themselves to ensure that each guest is treated as an individual and with utmost care and respect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

WOW. Who would have known this place existed just a scant 17 miles off the main highway in Moab Utah, The road follows the curve of the Colorado River so the vistas are just amazing. When you get there you go through the gate and see the horses in the corral and the herb gardens and alfalfa fields. The main building houses reception and the 2nd floor dining room overlooking the river - inside and outside seating.
We were greeted warmly and shown to our extravagant king suite river front. It was a corner suite and opened onto our porch, lawn and river. We could see it all from our sofa and bed. These are all one story ranch buildings. Ours was beautifully furnished with a hydrotherapy bath in the bathroom. Separate shower, dining room/kitchen with microwave, full size frig, and coffee maker,
living room with sofa and table and a big plush kingsize bed. It was all one room, except that the bathroom was separate, but it did not feel crowded in the least. Oh, did I forget to mention the fireplace and A/C. and the WiFi that works well? We had everything. Adirondack chairs on our porch along with a swing. We sat and had a cocktail as we watched the river flow past. Kayakers were out in force. It was a very windy day so the current was swift. The sun was setting on the mountains on the other side of the river - all red and orange and spectacular.

We stayed there for 3 nights, had dinner at their fabulous restaurant for two of them. We went horseback riding with a wonderful guide. We could have gone swimming in their pool or worked out in their workout room, but did not. Too much to see and do around this area - like Arches National Park just a half hour away.

I am not going to tell you that this is the cheapest place to stay. There are many hotels/motels in Moab that are just fine. I am not going to tell you that this is the most convenient place to stay when you are visiting Arches and Canyonlands. It isn't. But I will tell you that this is a place you will never forget. A beautifully kept up property that is rustic luxury at its finest. I would happily stay here again. It is romantic and special. It is very expensive for this part of the country, but so worth it. The value is there. They do have rooms that do not face the water, and ones that are not suites. Both more reasonable than ours, but if you can beg, borrow or steal, stay in a riverfront King suite and feel like a King and Queen.

We went for the last 3 days of April. Perfect time to go. No crowds, but not low season either. Everything up and running, but serene and tranquil.

Room Tip: riverfront king suite if you can afford it. You will not regret it Yum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Jean, thank you so much for this very gracious and honest review. And you are right, we're not the cheapest place to stay or smack in the center of town. But the 17 miles along the river road are probably the most spectacular scenery you could ever want to drive. And, I agree, the river view rooms are worth the extra cost. It's great that we have as many of them as we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Beautiful establishment. The grounds were well maintained even though we went in low season.
Restaurant had very tasty meals. Our cabin was very quaint and cleanliness was excellent. My one gripe was the extra fees e.g. Resort fee, especially because nothing was available for use because of low season and internet was expensive. Overall though it was lovely for a short break and I am sure it would be wonderful in high season.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikijames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you Niki for the very appropriate review. December here in the red rock wilderness is quiet, peaceful and full of that special heightened feeling of solitude. It's true, we don't do horseback rides that time of year because most people would rather snuggle up next to a warm fire and watch the river flow by. But we do drop our rates for the off season to adjust for the differences in our offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Exceptional service and beautiful rooms. Sorrel River Ranch has a wonderful setting near the river. Run don't walk to this hotel. It's the best Moab has to offer! The pool is refreshing on a hot day and roasting marshmallows by the fire is a great finish to your adventure. S'more kits are available at the front desk!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hankdogs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you Hankdogs! S'mores are wonderful, aren't they? Takes you back to those great early camping experiences. Seems not only the kids, but everyone loves them. And we've added live music to the mix every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday night, so the evening campfire is even more awesome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
3 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 37 in Moab
2,986 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
12.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#7 of 37 in Moab
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
11.8 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 37 in Moab
1,415 reviews
11.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa

Address: Mile 17 Highway 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Moab
#5 Business Hotel in Moab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#10 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range: £346 - £618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst southern Utah’s spectacular scenery, Sorrel River Ranch Resort & Spa elevates the standard of luxury lodging in Moab, offering 160 acres of wide open ranch land along the Colorado River. Escape and discover extraordinary Arches and Canyonlands National Parks adventures, horseback riding, hiking, farm-to-table meals, rejuvenating spa services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrel River Ranch Hotel Moab
Sorrel River Hotel
Sorrel River Resort
Sorrel River Ranch Resort And Spa Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing