We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Moab
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Sorrel River Ranch for a weekend, and the location of this property is perfect for a visit to Arches National Park. Our room was perfect, and the views are breathtaking. I would have rated this ranch as Excellent if the staff were more knowledgeable while we were booking our room and during our stay. I specifically asked for a room with a fireplace when I booked, and when we arrived, our room did not have a fireplace. I then called the front desk about it, and the young woman said perhaps we might like the room above ours, and someone would be over to let us view it because it was vacant at the time. I called back about 10 minutes later and spoke with a different young woman who confirmed the room above us was actually booked and there was no fireplace in that room either. We stayed in our room, and we were perfectly happy with it, but there is definitely a breakdown in communication among the staff. One day we called and asked if the pool was heated. The young woman said it was, and it was heated to about 95 degrees...it was not heated. Also, one evening for dinner we put our name on the list and were told by the hostess it wouldn't be long - about an hour later we checked back in after having a couple of cocktails - and it appears she totally forgot about us and seated us right away. Lastly, we had breakfast on our last day there, and we ordered coffee. The young woman brought out the strongest coffee I have every had, and if you knew anything about coffee, you would have known it shouldn't look like tar. I had to send it back and ask for another cup, which was much better. Our understanding is that the staff live on site, and they are all very young and friendly, but they need more training about the resort and its amenities. Perhaps they will learn more as the season progresses, but then rates should be less if we're staying while they are still in training.

Room Tip: Stay in a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay. It was honest and fair and we have taken note of the lapses in communication that you mentioned. It is true that many individuals currently on staff are young. That is not the result of a policy but merely a coincidence. In fact, earlier this year the mix of ages on our staff was pretty balanced, but over time, that mix changes as new members join. We do not hire based on a prospective employee's age, but rather on their work ethic, experience and past work history.

As to the communication issues, we are taking action to ensure that those problems are never encountered by another guest at Sorrel River Ranch. Thank you for making us aware of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

When I went through the different negative comments before booking I have to admit I was a little hesitant. But the settings made us to book anyway.
After our stay, I don't understand why so much has been criticized. Maybe the resort has made efforts since, but I can't say anything else than we had a very enjoyable experience.
Rooms were clean and very spacious and the staff was very professional and friendly. The settings are amazing and the ranch has a lot to offer activity and leisure wise.
The food was the best we ate for any of our trips to the US and much better than in similar resorts and breakfast is really a treat. I agree with previous writers that the capacity of the kitchen is maybe a little on the low side compared to the space of the restaurant. Just make a reservation a few hours before and you should be covered and avoid waiting in the bar looking over the river and the canyon.
The distance from Moab/Arches NP is 17 miles (not a secret when you book), and driving a few times back and forth through the magnificent canyon looks like a luxury problem to us.
Prices are not low, but match with what you get in our opinion.

Room Tip: We booked a River View Deluxe King in the G building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevenSSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We appreciate very much your comments about your stay, especially your comment about how you don't understand why folks would post negative comments in a few of the other reviews when you had such a wonderful experience staying at the resort.

Everyone has a unique perspective on any given experience, and often, two people who view the same thing -- be it a movie, a car accident or a weekend at a resort -- will come away with completely different opinions. What matters most to one person might not matter at all to another, and visa versa. For example, for you, the 17 mile drive between the resort and the town of Moab was a scenic wonder. For others, it may be a little harder to slow down their internal clock and take in the views. All they can think about is the little bit of extra time it takes them to get where they are going.

Here at Sorrel, we encourage our guests to leave the hurried pace of the city behind them when they're on vacation. Some people are more successful at that then others. We're glad you were able to appreciate the beauty of that drive. We love it, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We expected a lot as this hotel was over $600 per night. Unfortunately, it disappointed us in so many ways. First, we were never contacted in advance of our stay to ask whether any activities could be arranged for us. Second, when we checked in, again not asked even about dinner even though the hotel is located 18 miles from the heart of Moab and we had just driven 5 hours to get there so were not wanting to travel further. When we asked the front desk about dinner, they said we should make a reservation and that we should speak with someone else at the restaurant. For a hotel charging this much per night, why would they not offer to make the reservation for us?! We then proceeded to our room with a very nice and helpful bellman named Anthony, he was great and in fact asked us whether we needed any help or advice and we then spoke about Arches Natl Park and be suggested the hike to the Delicate Arch which we did the following day. Great. However, the room was very unimpressive, again given the high room rate. Desperate in need of remodelling, guessing hasn't been remodelled since opening 14 years ago. The setting is lovely, however, by far the best feature of the hotel. We then had drinks at the cocktail lounge, friendly but very inexperienced and unhelpful bartender. We were then seated for dinner, this along with the setting and views from the dining room were the highlight of our stay. The waiter was excellent, can't recall his name but he was the main male waiter. The food and beverage mgr came over to ask us how everything was, he had also brought our main course to us. We then spoke with him about where we were from, where we were traveling to after our overnight here, and he suggested an incredible drive, a detour to Arches Natl Park, which was incredible (he described it as "epic" :-) . It is called the Castle Valley Loop and although it added 45 minutes to or driving that following day, it was well worth it. High marks for him!!! So, bellman (different one) the following morning was great. We then checked out and asked how our stay was, I then told them about the fact that we were not contacted in advance. Front desk people said, that's odd as we contact all guests in advance. Of course, that was even more upsetting. However, no explanation was offered so I probed further and found out that they call rather than email. I then pointed out the fact that we live in the UK and the contact number was a UK one, I asked might that be why they did not call? They then said oh, that could be. This was even more annoying, given the fact that there was an email confirmation for the reservation. Why would they not send an email, particularly if they had trouble calling?! The St Regis in Aspen, our next day's destination, had emailed me a few times prior to our arrival. I also forgot to mention that when we checked in, the wifi was not working. However, there was no mention of this when checking in, it was Anthony the bellman who told us when we asked about it in the room. So, at checkout, I mentioned this and then noticed that there was a "resort fee", I asked what this was for and he began with saying "wifi". I then said how could you be charging for something that did not work?! Why would you not be removing this charge from my bill?! He then said oh, I was just about to offer this. Right, I highly doubt that and why should I have to ask for it?! So frustrating that I needed to tell the front desk how to do their jobs. All in all, the hotel room rate is a ripoff unless you are desperate to pay a lot for a setting but why bother when there is another hotel that we passed along the way that looks like it has a similar setting, not to mention many other options in the area. If the rooms are remodelled and the front desk cleans house and replaces and retrains everyone properly, then I might consider staying there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ExperiencedBusTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the extra time to review us. Though we strive for perfection, we know we are fallible and will, from time to time, make mistakes. We work to learn from those, and your review will help us do that so that in future, each guest will have the perfect experience at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa.

Regarding the service-related problems you experienced: not having been emailed in advance regarding our activities menu due to your location in the UK; the Front Desk not offering to make a reservation at the restaurant for you on your arrival -- we appreciate being made aware of those problems. In your case, it turns out individual employees were departing from set policy in both instances. We are taking measures to make sure it never happens to another guest. Our policy is to contact each guest at least 30 days prior to arrival regarding booking activities and making reservations, etc -- both by phone and email.

As to the infrastructure-related issues: the room furnishings/decor; the Internet outage -- In the first instance, it is true that our cabins have not been remodeled. Most were built barely over ten years ago and we continually replace and improve the furnishings on a rotating basis. The overall theme of our decor is rustic western but with an artistic, luxurious flare. All I can think is that perhaps that was a mismatch for you. We are proud of our cabins and regularly receive high compliments on them. In the second instance, at the time of your visit, our Internet provider, Frontier Communications, performed what should have been a routine software upgrade on their equipment which went awry. Though we pushed hard to get them to recognize that it was a software problem, it took them two days before they finally addressed the correct issue and we went without any Internet service on the entire ranch for two days. Once Frontier reset their software, service was restored and is running at it's normal level. That was a highly unusual event, even for a ranch in the middle of the wilderness, and it was extremely unfortunate that it occurred during your visit. We are working to find a better long term solution for our Internet service which will avoid us ever having that experience again.

We are very glad that in most other respects, your visit was enjoyable. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This Ranch is the place to stay while you are in Moab. The canyons, the landscapes, the horses, the food...everything creates a unique moment. In addtion, the silence from the desert made the place more magical and very unique.
The horseback ride early in the morning is a MUST. Then, the visits of the national parks, such like Arches & Canyonlands were absolutely breathtaking. I already want to come back!
Patricia.

Room Tip: Choose the one with a balcony, facing the Colorado river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pataroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We agree, the early morning horseback rides are the best. The desert and the horses just exude a bright and cheery mood. Glad you could experience it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Located on the banks of the Colorado River and in the shadow of the mountains, this resort is stunning. The decor is "western pine" with a large and very nice bathroom. The restaurant is terrific and the wait-staff went out of their way for us. Make sure to eat on the balcony if the weather allows - it's another stunning view in an area where there's a picture begging to be taken at every turn.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay on the side of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trackervienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

I loved your turn of phrase, "where there's a picture begging to be taken at every turn." I recently bought a top-of-the-line Nikon and have been having a blast taking photos out here at the ranch. Indeed, wherever you turn, there is a stunning photo just waiting to be captured. Though, I admit, the options, both on the new camera and in the many choices of shots and angles, can be intimidating.
For those who like me, may want some help in those areas, we have begun putting together a contract with a local landscape photographer who is making himself available (depending on his schedule) for private photography lessons. The details will be published shortly, but if interested, please inquire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We recently celebrated my 70th Birthday at Sorrell River Ranch. It was fabulous. Comfy rooms, fabulous food and magnificent setting with the Colorado River and the beautiful red Rock formations. It is also close to the national Parks. We didn't ride since we raise horses, but the barn and horses were beautifully cared for. Great farm to table food. I had a message which was good, but the spa bathroom was pretty basic. Sat night they had a fabulous singer out on the deck. It was really a special place.

Room Tip: You might want a room away from AC motors as they were a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

I am particularly grateful at your mention of the musicians. This is something we only just recently started and all the feedback, like yours, is very positive. Local professional singer/guitarists Lisa Hathaway, Scott Ibex and David Steward are taking turns performing in rotation on our River Deck, the perfect setting for relaxing in the couches or rocking chairs with drink in hand as the sun drops behind towering cliffs and dusk settles over the wide sweeping waters of the Colorado. It is, as you point out, a truly "special place."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Sorrel River Ranch Resort provides beauty and gracious hospitality at every turn. Situated along the Colorado River with red rock mesas towering above, the resort offers well appointed rooms, spacious baths with tubs and showers, efficiency kitchens, and rocking chairs on each porch. An abundance of activities are available -- we did a late afternoon photo safari to the Arches National Park with an absolutely outstanding guide. The food service was far and away superior to any dining in the area. The staff was friendly and accommodating. A truly special experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
3.0 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 35 in Moab
2,934 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
11.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
756 reviews
11.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
11.8 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 35 in Moab
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa

Address: Mile 17 Highway 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Moab
#5 Business Hotel in Moab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#11 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range: £366 - £620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst southern Utah’s spectacular scenery, Sorrel River Ranch Resort & Spa elevates the standard of luxury lodging in Moab, offering 160 acres of wide open ranch land along the Colorado River. Escape and discover extraordinary Arches and Canyonlands National Parks adventures, horseback riding, hiking, farm-to-table meals, rejuvenating spa services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrel River Ranch Hotel Moab
Sorrel River Hotel
Sorrel River Resort
Sorrel River Ranch Resort And Spa Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing