We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms and bellman. Front desk staff and restaurant poor.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Moab
GreenLeadersSilver level
seymour
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great rooms and bellman. Front desk staff and restaurant poor.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Front desk staff are very stuffy, unhelpful and quite snobby. Also had to call guest service and found the girl on phone to be quite rude too and not helpful. It was almost like we were botching her to call. Needs retraining on how to keep guests happy and at these prices you better do better or there are many other options. Forbes plaques on the wall won't be enough. The restaurant took us one hour and thirty minutes to navigate . Very slow. We waited from time of ordering to getting entree one hour and fifteen minutes. No excuse. We waited between finishing or soup and entree 45 min. That's crazy when you pay such high prices. If I was billing them for my lost time in doing my work I assure you they would work harder on service times. Food was well flavored although quail over cooked. Both meals Luke warm. The saving grace at this property is the ranch itself which is pretty and the rooms good although we had spotty wifi and bad shades. We also really liked the bellman he worked hard! Oh and a word of advice don't think when you get the spam suite it is on bottom floor they make you think it is!! You have to carry your bags up to second floor. Also you to park far from room even though on website they make you think it's close. We had to navigate rain from parking area with no umbrella. No fun after a long day!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank santa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We're very sorry you had such a sub par experience. We make a very concerted effort to ensure that every single guest gets the same high quality of service. Obviously, during your visit, there were some serious faults in our system.

All our employees in guest services are expected to be extra-helpful and very friendly, the opposite of what you experienced. And our restaurant staff are selected on the basis of their ability to provide the kind of quick and responsive service you expect in a first class dining establishment. Nothing less is tolerated.

We're grateful that you let us know about these lapses. We will take measures to ensure our normal four-star service is experienced by every single guest with no exceptions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    175
    104
    63
    40
See reviews for
229
337
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for several days in late July 2014. The weather was brutally hot - well over 100 degrees every day.

The staff was super-friendly and accommodating. The setting was stunningly beautiful.

What we found distasteful (and why we cannot recommend the resort) was the obscene amount of water the resort used in their sprinkler system. From what we could tell, their vast array of sprinklers were running full blast 24x7, even in the middle of the day, to water the grass around the resort.

We found this offensive in general, and even more so for a resort that prides itself on being environmentally sensitive. Our room even had a reminder to "help us conserve water" by re-using towels.

As a guest, trust me when I say that I didn't find the lush green grass a "plus" for the resort. Just the opposite. We've stayed at other desert resorts (e.g. in Scottsdale, AZ) and they use more appropriate landscaping: water-sensitive shrubs/trees/ hardscape, etc.

And yes, we inquired at the front desk about the irrigation, in case there was some explanation we were missing. We were told "the general manager really wants lush, green grass."

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALB_201111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for pointing out a very interesting aspect of our resort operations that we rarely get to speak about with guests, namely how we get our water. Like many of the remote desert ranches along the Colorado River, the river is our only source of water. This ranch was originally homesteaded by Fred and Ida Stearns in 1903 and it has been in agricultural production ever since, a fact made possible only because it is directly on the river. In 1947 it was purchased by the Boulden family who continued to run it as a ranch and farm. It began life as a resort ranch in 1999 but the ranch and farm operations have continued much as they have for the past 110 years.

As to the river, our life blood, we have two distinct systems that use it:

1. We pump water directly from the river onto our alfalfa and hay fields which are in agricultural production most of the year. Those fields feed our horses. We also irrigate our Sorrel River Farm that supplies food for our restaurant and we water our lawns.

2. We pump water from the river into settling ponds. When that water has cleared, it goes to a state licensed, municipal-quality, water treatment system. From there it is pumped uphill to our water storage tank which feeds the entire resort. That system supplies all our culinary water as well as our large laundry facility maintained by our Housekeeping Department. Our water conservation efforts have to do with balancing the competing demands on that tank-fed system. And that system has nothing to do with the system that you saw irrigating our fields and lawns. But there would have no way for you to know that without asking, so I am grateful that you did.

The desert resorts you compared us to, such as the one in Scottsdale, are not blessed with a location directly on the Colorado River and they are not involved in agriculture as we are. They rely on a water supply system that has been over developed and where consequently water is in very short supply.

We do pride ourselves on being environmentally responsible. We have a resort-wide recycling program and are a source of local food production saving transportation energy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband, teenage son and I spent a wonderful time at the Sorrel River Ranch Resort. The location is gorgeous ! Our room had a spectacular view of the Colorado River and the red cliffs. The large room was wonderful - decorated tastefully in a cute ranch theme and meeting every need. My favorite feature was the porch facing the river with rocking and a porch swing.
The staff was fantastic and made us feel special. We enjoyed and took advantage of the delicious restaurants, pool, horseback riding and fire pit - complete with s'mores! We will take back great memories of our time spent at the Sorrel River Ranch !

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the river. We enjoyed our River View Deluxe King.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very environmentally friendly and even have a farm that they grow their produce for their restaurant.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you kindly for your review. It was very specific and full of accurate observations. I especially liked your mentioning of the s'mores! I think very few guest ranches give all guests the s'mores treatment every night. We're proud of our fireside tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sorrel River Ranch for 2 of the 4 nights we were in Moab. The other 2 nights were down the road at Red Cliffs Lodge, which is a comparable property and less expensive. Of the two, Sorrel River Ranch is better appointed, with far superior restaurants and better appointed rooms. I liked Sorrel River Ranch, and my husband liked Red Cliffs (because they had cabins). Next time we go back to Moab, we might split the difference again like we did this time around. I think the previous reviewer (Daniel L) raises some good points about the price. We paid $429 for a room that faced the river (I think they upgraded us to river side, though). Had it been about $50-60 less per night, I would have chosen to stay at Sorrel River the entire trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingtexan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I appreciate your honest comments especially your note about our appointments and restaurants. We take pride in both. It might also be noteworthy that the two properties differ significantly in the number of guests that can stay there. Red Cliffs has twice the number of rooms so the guest has an altogether different quality of visit. We aim to give our guests a more exclusive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have only good things to say about this resort, and had it been priced fairly, at $4-$500/night, I might have give it 5 stars. However, we paid $779/night for our "family suite" (1 King bed and a kitchenette, with 2 queens in a loft above), and that's just too much. The furnishings, amenities, etc. were very nice, comparable to a $300 type of room, though some premium for the remote location would be appropriate.
Our room faced the river and the hills above, a truly pleasant, peaceful spot. We had breakfast twice and thought the service was excellent, the food decent. The bar was very nice, we had 2 great margaritas ($45), and played backgammon. The hotel was very helpful in suggesting and booking activities for us, including a river raft trip, a hike through the Fiery Furnace at Arches, and a Hummer tour, all of which I highly recommend. We also rented "Arctic Cat" 4 wheel drive vehicles and drove through Fins 'n Things trail - having not done it before, I found it really intense, a little scary, and a tremendous amount of adventurous fun (our 16 year olds were more comfortable than me).
All in all, if you need to stay at the nicest place near MOAB, this is probably it. If I myself were to come back, I might instead opt to camp out, save the $779/night and enjoy the same gorgeous landscape. Another option is the Winery up the road...

Room Tip: Worth it to stay in a river room, after all, it's all about the beautiful spot they have on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate the feedback about our prices.

Our pricing policies are based on our effort to provide the highest quality of service and amenities possible in such a remote location while operating at a scale that affords our guests a highly customized, exclusive experience. Our resort is small when compared to properties that offer a similarly high level of luxury services. We have 55 rooms in our river side cabins. Were we to quadruple that number, economies of scale would allow us to reduce our prices. But then our guests would have a qualitatively different kind of experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in the family river view suite. The location is fabulous! It is pricey, but I would stay again. The room was very nice, clean, and great for a family of 5, the morning sunrise is gorgeous so get up and out of bed to enjoy it. The 17 mile ride in off the main road is long but worth it. It is a pretty ride, just plan your day properly so you do one road trip a day. We only ate dinner one night here, it was good but very pricey for what you get. The other night we ate at Desert Bistro in Moab. Make a reservation there! It was the best dinner we had while traveling through Southern Utah.
One nice thing is they had a washer and dryer right on the property which was great since we went canyoneering and hiking and we were only half way through our trip.
You do pass Red Cliffs Lodge and even though we didn't pull in to it, we felt Sorrel River Ranch was much prettier from the road.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank J3CAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your gracious comments about our ranch. Especially about the drive along our scenic by-way, The Colorado River Road (Highway 128). We drive it often and never tire of the spectacular but intimate river gorge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California,USA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I spent 5 days at this resort. The location is amazing!! The room was nice but the air conditioning system need some repair ( very noisy). Food at the restaurant was very good and staff really very friendly and helpful. Wifi is not reliable...but, do you really need to read you emails here?? In general the resort is pretty expensive but nobody can compete with this location!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank giogio42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We do have wi-fi across the resort. However, the only Internet provider in the area, Frontier, is currently unable to provide as much bandwidth as we would prefer. Most of the time, the amount of bandwidth we have is sufficient to provide for all the guests, but under special circumstances, we do experience some slow downs ranch wide. We are working with another provider to fix this problem so that we will have virtually unlimited bandwidth.

But as you say, when you are in such a gorgeous place, why spend your time online?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
4.2 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#6 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa

Property: Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Address: Mile 17 Highway 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Moab
#5 Business Hotel in Moab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#11 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star resort in a secluded location near Moab, Utah. Perfect for spa relaxation or as a base camp for action-packed outdoor excursions. 59 luxury suites and rooms with breathtaking private views of red rock mesas and the Colorado River. Special signature wellness, yoga, sports and arts programming takes advantage of close proximity to Canyonlands National Park and Arches National Park as well as Moab, Utah state parks. Exciting adventures are at your doorstep with miles of trails for hiking, mountain biking and horseback riding, river rafting and kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, canyoneering, base jumping, hot air ballooning, motorcycling, Hummer(R) and ATV touring. Perfect for romantic weekends, family holidays, corporate retreats and photographs of a lifetime. Where Luxury Meets Adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrel River Ranch Hotel Moab
Sorrel River Hotel
Sorrel River Resort
Sorrel River Ranch Resort And Spa Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing