We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inca Inn(Moab)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (849)
Filter reviews
849 results
Traveller rating
425
197
119
66
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
197
119
66
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetting zooriver viewfarm to tablehorseback ridingporch swingtennis courtsfamily suitearches national parkfour seasonswestern stylespectacular settinghummer tourrock formationsred cliffsnatural beautybeautiful propertyamazing location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 849 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very unfriendly the whole time, it cost $$$ x night but they have never changed bed sheets in 5 days! Their policy it to change daily they were so sorry that's what you hear the whole time you complain. The location is stunning and the rooms are nice but it is far to expensive for what it is.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Paola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

We're very sorry to hear that you had that experience. We strive for perfection but we do sometimes make mistakes. You are correct that our policy is to refresh your accommodations daily, including bed linens. We are taking corrective actions to ensure that the policy is strictly adhered to. Thank you for the kind remarks about our location. It seems to have that affect on everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked two rooms for five nights, in the scorching August heat. The location on the Colorado River amidst a stunning landscape of mesas and rock towers is breathtaking.
The reception is very friendly and stylish.
The rooms are spacious and very nice. One of our rooms, however, had no electricity (it was fixed the same day) and no airconditioning (it was replaced by a mobile unit thad made a terrible noise). Another similar room was only available on the second following day.
Sitting on the restaurant verandas is great, but to get there, you have to attend to a pompous hostess who is often absent for minutes. It takes another couple of minutes before you get seated in a - half empty - restaurant. Waiting times were 35 minutes for dinner meals at the "casual" restaurant, and 20 minutes for breakfast items. We will avoid to take meals there for the rest of our stay.
There is a very nice pool. No pool attendants before 11:30 am. They have 1 (one) umbrella, which is broken unfortunately....
In conclusion, you pay (a lot) for the location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

July 2014 - Stayed here 2 nights in River View Family - spectacular view of the Colorado River and Adirondack chairs and porch swing wonderful. 2 kitchen chairs in the yard facing the river weren't a great touch but we used them anyway. For $$$$ a night you'd think they could upgrade those a tad. Dog friendly and had bed, leash, treats and necessary scoop bags waiting when we arrived. Not sure it was worth the cost lodging wise but view wise, worth every penny. Resort fees were really high considering we were all over 60 (one over 90) and didn't spend anytime using facilities. Father in law ate at restaurant on premises. Reported waiter was surly but food was good. They mentioned this on leaving and arrived to cabin to find cheese tray and bottled water with a hand written note. Now that was a really nice professional touch. We will go back but this will have to be special occasions only due to the cost.

Room Tip: Select E-2 for privacy on the end. Great location if you have a dog - the lawn was rougher than in the rest of the resort area so didn't feel so bad having pup on it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aspenvail22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for giving us this feedback. We're glad you mentioned our pet-friendly policies.

The kitchen chairs on the lawn must have been placed there by previous guests and then missed by our housekeeping staff. We have numerous outdoor chairs placed at strategic spots around the resort and along the riverwalk, but those are all adirondack chairs and are very well suited to long relaxing sessions of river watching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Front desk staff are very stuffy, unhelpful and quite snobby. Also had to call guest service and found the girl on phone to be quite rude too and not helpful. It was almost like we were botching her to call. Needs retraining on how to keep guests happy and at these prices you better do better or there are many other options. Forbes plaques on the wall won't be enough. The restaurant took us one hour and thirty minutes to navigate . Very slow. We waited from time of ordering to getting entree one hour and fifteen minutes. No excuse. We waited between finishing or soup and entree 45 min. That's crazy when you pay such high prices. If I was billing them for my lost time in doing my work I assure you they would work harder on service times. Food was well flavored although quail over cooked. Both meals Luke warm. The saving grace at this property is the ranch itself which is pretty and the rooms good although we had spotty wifi and bad shades. We also really liked the bellman he worked hard! Oh and a word of advice don't think when you get the spam suite it is on bottom floor they make you think it is!! You have to carry your bags up to second floor. Also you to park far from room even though on website they make you think it's close. We had to navigate rain from parking area with no umbrella. No fun after a long day!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank santa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We're very sorry you had such a sub par experience. We make a very concerted effort to ensure that every single guest gets the same high quality of service. Obviously, during your visit, there were some serious faults in our system.

All our employees in guest services are expected to be extra-helpful and very friendly, the opposite of what you experienced. And our restaurant staff are selected on the basis of their ability to provide the kind of quick and responsive service you expect in a first class dining establishment. Nothing less is tolerated.

We're grateful that you let us know about these lapses. We will take measures to ensure our normal four-star service is experienced by every single guest with no exceptions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for several days in late July 2014. The weather was brutally hot - well over 100 degrees every day.

The staff was super-friendly and accommodating. The setting was stunningly beautiful.

What we found distasteful (and why we cannot recommend the resort) was the obscene amount of water the resort used in their sprinkler system. From what we could tell, their vast array of sprinklers were running full blast 24x7, even in the middle of the day, to water the grass around the resort.

We found this offensive in general, and even more so for a resort that prides itself on being environmentally sensitive. Our room even had a reminder to "help us conserve water" by re-using towels.

As a guest, trust me when I say that I didn't find the lush green grass a "plus" for the resort. Just the opposite. We've stayed at other desert resorts (e.g. in Scottsdale, AZ) and they use more appropriate landscaping: water-sensitive shrubs/trees/ hardscape, etc.

And yes, we inquired at the front desk about the irrigation, in case there was some explanation we were missing. We were told "the general manager really wants lush, green grass."

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ALB_201111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin S, Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for pointing out a very interesting aspect of our resort operations that we rarely get to speak about with guests, namely how we get our water. Like many of the remote desert ranches along the Colorado River, the river is our only source of water. This ranch was originally homesteaded by Fred and Ida Stearns in 1903 and it has been in agricultural production ever since, a fact made possible only because it is directly on the river. In 1947 it was purchased by the Boulden family who continued to run it as a ranch and farm. It began life as a resort ranch in 1999 but the ranch and farm operations have continued much as they have for the past 110 years.

As to the river, our life blood, we have two distinct systems that use it:

1. We pump water directly from the river onto our alfalfa and hay fields which are in agricultural production most of the year. Those fields feed our horses. We also irrigate our Sorrel River Farm that supplies food for our restaurant and we water our lawns.

2. We pump water from the river into settling ponds. When that water has cleared, it goes to a state licensed, municipal-quality, water treatment system. From there it is pumped uphill to our water storage tank which feeds the entire resort. That system supplies all our culinary water as well as our large laundry facility maintained by our Housekeeping Department. Our water conservation efforts have to do with balancing the competing demands on that tank-fed system. And that system has nothing to do with the system that you saw irrigating our fields and lawns. But there would have no way for you to know that without asking, so I am grateful that you did.

The desert resorts you compared us to, such as the one in Scottsdale, are not blessed with a location directly on the Colorado River and they are not involved in agriculture as we are. They rely on a water supply system that has been over developed and where consequently water is in very short supply.

We do pride ourselves on being environmentally responsible. We have a resort-wide recycling program and are a source of local food production saving transportation energy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews