We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bowen Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowen Motel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Moab
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my 3 night stay here. No complaints. The room was clean and the staff was amazingly friendly and helpfully. Close to everything. Why do I need two hundred characters to leave a review. I don't have anything else to say

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jeramiec2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    291
    87
    34
    14
See reviews for
144
266
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I enjoy staying in small, private motels on my road trips through the west. Usually the funkier the neon sign, the better. Quality always varies, but the experience is always fun. Bowen was a cut above many I have stayed in in the past. The room was cleaner, the TV a good sized flat screen, there were ample towels, good wifi, and the pillows were very soft. Plus, it was centrally located, and they took my Goldendoodle. The only down side, was you could hear every footstep of the people upstairs.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor so you don't have to hear people walking upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I just stayed here on my way from Phoenix to Colorado. The staff was excellent. The room was very clean and comfortable. I have recommended this motel to my family and will definitely stay here whenever in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atwater, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I had read all the reviews during the past year as I planned my trip to Moab Some said it was too close to the highway and some said it was this or that.

I found it to be very comfortable and a good place to stay. The prices are not as high as most of the big chain motels in town but the price is fair for a good room and a good night's sleep. As many have said, you are here to see the sights and not live in the motel.

I would definitely stay here again if I am ever back to this beautiful location.

T I gave it a 4 in service is the clerk in the office seemed to forget I was a "guest." Just seemed cold and going through tred to what I had heard before.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I was not expecting to like this motel. If you've been to Moab, you know it's not known for fancy food and lodging. Many places were sold out, we needed a pet room and this older motel was available, so we booked it based on availability and reviews on tripadvisor.

I LOVED this motel. You know how you stay at a motel and think, they should have done this or that to make the room better? The Bowen did it. I loved that there were enough hooks to put towels on. I loved the coffee maker had decent coffee. I loved the bed. I loved that we stayed in a pet room that was so clean, I wasn't afraid of the carpets. I am generally phobic about walking on carpets in motels, but was unafraid to take my shoes off. The sheets were clean, the towels fluffy, and plenty of pillows you could use (another pet peeve of mine, lousy pillows). They have paid attention to detail, and we really appreciated it.

Did I mention clean? Clean. Very clean.

We used the pool, and really appreciated the outdoor wash area (for bikes and dogs; after desert hiking, our dog needed it). It is in the middle of town, restaurants and stores all right there, very convenient. Staff was very nice. We wish all of the motels (and hotels) in Moab were as cared for as this one, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoPetLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, & Aust
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Cleanliness, bed comfort, functionality of facilities, quiet, parking convenient to our room, spacious rooms, Wi-Fi, good range of cable channels, price competitive and friendly responsive staff - these are the criteria by which we judge our accommodation. Spending around half each year in your hotels, we've worked out what makes our stay enjoyable and what doesn't.
We are not seeking luxury. We do not rate breakfast as none is adequate in terms of our needs.
The Bowen Motel ticks all the boxes. If your key criteria match ours, look no further.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester Basin, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights October 2013 and liked this motel alot. Served purposes just fine, room was efficient and clean for an older property,parking is good but can get fairly tight at night once everyone is checked in. You can walk to everything in town from the motel, post office adjacent, great coffee shoppes, gift shoppes, restaurants... etc .. staff are friendly and aim to please. I paid $ 71.00 a night mid October ( booked 6 months in advance ) but could have received a better rate by simply walking in as overheard some dealings at the front desk while on the lobby computer. There are several chain hotels in Moab but I was happy to have chosen The Bowen.
Everything within the room worked just fine, the bathroom was a bit tight but managable. I had no issues whatsoever and would recommend and would definately stay again, beautiful place and so close to Arches, Canyonlands amd my favourite Dead Horse Point State Park, magical location. I was 4 rooms in from the road and was not at all bothered by road noise at night, daytime the road is quite busy however.

Room Tip: ground floor is more convenient, drive up rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.9 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#20 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen Motel

Property: Bowen Motel
Address: 169 N Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2394
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowen Motel is conveniently located downtown. Walk to all the great restaurants, shops, and outfitters for jeep or bicycle rentals, river rafting, hiking and much more. We are a few short miles from Arches National Park, and the hub for Canyonlands National Park and Dead Horse point State Park. Our goal is to provide friendly, professional service at a fair price. Choose Bowen Motel and enjoy your Moab vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bowen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen Motel Moab, Utah
Bowen Hotel Moab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing