We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisey!!! but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Noisey!!! but clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I guess when you plan on tent camping in town, don't expect it to be peaceful and quiet
EVER!! not even at 2 in the morning. This campground has several great things about it when staying in an RV or cabin. It's clean and shady and within walking distance of food and all other stores. DO Not tent camp here, you are backed up to the main drag and a very busy car wash with a deceiving beautiful tree line separating you. It is amazing how many people wash their cars at 2, and 3 in the morning. I probably will never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Michelle 2215,
Thank you for your honest and fair evaluation of Canyonlands Campground.
You noticed our good service, clean park, and convenience of being able to walk around town.
It would be difficult to offer solitude and a quiet remote location at the same time.
Many visitors are relieved to park their car and walk, especially with children.
You took the time to write in and I appreciate hearing from you.
I hope you have a wonderful summer,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    129
    44
    19
    13
See reviews for
141
115
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was the first time putting up a tent in about thirty years, and I got to say, I Got Really Lucky! The women at the desk couldn't have been nicer as well as the workers at the affiliated gas station and shop.
The GM Mark went out of his way for me and hell, everyone else at the campground. a real good guy and excellent supervisor. Additionally, the maintenance guy Jim was absolutely on top of any problems that arise when a lot of people and RVs are coming in and out regularly.
I stayed for twenty days beginning on June 1st. If there are any naysayers on tripadvisor during my stay, I would say its there own problems, not the campground, Mark or the staff. They were great!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keckkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Yo Keckkw,
For not having put up a tent in 30 years you looked like a pro.
Thank you for choosing our campround to spend three weeks at, and we hope you come back and do it again.
I appreciate you noticing the fine group of staff who work in the campground and gas station.
They are special people who make this place what it is.
You were the earliest riser at 5am each morning and I enjoyed your morning greetings.
Blessings,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauconda, Illinois
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spent four nights here while visiting Arches. The campground was extremely clean (although it took over 12 hours to clear clogged toliets) and the amenities were nice with a pool, full laundry, and a playground. The tent sites in the main camp ground area were quite tight. Admittedly, we have a large tent, but we just barely fit it in the site-we were in G-3 and it is among the tightest ones there. I have included pictures of our site and G-2 and G-1. G-1 has a large area behind it that would be great to move back from the road way. The tent sites in the G row are divided by fences, which was nice for privacy, but did little to keep the conversations of the neighboring site's camp fire out of our tent. The shade cover though in each site was much appreciated at meal times when the sun sat high.

The campground is right in the center of Moab, which was very convenient to stores, restaurants, and the park, but it also meant that the noise of downtown was constantly present. The car wash a block away kept going into the late evening. This made getting 4 year olds down for bed a little rough.

Room Tip: If you're tenting G-1 and past G-5 are a little more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Worldmusician,
We are glad your family could visit us here at Canyonlands to enjoy our shady sites and pool. During this warm season both items are pretty nice to have available.
Thanks for stopping by and I hope you have a pleasant summer.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUBERRY
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Spent two nights since there was more to do then we thought. We did not have reservations and were glad we were able to stay the extra time.. Good shade and in town. Didn't like having to unhook truck from fifth wheel. Pool was pretty crowded with bigger kids. Close to store and gas.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLPPEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear BLPPEP
Thank you for spending two nights with us. You are right that there is more to do here than one would think.
I am also pleased that you were able to get a spot in spite of not having a reservation.
If you ever pass this way again we would be happy to see you back here in Canyonlands Campground.
Have a wonderful summer,
Mark D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have been coming to this RV park for years. We meet a large group of friends/family here every year. We feel so blessed to have found such an amazing place to stay. We stay here in our RV and have 4 small kids. Each time we return we are welcomed with smiles and familiar faces. The park is clean and family friendly. Mark and the wonderful ladies at the front desk go above and beyond to take care of us (no request is to big or to small and they never make you feel bad for asking....in fact the encourage it). There is no other place in Moab we would stay. See you soon!

The Dorschner Family

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Autumn C and the Dorschner family,
You said you feel blessed and you were amazed. I feel the same way. Guests like yourself put a smile on my face. My great staff put a smile on my face. Getting to live in this park puts a smile on my face. It is a positive circle and sure helps keep me going.
Thank you for taking time to write about us and please come back soon.
Blessings,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
366 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This RV park is very hard to enter. The entrance is at the side of the Texaco Gas station and it can fool you so you have to turn around in order to enter the park. Once through the registration process, access to some of the site roads requires you to back up your motor home and you can hit the side wall of the gas station if you are not careful. The sites are tree lined (a problem) and can make it impossible to use your large slides and the awning at the same time as the trees limit site width.

Parking your toad is also a problem or you just park in the road. This practice is used by the campers with Off Road Vehicles and it makes it almost impossible to pull out in the morning of the day you leave.

If you have a small class C unit or a Class B unit, you are ok but if you have a Class A motorhome, you might find another campground a better opportunity.

The park is relatively clean with good electrical, water and sewer. It is all gravel and a bit hard to walk on. The park is well maintained and if not for the cramped conditions and the access concerns it would be a bit better. We would likely only use this park it there were no spaces available in other parks in Moab.

Room Tip: Get a site in Row three if you can as they are a bit longer than sites in rows 1 & 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Phil S,
Thank you for writing an honest and fair review of Canyonlands Campground. From looking at the other reviews you have written you are well traveled and have seen it all.
I would expand the size of our park if I could and we will continue to keep this place clean and attractive as you had noticed.
Happy and safe travel to you,
MarkD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have been staying here for the last 5 years on our yearly trip to Moab. We love the fact that we can walk into town (or the brewery). The campground is well maintained and the staff is helpful and friendly. We had a problem with people who didn't want to get out of our spot, which we book as soon as the sites are available the previous year. The staff handled the problem very professionally and even gave us free firewood for the inconvenience even though it was not their fault. We will be back again next year! Thank you Mark for all you did.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Hi Cathy882 from Georgia,
You and your group were here for a week last month and quickly became my friends and neighbors.
I got a lot of satisfaction watching your group having fun here.
Your kind words about me and the staff make me feel better yet.
You are the kind of people who make me want to run this park for a long time to come.
Next year I will have a big smile on my face when your group returns.
Have a great summer,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.1 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
10.8 mi away
Archview RV Resort & Campground
4.4 mi away
O.K. RV Park & Canyonlands Stables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground

Property: Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Address: 555 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyonlands Campground is a RV park with 66 RV sites, 15 water and electric sites, 41 tent sites, and 8 camper cabins.Services include free wi-fi, swimming pool, pavilion, group campfire area, and childrens play area. The park is pet friendly except for the cabin area. We have a gas station/convenience store, propane sales, and laundromat on site. All sites except RV sites include a fire ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyonlands Campground Hotel Moab
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing