We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"campground" is a pretty loose term”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"campground" is a pretty loose term”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you're expecting to actually "camp" then I would not recommend a campground in town. Canyonlands Campground had a semi-clean shower/bathroom building (better than others we've stayed at), but there is not hot water, just kind of a luke warm temperature. The pool was clean and the grounds were well taken care of. The playground is excellent for the kids. BUT - you kind of feel like you and your neighbors are a little closer than for comfort. There's no space between camping spots and you here and smell everything they do. For a weekend in Moab, this includes their late partying, laughing and music. We were initially assigned the first spot at the beginning of a row, each of these spots throughout the grounds have little to no shade - which in Moab is a necessity. The first time my wife approached the office about moving she was shot down by a young lady. The next day I went in an older lady was more than happy to accommodate our desires and gave me a couple of options to pick from in the which we immediately moved to a shadier location. If you were to camp in Moab, I would recommend avoiding Friday through Sunday. Monday through Thursday is a completely different town.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you a spot at the beginning of the rows, there's little or no shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for staying at Canyonlands. As you know, camping in town has its perks and its drawbacks. Here at Canyonlands, we are close to dining and entertainment but do tend to get pretty busy during the summer season and weekends. We train our park team members to listen and respond to park guest’s requests whenever possible. I am sorry your wife encountered a team member without this service philosophy. We’ll make sure to remind them of our commitment to guest satisfaction and we’ll look into the water situation as well. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back at Canyonlands the next time you roll through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    129
    45
    19
    13
See reviews for
141
116
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I don't normally stay in private campgrounds, preferring to boondock or camp at public campgrounds. I have to say that Canyonlands was the exception to the rule. I really liked it for the friendly and helpful staff, Krista and Mike; remote and quiet tent area; easy access to shopping and dining in Moab; safe parking for my vehicle and trailer while offroading in the area; and the abundant shade. This is where I will stay the next time I'm in Moab.

Room Tip: The tent area across the creek had almost no noise from Main Street or the full hookup area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with an exceptional camping experience. We work diligently to ensure that all types of campers enjoy the different options that we offer. We look forward to being of service to you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Two of us on motorcycles with a support van had a wonderful stay here in late May. Krista and Mike were super hosts - they enabled us to do multi-day off road motorcycle rides from the campground and stored our van and trailer while we were out riding the great off road routes around Moab. And Mike was a huge help in providing some tools for a mechanical fix on one of the bikes. Convenient location, nice pool, very clean restrooms and laundry. Highly recommended if you need a campground in the heart of Moab!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our on-site team takes great pride in providing the highest quality service and we are pleased to hear that our team was able to add value to your experience. We hope that your adventures in Moab will bring you back to explore and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I travel to Moab twice a year for a family vacation and stay here every time. We normally dry camp up on the sand flats for the first 4 days then move down to Canyonlands for the next 4-7 days. Kids love the pool and we just discovered the pavilion with BBQ grills and horseshoes this trip. Other than the all the cotton from the cottonwood trees it is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are pleased to hear that we continue to meet your expectations over the many years you have been visiting Moab and staying with us. We are pleased to hear that our BBG grills and horseshoes added value to your experience. We will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The campground was great. We had a tent site and everything was within a short walking distance. It rained while we were there and when are site flooded the staff up graded us to a cabin at no additional charge. The staff and the other campers were all friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are pleased to hear that the service we provided you helped create an exceptional vacation experience. We know weather can sometimes hinder the ability to enjoy the great outdoors and we were more than happy to help. We look forward to your next visit and hope that when you do, the weather will be more pleasant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were en-route to a grandson's wedding in Salt Lake with the daughters of the groom and bride riding along. We had researched the RV parks in the area for availability and facilities for a one night stay. We arrived and after the motorhome was set up we could relax with the girls ages 12 and 3. Even though we were only staying one night the staff were very cordial and helpful. This park would be a good home base for visiting the Canyonlands Parks. They have a variety of camping spaces so just about anyone not into the hotel/motel stays could enjoy a short or long term stay at this campground. The city of Moab has businesses that could supply just about any need the traveler or camper might have. Reasonable rates for the 37' motorhome.

Room Tip: Call ahead for the type of accommodations you want. We went through at the height of vacation time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that our on-site team was courteous and able to provide you with the services and amenities you needed while visiting. We hope that you’ll return someday to enjoy all that our resort and Moab has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

As a tent camper, this is an RV park and it feels like an RV park. It feels pretty crowded and there is no privacy. Even the lower tent area still feels like a parking lot (and you've got a La Quinta Inn right behind you, so there is no illusion that you're not in a parking lot) and the port-a-potties down there smelled terrible. The ground is pretty rocky/gravely so don't camp there unless you have a good sleeping pad.

That being said, the location is excellent - it's right in the center for Moab, a 5 minute walk to the Moab Brewery and the supermarket. The little pool is a nice touch for those hot days too. The bathrooms were clean and there was hot water. The folks at the front desk are pretty helpful too.

My recommendation is that if you're going to camp there, try to get a site in the "G" row - you'll be in the main area, so closer to the bathrooms, but will have a tiny bit more privacy (3 fence walls) than the other tent rows.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have spaces on-site that cater to more a rustic experience as well as a section in the back where tent spaces are separated by an 8 foot fence. Guests love the convenience of our location and we are pleased to hear that our location and service helped you enjoy your visit to Moab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.1 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
10.8 mi away
Archview RV Resort & Campground
4.4 mi away
O.K. RV Park & Canyonlands Stables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground

Property: Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Address: 555 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyonlands Campground is a RV park with 66 RV sites, 15 water and electric sites, 41 tent sites, and 8 camper cabins.Services include free wi-fi, swimming pool, pavilion, group campfire area, and childrens play area. The park is pet friendly except for the cabin area. We have a gas station/convenience store, propane sales, and laundromat on site. All sites except RV sites include a fire ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, PitchUp and Odigeo so you can book your Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyonlands Campground Hotel Moab
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing