We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient in Moab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Brsibane,Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Convenient in Moab”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The reception is very friendly and helpful. The campsite is busy and was full the night we were there. There is no grass, only gravel, but there are shady trees. However, if the wind blows it is dusty and the cottonwood trees dump their fluff everywhere. The noise from the highway is noticeable at night, however, if you are in a van or RV then you do not hear the passing traffic once your doors are closed. There is a swimming pool which we did use and met some friendly fellow campers who gave us great advice on a route to take to the Grand Canyon. The showers and bathrooms are fine, but busy at times. It was fine for one night for convenience.

Room Tip: Try to get a site towards the back of the camp, the further back from the road, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeknfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your recent experience with us. We are glad that our resort was able to meet your needs for an evening during your travels. We hope that you’ll stop by again the next time you find yourself traveling through Utah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    145
    51
    20
    18
See reviews for
158
129
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Check in was nice and friendly. Cost was reasonable. Campsite was all gravel. No grass. Plenty of shade trees. Shower at 5 am was tepid at best but bathrooms very clean and updated. Not the best if you are a little chilled from the night air in a tent. LOTS of cottonwood floating around from trees. Probably not a good choice for those with allergies. Looked like it was snowing. I'm sure this is seasonal and not year round. Looked pretty cool actually but covered all camping gear and into open tent. Easy to park motorcycles next to tent. Pretty popular so campground was fairly well occupied but a few open spaces. In the heart of town so plenty of places to eat within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you're tenting, make sure you have padding. You will be laying on rocks, not pea gravel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrummerD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for sharing these kind words about our resort. We are pleased to hear that our service and location helped you enjoy your stay with us. We always love to hear from our guests both during and after their stay. If you stay with us again in the future, we would be more than happy to address your concerns such as the shower temperature, immediately upon being notified. We will make sure to use this feedback to help better serve our current and future guests, which we hope will include you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you're expecting to actually "camp" then I would not recommend a campground in town. Canyonlands Campground had a semi-clean shower/bathroom building (better than others we've stayed at), but there is not hot water, just kind of a luke warm temperature. The pool was clean and the grounds were well taken care of. The playground is excellent for the kids. BUT - you kind of feel like you and your neighbors are a little closer than for comfort. There's no space between camping spots and you here and smell everything they do. For a weekend in Moab, this includes their late partying, laughing and music. We were initially assigned the first spot at the beginning of a row, each of these spots throughout the grounds have little to no shade - which in Moab is a necessity. The first time my wife approached the office about moving she was shot down by a young lady. The next day I went in an older lady was more than happy to accommodate our desires and gave me a couple of options to pick from in the which we immediately moved to a shadier location. If you were to camp in Moab, I would recommend avoiding Friday through Sunday. Monday through Thursday is a completely different town.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you a spot at the beginning of the rows, there's little or no shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for staying at Canyonlands. As you know, camping in town has its perks and its drawbacks. Here at Canyonlands, we are close to dining and entertainment but do tend to get pretty busy during the summer season and weekends. We train our park team members to listen and respond to park guest’s requests whenever possible. I am sorry your wife encountered a team member without this service philosophy. We’ll make sure to remind them of our commitment to guest satisfaction and we’ll look into the water situation as well. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back at Canyonlands the next time you roll through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I don't normally stay in private campgrounds, preferring to boondock or camp at public campgrounds. I have to say that Canyonlands was the exception to the rule. I really liked it for the friendly and helpful staff, Krista and Mike; remote and quiet tent area; easy access to shopping and dining in Moab; safe parking for my vehicle and trailer while offroading in the area; and the abundant shade. This is where I will stay the next time I'm in Moab.

Room Tip: The tent area across the creek had almost no noise from Main Street or the full hookup area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with an exceptional camping experience. We work diligently to ensure that all types of campers enjoy the different options that we offer. We look forward to being of service to you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Two of us on motorcycles with a support van had a wonderful stay here in late May. Krista and Mike were super hosts - they enabled us to do multi-day off road motorcycle rides from the campground and stored our van and trailer while we were out riding the great off road routes around Moab. And Mike was a huge help in providing some tools for a mechanical fix on one of the bikes. Convenient location, nice pool, very clean restrooms and laundry. Highly recommended if you need a campground in the heart of Moab!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our on-site team takes great pride in providing the highest quality service and we are pleased to hear that our team was able to add value to your experience. We hope that your adventures in Moab will bring you back to explore and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I travel to Moab twice a year for a family vacation and stay here every time. We normally dry camp up on the sand flats for the first 4 days then move down to Canyonlands for the next 4-7 days. Kids love the pool and we just discovered the pavilion with BBQ grills and horseshoes this trip. Other than the all the cotton from the cottonwood trees it is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are pleased to hear that we continue to meet your expectations over the many years you have been visiting Moab and staying with us. We are pleased to hear that our BBG grills and horseshoes added value to your experience. We will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The campground was great. We had a tent site and everything was within a short walking distance. It rained while we were there and when are site flooded the staff up graded us to a cabin at no additional charge. The staff and the other campers were all friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighwayWestVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are pleased to hear that the service we provided you helped create an exceptional vacation experience. We know weather can sometimes hinder the ability to enjoy the great outdoors and we were more than happy to help. We look forward to your next visit and hope that when you do, the weather will be more pleasant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.1 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
801 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
2.9 mi away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Archview RV Resort & Campground
4.4 mi away
O.K. RV Park & Canyonlands Stables
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 35 in Moab
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground

Property: Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Address: 555 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyonlands Campground is a RV park with 66 RV sites, 15 water and electric sites, 41 tent sites, and 8 camper cabins.Services include free wi-fi, swimming pool, pavilion, group campfire area, and childrens play area. The park is pet friendly except for the cabin area. We have a gas station/convenience store, propane sales, and laundromat on site. All sites except RV sites include a fire ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyonlands Campground Hotel Moab
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing