We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, friendly front desk, and great value.”
Review of Big Horn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Horn Lodge
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place, friendly front desk, and great value.”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

From the front desk check-in, to the price, the location, and the cleanliness if the room...a nice place and I will stay here again.
It's walking distance to shopping and the brewery! The room had a microwave, fridge, and a large tv.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gthrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope you will be back soon, we would love to have you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    192
    111
    38
    10
See reviews for
103
178
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great little motel in the heart of town. Very clean and basic, was nice to be able to bring the dog. If you are looking for something with frills this is not the place, but VERY clean, staff was friendly and very close to everything on Main St. Great home base for play time in the National Parks and right next to the grovery store.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissAdventures303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for your very nice review. We do think we are a little gem in Moab, we take pride in our customer service and our housekeeping and we are so glad you stayed with us. We invite you to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Look at the outdoor photos of this hotel closely and remind yourself that this is a motel. There is no hallway, you instead park in front of your room. As long as you are okay with that, you can be happy here. On the positive side, they do several things that I've often thought small motels should do to distinguish themselves. First, they have slightly above average soap and shampoo. They have nice TVs, extra washcloths, and happily take pets (small fee). As others have mentioned, the pet rooms at least are tile instead of carpet, which is a great idea. Note, though, that the tile floor does tend to be cold. Worth it, though, for cleanliness. On the downside, the rooms can be a bit noisy from the road nearby or from your neighbor loading his car. Our heater did not work well -- it would only put out really hot air or cold air with no in between. This left us either too hot or too cold during the night, depending on the setting. The entire "wall" where the door consists of tinted floor to ceiling windows -- which would be great if there were a view of something more than the parking lot. I think these windows (which have curtains that nobody opens) make it a bit noisier overall. The location is on the south side of Moab a bit toward the edge of town, but across the street from the grocery store and just a few blocks from the brewery, which I think is the best restaurant in Moab.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unwilted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thanks so much for writing a review. We appreciate your nice comments and your concerns. We will make an effort to research your concerns and make any changes we can. The Moab Brewery is just a little less than a block from us and the grocery store is just across the street from us too,they are both so nice to have near by. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and will choose to say with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We travel with two small dogs. To us they are family. Some pet rooms were experienced had that pet pee smell to them. Not Big Horn Lodge. They were far and above the cleanest we've stayed at. There floors are tile and mopped daily. Smart move, wish more motels would do this. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We are so happy you like our pet rooms. Thanks for posting a review for us. We hope you enjoyed your stay and will return to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trout Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were just passing through Moab and needed to stay the night. Big Horn is dog-friendly, so we gave them a try. The woman at the front desk was really great and even waived our pet fee (maybe because it was November?). Our room was very clean, cute and comfortable. No frills, but we didn't need any. The price was great and the room was just what we needed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KSnapped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for posting a great review for us. We are so happy you chose to stay with us. We are pet friendly and glad we could accommodate you. We hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stay at the Big Horn each fall, and it's been consistently clean and reasonably priced. The front-desk staff has always been very friendly and informative on what's going on around the area. The room has a refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV. It serves as a great base from which to explore the beautiful area around Moab. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 765ericb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to write a review for us. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and have returned to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Moab is a tourist town, so you expect to pay more for less.. This was not the case with The Big Horn Lodge.. Reasonable prices..Rooms were large with microwaves and mini fridge.. comfortable beds. Staff was very helpful, we were part of the Great National Parks Closure if 2013!! Front desk recommended plenty of other places to go so we didn't consider the trip a loss.. They directed us to Dead Horse State Park.. Which was great!!! We had both dinner & breakfast at on site resturant both were very good and reasonable in price.. I didn't miss the hotel chain that we usually try to stay when traveling, the Big Horn had everything except the free breakfast that the chain has.. we really didnt miss the free breakfast.. a big plus for us was they had so many choices in TV channels we even got to see the Oklahoma (OU) football game that night. You can pay more but you won't find more from a hotel!!! Would recommend to anyone in the area!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macombsboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
What an excellent review. We really appreciate you taking time to write us a review. So happy to hear you loved our place and your time in Moab. Although I am sure it would have been great to go into the National Parks we really do have a lot more to offer and Dead Horse Point in my favorite! Thanks again and we welcome you to come stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
785 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
0.8 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
0.1 mi away
Red Stone Inn
Red Stone Inn
#25 of 34 in Moab
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Lodge

Property: Big Horn Lodge
Address: 550 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Horn Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Horn Lodge Located in downtown Moab, just minutes from Arches and Canyonlands National Parks and walking distance to great bars and restaurants. The lodge features log furniture, rustic interiors with Mexican tile, in a southwest style, Coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators in every room. The heated Pool is open in season. Pet rooms are available. The Moab Grill Restaurant is on site, serving 3 meals, 7 days a week, with beer and wine service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Big Horn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Moab
Big Horn Motel
Big Horn Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing