We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular scenery”
Review of Big Horn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Horn Lodge
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Western N.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenery”
Reviewed 9 July 2007

The room itself was standard and very acceptable although the bathroom was tiny. Very clean. Our particular room was noisy. The icemaker was outside the room and we heard every bucket of ice that was filled. The customers in the room above us partied with loud music until the wee hours of the morning. The room was a little difficult to keep cool as the morning sun hit the room full force and the temp rose to 104 each of the three days that we were there. However, the price was right and the fridge and large TV made it worth it. Would not stay there again. Would try another option.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmomWesternN_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    191
    108
    38
    10
See reviews for
102
174
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2007

We arrived in Moab on a very hot morning in June. The temperature was 101 degrees and we were having trouble with our car's air conditioner. We saw the Big Horn Lodge and pulled in. The lady at the desk was very sympathetic and told us we could check in immediately, even though all the rooms had not been cleaned. She assigned us one of the clean rooms, and we went in. It was wonderful! They had set the air conditioner on high cool, had the overhead fans running, and had placed an extra fan in the room! The room was spotless. We had the convenience of a refrigerator so we could put some drinks in to cool. The lady was very knowledgable about the local activities and the places we needed to go. She also advised us on useful ways to combat the heat. If we ever go back to Moab, we will surely stay at the Big Horn Lodge!

  • Liked — Helpfulness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2007

We happened upon Big HOrn by chance and almost didnt get a room. Then they had a cancellation and what a great exp. I have a crawling little one and the place was SO CLEAN from top to bottom. Simple, perfect for overnite, whatever! Polite staff, best place I ever spent, better than some resorts!!!!!

  • Liked — Clean clean clean clean clean
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2007

Very nice hotel. The room size was bigger than the average hotel. Prices were reasonable. There is a good restaurant next to the hotel which made it very convenient.
Perfect location-close to Arches National Park, Canyonlands and many more outdoor adventures. Cleaning service was good except for the one day we did not have any. Overall I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank adrenlinejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Big Horn Lodge the nights of 5/2-5/3. We found the accomodations very nice and the rooms were clean and fresh. We also enjoyed our breakfasts at the resturanunt. At both the lodge and resturanunt the employees were cheerful and cooperative. One person really stood out and that was the front desk girl Katherine. From our booking over the phone through our arrival and departure she was great! She is a great asset to your business because her interactions with customers give a very good first impression. I should know about customer relations since i taught business and marketing in addtion to running my own business.Keep up the great work.
Larry

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryHDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2007

Stayed in room 202. Room was dark and gloomy. It was okay but the toilet wasn't secured to the ground very well so it rocked when sat on. The showerhead is low and even though I'm not tall at all, I had to bend over to wet my hair. Moab is a lot nicer than I expected so getting a room might be a bit difficult. Call hotels ahead of time to book your room or expect to run around looking. We found a nice room booking business behind the visitor's centre downtown that was willing to call around for you and they can make hotel suggestions as well. They get a commision from the hotels so there is no cost to you!

Room was quiet and the hotel is close to lots of restaurants but most of the restaurants are only open till 10pm so if you do an evening hike in Arches National Park, decide where you are going to eat ahead of time so you make it back in time!

  • Liked — Closeness to everything in Moab, Wednesday hotel special price
  • Disliked — Dark room, needs windows in back
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2007

stayed here in April 2007 on a "grand circle" self-drive and found nothing to complain about. The rooms are decorated in a 70's wood panel that did induce student-house flashbacks, but I knew that would be the case from the web page.

We found the rooms fine in size, we liked the tinted glass that meant you could open the curtains but still have privacy, and above all CLEAN (so we must have got a good maid). We requested a non-smoking non-pet room and that's exactly what we got.

the location can't be beaten- right on the main street, across the road from the supermarket, a very short walk to a 24-hour laundromat (really needed after a few days mtb-ing), and right near the Moab Brewery- highly recommended for good cheap food

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room decor
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank salome2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
1.1 mi away
Inca Inn
Inca Inn
#2 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Stone Inn
Red Stone Inn
#24 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Lodge

Property: Big Horn Lodge
Address: 550 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Horn Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Horn Lodge Located in downtown Moab, just minutes from Arches and Canyonlands National Parks and walking distance to great bars and restaurants. The lodge features log furniture, rustic interiors with Mexican tile, in a southwest style, Coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators in every room. The heated Pool is open in season. Pet rooms are available. The Moab Grill Restaurant is on site, serving 3 meals, 7 days a week, with beer and wine service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Horn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Moab
Big Horn Motel
Big Horn Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing