We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A $50/night hotel that runs for $100/night during the high season” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apache Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apache Motel
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A $50/night hotel that runs for $100/night during the high season”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This motel was both recommended in my road trip book and the cheapest hotel I could find on Trip Advisor – this usually doesn’t happen. It cost $100 even though it’s really a $50/night hotel – I guess that’s the price you pay for visiting Moab during the high season. Unlike many other hotels, this hotel is about four blocks (1/2 mile) off the main street. The old sign is great but the motel charm pretty much ends there – I did enjoy the full length mirror in the bedroom. The bed was big and reasonably comfortable – the room was also big – there was an extra fold-up bed in a corner – as well as a microwave and fridge. The TV worked – the wireless internet worked but got slow sometimes. The key to get into the room was finicky too. Horrid carpeting. There were no washcloths and an extreme dearth of electrical outlets. The sign inside the bathroom was amusing – warned guests not to use towels to clean their bikes – perfect statement on the sort of people who frequent Moab.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnlyHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    73
    72
    39
    30
See reviews for
66
102
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The motel is in a residential area which is well placed for town. Our room looked a little tired - it needs decorating and freshening up. It didn't have a coffee maker which we found odd as there was a microwave and fridge. Breakfast was included and you went to the lobby to collect. It was adequate. There was free WiFi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghiana8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt lake city
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights. Sheets were clean, beds were comfortable. This paced shows it age for sure. We had mini suite by the pool. Breakfast was just ok, cold pancakes and prepackaged danish, milk, coffee. Pool was refreshing but a little cloudy. Front desk staff is friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Try were the locals swim..power dam!
Bathroom was huge, kitchen had very limited houswares. Yes, I would stay here again. Thanks Apache motel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank marie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearfield, Utah
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This motel could use fixing up but .... the calling card on it is that John Wayne used it while filming westerns back in the day. In the breakfast room/lobby, John Wayne stands tall and there are photos of numerous other film stars. No 'big-bottom' towels but room was satisfactory. Breakfast buffet could stand the addition of hot items and/or bagels or toast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattense2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I booked two nights here in our road trip to visit the National parks. I only booked this hotel because of the price and I regretted it immediately. It is an old hotel, so the fixtures are very outdated and my room smelled pretty musty, but the worst part was the cleanliness. Upon entering the room my husband said it smelled like urine. The toilet area smelled more like urine and the seat had some hairs in it as if someone had shaved over the toilet. Obviously this room was not cleaned. I could not cancel because I was already within the 48 hour window where we would have been charged so we stuck it out. Front desk clerk was nice and understanding but the manager would not let us cancel. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valencia333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moab hotels

White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

When we were planning our road trip to Utah, we included two days in Moab. Finding an affordable motel in Moab proved to be a real challenge (most were in the $125.00 and up range). Unfortunately the reviews for this motel were not a good representation of the quality, though the cost appeared to be reasonable. Our first impression was of an older motel with friendly and helpful staff. Our unit was on the ground floor and made it easy to unpack, but that is were the "nice" ends. The unit was dark, I mean really dark! The carpet was lumpy and the bathroom was small, dark, had a very noisy fan, and accordion style door that did not close. We were really not sure if the room was clean or not because we could not see very well. The bed was just OK and the location was in a quiet area of town. There is a pool area that looked good (we did not use it). The Wi-Fi worked and breakfast was available (we did not partake since the foods available did not meet our dietary needs). Overall we would not recommend this motel, particularly at a rate of $90.00 per night. A little extra money gets you a lot more without the John Wayne hype.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We rented in this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. I expected a nice clean room with a refrigerator and microwave plus breakfast for a reasonable price. I got exactly that. My husband and I really recommend the pancakes for breakfast. Realize you will be eating in your room, which was perfectly okay with us. We were about 4 blocks away from main street. Which meant we did not have to listen to all the hustle and bustle of main street, which was a lot. There is no problem parking in the main part of town. All the employees were friendly. No problems were encountered. I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.6 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
Red Stone Inn
Red Stone Inn
#27 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Horn Lodge
Big Horn Lodge
#18 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adventure Inn & Motel
0.3 mi away
Rustic Inn
Rustic Inn
#14 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Moab
Motel 6 Moab
#29 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apache Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apache Motel

Property: Apache Motel
Address: 166 S 400 E, Moab, UT 84532-2628
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Apache Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Apache Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apache Hotel Moab
Apache Motel Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing