We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but fantastic”
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Desert, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Expensive but fantastic”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This property is more expensive than most any in the Moab area, but it's right on the Colorado river with unimpeded views of the red rock formations and the river. Food is excellent (dinner especially) with friendly service - thanks Chad - and it's easy to eat outside on the deck from March on. It's my third visit and won't be the last. The cabins are private, huge and well stocked, but pricy.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JH928S4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,040
    596
    117
    43
    10
See reviews for
917
1,277
68
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder City, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Listen to the birds, watch the river and creek, enjoy the horses running through the meadow all from your private patio. Yes you are 14 miles from the main area of Moab but the drive to and from is gorgeous. You feel as though you are staying in a ranch guest house. Rooms are clean and have a rustic Western style which blends well with the location. Have dinner in the restaurant and ask for an outside table. Service is friendly and warm and they offered some interesting choices in food. The winery is also enjoyable. Beds are comfortable. Robes and RO water provided is a definite plus. Our first trip to Moab and this provided a nice relaxing home base to tour the amazing parks nearby. Glad we selected the Red Cliffs Lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms are private and spacious. Even the least expensive rooms offer private patios and a creek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPARKLELasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My husband and myself have stayed at the Red Cliffs Lodge twice now and we absolutely love it! We ask for a room with a view of the Colorado river and can sit on the back porch and listen to the birds while watching the river flowing by the red rocks..The evening colors are spectacular! We don't mind a bit driving the 14 miles up the very scenic hwy 128 to the peaceful, beautiful ranch the lodge is located on. We will be back!

Room Tip: You can choose a room on the Colorado, or a creek side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurbey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Me & my significant other stayed April 27-28th in one of the double queen rooms. It was very nice room, very clean, well lit, & a excellent private patio by the creek. We thought the bed was comfortable. The property was beautiful, in a beautiful setting, and away from the busy town noise but not too far away from recreation. The staff was excellent. Jennifer at the front desk always helped us with a smile, Chad Gregory was an excellent server, and Dianne was a wonderful hostess for breakfast and brunch. Jennifer was always happy to answer our questions. Chad was a friendly, knowledgeable server. Dianne always made sure we had everything we needed in the morning while enjoying breakfast and brunch. The food was also very good.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awbball20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is a beautiful setting - so why do the rooms have the smallest windows and why does the roof line clamp down on that view so it is not easily seen from the room. Also - beware that it is a loooong drive from town.
Aside from that - the indifferent performance of the staff led to the theft of our property - something that could have easily been recovered had the staff done what they should have done when the issue was called to their attention. There are 2 possibilities as to who stole this item - either housekeeping (or they didn't do their job properly) or the next guest - which could have been resolved if when I called ( in a very timely manner) the girl answering the phone had actually cared to check things out immediately. Obviously this item was important. I will never stay again and advise others to stay away if you value service & caring in your hotel staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NZtouristNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I've been there two times and both visits were great. Stayed in a two bedroom cabin only a stone's throw from the Colorado River. This place is well worth the price. Excellent wines at their winery. Make sure you visit the John Wayne museum next to the restaurant. I recommend this place over the more expensive Lodge down the road. I've stayed at both and this one is the best.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharoncannella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We recently returned from a family trip to a number of the national parks out west. Our last and best lodging was at Red Cliffs. Our mini-suite was overlooking the Colorado River framed with the "Red Cliffs" in the background. Each room had its own patio which offered spectacular views particularly at sunset. We had nightly cocktail parties with our extended family each of the three evenings we were present. It was so beautiful you never wanted the evening to end.

The rooms were not new but very clean and comfortable. The food was very good and the kitchen very flexible. When we wanted to go to Arches at dawn, no problem. Boxed breakfasts were waiting for us at the desk at 6am. The staff was there to be friendly and helpful!

We had a great time at Red Cliffs and plan to return! I would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LudingtonMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
716 reviews
9.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,324 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Property: Red Cliffs Lodge
Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing