We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Overated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
sarver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Overated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

My wife and I planned a two week vacation from Pa to the southwest. We looked at the Red Cliffs Lodge pamplet and it really looked beautiful. We were very disappointed when we arrived because on that day the weather was changing and because the parking lot was not paved it was very dusty. It started to rain and the dust quickly turned to a red slime mud as we transfered our suitcases from car to our room.
As we opened our room door there wasn't a mat (just a tile floor)and now we have mud on the floor in our room. We checked out the room and found our own personal plunger in the bathroom when the sewage backs up. Our shower curtain smelled of mildue. The drinking cups were sitting there not wraped in plastic. They also wanted us to reuse the towels to save water.
The thing that irritated us the most was we arrived at 3pm and wanted to use the pool and hot tub to relax but couldn't because of bad weather. They need an indoor pool and hot tub like all of the other motels. They didn't have any vending machines and the restaurant was closed and it had a limited menu and hours. We should have ate in Moab before we drove out to Red Cliffs.
Our room cost us 195.97 and they didn't even have a complementary breakfast in the morning. All good motels give you an expanded breakfast in the morning. The cost of their breakfast was 10 dollars per person. When we checked out in the morning another couple was complaining to the manager and we should have complained also but I didn't at that time.
I am complaining because for 200 dollars a night I expect more. If I would stay at a motel 6, I would expect less. This place is way to expensive for all that you get and remember that the view is free.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank 71Z28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,912
    572
    115
    42
    9
See reviews for
867
1,202
63
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2008

This place was absolutely amazing. We found it by reading the reviews for the Sorrel River Ranch, which is just up the road. The reviews said that Red Cliffs was just as nice for half the price and we found this to be dead on. We drove up to Sorrel to check it out, and while it is beautiful, we found the view at Red Cliffs better and the atmosphere more relaxed. Red Cliffs is more of a real ranch feel, with a rustic look. We unfortunately did not get to partake in a lot of the activites they have as my wife is pregnant, but we will definitely do them them next time. The restaurant was good. The food was great and the view is of course incredible. Our room was a King River Suite, #405, which apparently has one of the best views. The Colorado River was right off our back porch and had geese and beavers hanging out. I have to be honest, I was not impressed with their website as it just doesn't do the property justice, they should update it. It would be nice if the pool was heated, and hot tub was a little too hot, but still nice. The wines they make on-site were great. The staff is very friendly. We'll definitely be back!

  • Liked — The views, the staff, the food
  • Disliked — Fix the wireless internet
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2008

The Red Cliffs Lodge is about 15 miles out of Moab, on the Colorado River. Its location outside Moab is both an advantage and a disadvantage. Moab does have all the stores and recreation services you could ask for. It was a nice little town 30 years ago, but it's an ugly strip mall today.

Being away from all that is great, but you have to drive 25 minutes to get from the Lodge to Arches Nat'l Park or to Moab. It's about 50 minute's' drive from the Island in the Sky section of Canyonlands Nat'l Park.

There's a main building with the restaurant, bar and sitting area. The lodge's rooms rooms & cabins are strung out in a line facing the Colorado or facing a creek that separates the lodge from the small ranch next door. We (4 adutts) stayed in a "queen cabin" facing the river - two bedrooms each with a queen beds, bathroom, small galley kitchen, living room/breakfast area and a deck facing the river. The view from the main lodge is truly spectacular, especially from the afternoon to dusk. The cabins and rooms look directly across the Colorado at a steep red cliff which is very nice but the view from the room is not the photo you see on the web site -- that's the view from the main building.

The theme is rustic, but everything you need and almost everything you're likely to want are there including both wired and wireless free broadband, a large bathroom and comfortable but somewhat sparse furniture. The kitchen in the cabins is quite adequate for making a light breakfast. (There's a microwave and small refrigerator, but no cooktop, so... no scrambled eggs.) There's a nice pool, a beautiful and underutilized exercise room and a coin laundry. There's a vinyard on the grounds and the wine is pretty good. The restaurant is good with traditional American cooking, but overpriced. But then you have to drive that 25 minutes to go somehere else (which you should do -- try the Center Cafe in Moab for superb fusion cooking).

The staff is friendly and knowledgable about recreation options and can help arrange horseback riding and rafting. There are many many other options in Moab, but the Lodge is a convenient place to make your arrangements. The housekeeping staff does a great job although you may have to remind them to leave bathroom supplies. There are a limited number of rooms and cabins for people who bring pets. (You're probably better off leaving your dog at home, because dogs aren't allowed on trails in tne national parks -- not even leashed dogs. And anyway it's hot and dry on those trails.)

There are a few odd things missing. There' no screen on the slider to the deck, so at night if the lights are on, a few insects come in. It's the desert, so you won't be covered with moths or eaten by mosquitos, but it's an omission. The drawers in the kitchen don't have drawer pulls. A simple wooden know would be helpful. The table on the deck is set up to mount an umbrella, but there's no umbrella provided. The living room in the cabins could use an extra upholstered chair.

Despite these omissions, we rate the place as Excellent. If you want nice, pleasant accomodations and stay close to wilderness rather than sleep in a strip mall in Moab, stay here.

  • Liked — Distance from Moab
  • Disliked — Distance from Moab
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msandman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

This hotel is quite amazing. It's one of the only hotels that I know of that is located within feet of the mighty Colorado River. The hotel staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. The rooms are clean, nicely furnished, and each has it's own view of the river and of the red rocks. The hotel has lots to offer (restaurant, winery, horse rides, pool, tours, movie museum, etc.). The hotel is located off of Hwy 128, 15 miles from Arches National Park and from downtown Moab. This Hwy has been written up in many travel magazines as the most scenic and beautiful in the nation. I highly recommend spending the money to stay here over any other place in Moab. Also, we ended up doing the Canyonlands by Night boat tour, a bit touristy but a must do if you ask me!

  • Liked — The scenery, being so close to the Colorado River, and the rooms.
  • Disliked — It's a bit of a drive to Arches National Park but I would still stay here again!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank agentburgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2008

We had passed the Red Cliffs Lodge on our way from Grand Junction, Colorado to Moab, Utah. I remarked to my husband that it looked like a great place to stay. On our way back to Grand Junction three weeks later we had the opportunity to stay there for two nights. The room was huge, clean, comfortable, and quiet. The view from our private patio was of a creek which emptied into the Colorado River about a block away. The food in the restaurant overlooking the Colorado River and the namesake red cliffs was excellent. Every member of the staff with whom we dealt was friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Charleen Radley, the manager of the Wine Tasting Room for the on-site winery, was the best wine expert we met on our entire trip. Red Cliffs Lodge was a great way to end a wonderful vacation in southern Utah. We'll definitely put it on our list of places to which we will return.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TrainTravelWins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

I stayed with a friend in a queen riverside cabin for five nights. The surroundings are incredible--the red cliffs, the river, the horses grazing in the center of the complex... and everything was so quiet, it felt very peaceful but energizing at the same time. On our last night we had dinner at the cowboy grill and the sunset lighting up the cliffs was awesome.
The cabin was nice. Nothing too spectacular on the inside, but should certainly fulfull your needs. Other posters have commented that you should bring paper towels if you plan to use the kitchenette and that is true.
The restaurant was good and was actually probably the best meal we'd had during our trip. All of the Red Cliffs Lodge staff that we encountered were friendly and efficient. My friend enjoyed the pool area and the horseback ride.
It was about a 30 minute drive into Moab and to Arches, not to be missed! Overall we really enjoyed Moab and the Red Cliffs Lodge.

  • Liked — The beautiful surroundings
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nataliej99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2008

If you are looking for a good value, don't stay at the RCL. They seem extremely proud of their property, without making you feel at home or welcome. Lots of signage, rules, and policies make the RCL feel harsh and cold. Their 'in-season' rates are outlandish for what you get. Perhaps their 'off-season' rate is more reasonable. The amenties in the room are poor to average, with dirty glasses, poor lighting, average bed comfort. The coffee was awful - for $200/night, wouldn't you expect a good in-room coffee? And the 3 inch-long bug that greeted us in the bathroom didn't help either. The room was average for cleaniness; the internet connection was horrible. The winery tasting room was something we looked forward to, but we were treated like aliens. We found the RCL too large, lacked 'real' and 'genuine' personality. Western Fake. If you are looking for more down to earth, relaxing, serene, and peaceful accomodations that embrace what Moab is all about, we would recommend the Castle Valley Inn. The RCL might be good for large families with children, family reunions, etc. But not for couples looking for peaceful getaways (especially if you don't like the big tour buses idling outside your room).

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Overpriced.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Cycleready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Property: Red Cliffs Lodge
Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing