We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2008

This property is located on an amazing piece of property. The scenery is incredible and the room we stayed in was right on the Colorado River. All of the employees were friendly and live in the area which is helpful when seeking directions, activities, etc. We spent some time talking to the wranglers who both take care of the horses and lead trail rides and were impressed with their care of the animals and their friendly manner. However, the room we stayed in could have used a thorough cleaning. The patio was full of spider webs and had not been swept in a very long time. The bed was not very comfortable and the room could use some updating. There was no screen on the patio door which was a shame since it would be great to keep the door open rather than use the A/C. The food at the restaurant is fair, at best. If you visit, take some time to go through the museum in the basement. I had no idea how many movies had filmed in Moab.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank aprilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,907)
There are newer reviews for Red Cliffs Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,364 - 2,370 of 2,907 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2008

The Lodge is in an absolutely beautiful setting and is remote but convenient to Moab and Arches National Park. Our cabin appeared to be brand-new (I don't know if they all are) and it was pretty and very clean. We put a mom in one room, a mom and young child in another room, and a teenage boy on the sleeper sofa in the family room. The water out of the faucets is safe to drink but full of minerals, so the Lodge has installed special faucets that provide filtered water. The A/C worked well on a hot afternoon, and we used the gas fireplace one cold night. The food at the Lodge was very good, but not great. They arranged a half-day rafting trip for us with Moab Adventures and we had an absolute blast. James and Derrick were the two college-age guys we interacted with on the rafting trip and they were so nice and wholesome, we just loved them. My petite nine-year-old daughter had a wonderful time rafting and felt strong and proud of herself at the end. The half-day trip was about 2.5 hours for us (the river was high and fast) and that was just right. The pool at the Lodge is nice but cold and there is no food or drink service.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CAHBoulderCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

My wife and I planned a two week vacation from Pa to the southwest. We looked at the Red Cliffs Lodge pamplet and it really looked beautiful. We were very disappointed when we arrived because on that day the weather was changing and because the parking lot was not paved it was very dusty. It started to rain and the dust quickly turned to a red slime mud as we transfered our suitcases from car to our room.
As we opened our room door there wasn't a mat (just a tile floor)and now we have mud on the floor in our room. We checked out the room and found our own personal plunger in the bathroom when the sewage backs up. Our shower curtain smelled of mildue. The drinking cups were sitting there not wraped in plastic. They also wanted us to reuse the towels to save water.
The thing that irritated us the most was we arrived at 3pm and wanted to use the pool and hot tub to relax but couldn't because of bad weather. They need an indoor pool and hot tub like all of the other motels. They didn't have any vending machines and the restaurant was closed and it had a limited menu and hours. We should have ate in Moab before we drove out to Red Cliffs.
Our room cost us 195.97 and they didn't even have a complementary breakfast in the morning. All good motels give you an expanded breakfast in the morning. The cost of their breakfast was 10 dollars per person. When we checked out in the morning another couple was complaining to the manager and we should have complained also but I didn't at that time.
I am complaining because for 200 dollars a night I expect more. If I would stay at a motel 6, I would expect less. This place is way to expensive for all that you get and remember that the view is free.

Stayed: May 2008
3  Thank 71Z28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

This place was absolutely amazing. We found it by reading the reviews for the Sorrel River Ranch, which is just up the road. The reviews said that Red Cliffs was just as nice for half the price and we found this to be dead on. We drove up to Sorrel to check it out, and while it is beautiful, we found the view at Red Cliffs better and the atmosphere more relaxed. Red Cliffs is more of a real ranch feel, with a rustic look. We unfortunately did not get to partake in a lot of the activites they have as my wife is pregnant, but we will definitely do them them next time. The restaurant was good. The food was great and the view is of course incredible. Our room was a King River Suite, #405, which apparently has one of the best views. The Colorado River was right off our back porch and had geese and beavers hanging out. I have to be honest, I was not impressed with their website as it just doesn't do the property justice, they should update it. It would be nice if the pool was heated, and hot tub was a little too hot, but still nice. The wines they make on-site were great. The staff is very friendly. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2008

The Red Cliffs Lodge is about 15 miles out of Moab, on the Colorado River. Its location outside Moab is both an advantage and a disadvantage. Moab does have all the stores and recreation services you could ask for. It was a nice little town 30 years ago, but it's an ugly strip mall today.

Being away from all that is great, but you have to drive 25 minutes to get from the Lodge to Arches Nat'l Park or to Moab. It's about 50 minute's' drive from the Island in the Sky section of Canyonlands Nat'l Park.

There's a main building with the restaurant, bar and sitting area. The lodge's rooms rooms & cabins are strung out in a line facing the Colorado or facing a creek that separates the lodge from the small ranch next door. We (4 adutts) stayed in a "queen cabin" facing the river - two bedrooms each with a queen beds, bathroom, small galley kitchen, living room/breakfast area and a deck facing the river. The view from the main lodge is truly spectacular, especially from the afternoon to dusk. The cabins and rooms look directly across the Colorado at a steep red cliff which is very nice but the view from the room is not the photo you see on the web site -- that's the view from the main building.

The theme is rustic, but everything you need and almost everything you're likely to want are there including both wired and wireless free broadband, a large bathroom and comfortable but somewhat sparse furniture. The kitchen in the cabins is quite adequate for making a light breakfast. (There's a microwave and small refrigerator, but no cooktop, so... no scrambled eggs.) There's a nice pool, a beautiful and underutilized exercise room and a coin laundry. There's a vinyard on the grounds and the wine is pretty good. The restaurant is good with traditional American cooking, but overpriced. But then you have to drive that 25 minutes to go somehere else (which you should do -- try the Center Cafe in Moab for superb fusion cooking).

The staff is friendly and knowledgable about recreation options and can help arrange horseback riding and rafting. There are many many other options in Moab, but the Lodge is a convenient place to make your arrangements. The housekeeping staff does a great job although you may have to remind them to leave bathroom supplies. There are a limited number of rooms and cabins for people who bring pets. (You're probably better off leaving your dog at home, because dogs aren't allowed on trails in tne national parks -- not even leashed dogs. And anyway it's hot and dry on those trails.)

There are a few odd things missing. There' no screen on the slider to the deck, so at night if the lights are on, a few insects come in. It's the desert, so you won't be covered with moths or eaten by mosquitos, but it's an omission. The drawers in the kitchen don't have drawer pulls. A simple wooden know would be helpful. The table on the deck is set up to mount an umbrella, but there's no umbrella provided. The living room in the cabins could use an extra upholstered chair.

Despite these omissions, we rate the place as Excellent. If you want nice, pleasant accomodations and stay close to wilderness rather than sleep in a strip mall in Moab, stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msandman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

This hotel is quite amazing. It's one of the only hotels that I know of that is located within feet of the mighty Colorado River. The hotel staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. The rooms are clean, nicely furnished, and each has it's own view of the river and of the red rocks. The hotel has lots to offer (restaurant, winery, horse rides, pool, tours, movie museum, etc.). The hotel is located off of Hwy 128, 15 miles from Arches National Park and from downtown Moab. This Hwy has been written up in many travel magazines as the most scenic and beautiful in the nation. I highly recommend spending the money to stay here over any other place in Moab. Also, we ended up doing the Canyonlands by Night boat tour, a bit touristy but a must do if you ask me!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank agentburgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

We had passed the Red Cliffs Lodge on our way from Grand Junction, Colorado to Moab, Utah. I remarked to my husband that it looked like a great place to stay. On our way back to Grand Junction three weeks later we had the opportunity to stay there for two nights. The room was huge, clean, comfortable, and quiet. The view from our private patio was of a creek which emptied into the Colorado River about a block away. The food in the restaurant overlooking the Colorado River and the namesake red cliffs was excellent. Every member of the staff with whom we dealt was friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Charleen Radley, the manager of the Wine Tasting Room for the on-site winery, was the best wine expert we met on our entire trip. Red Cliffs Lodge was a great way to end a wonderful vacation in southern Utah. We'll definitely put it on our list of places to which we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TrainTravelWins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
741 reviews
9.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 35 in Moab
1,358 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range: £112 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing