We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic, relaxing, would return.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rustic, relaxing, would return.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

The Red Cliffs Lodge in Moab, Utah was wonderful. We added a night because we were so mesmerized by the view and the laid back atmosphere...just what we needed after riding the highways with two young children for several days.
When we came into Moab, I never saw the first sign indicating how to get to this property (it may have been just on oversight on my part). Luckily, we had a Garmin to tell us where to go. It is extremely remote - 16 miles out approximately - so if you are wanting to be in on the shops & nightlife...turn around. If you enjoy peace & relaxation & really desire no entertainment other than God's creation...stay!
The hotel staff was excellent. They give you fresh cookies upon check-in & it was just a "homemade" touch that I felt was nice. Our first two nights were in a River Suite - one King & a sofa sleeper, which is fine. The room was spacious & clean. The view was to die for! We loved it so much we immediately requested a third night but had to change to a Queen Creekside room. We were thrilled to get the third night but a little disappointed with the view after where we had come from...still nice though. The second room was not nearly as clean, but no complaints because we were glad to be there!
The kitchen area was adequate & we did go into town to a nice grocery store & buy some food items.
The patio could have been spruced up somewhat, but who cares what you were sitting on when the view you were taking in was out of this world!
The pool area was nice. The water was really cold, but enjoyble. They had beach towels available in the room for you, which was very nice.
I did use the laundry facility....again, no complaints!
We did not get to ride horses...but we visited the stable and the staff there were congenial and lovely to talk with. The horses were in great shape & if I ever go back...I will do this.
We did go on a whole day rafting trip with Moab Adventures (I think)...whoever the hotel uses...& it was fun & definitely adventurous. A little scary for those that are not used to such but something you showed try. The best part for Mom??? The lunch provided by the Lodge - very filling & delicious! Our guide was a young man named John who was fun & knew about the area. He did a great job as a guide!
We ate supper @ the restaurant our last night. We sat outside & enjoyed the view & was pleasantly entertained by our waiter, David, who is from our neck of the woods originally. We enjoyed conversing with him & the food was good.
Bottom line...if you want scenery, peace, relaxing, rustic & ranch-like qualities...you have hit the lottery, man!

  • Liked — The scenery, the King suite, the staff
  • Disliked — More remote than expected, but it was okay.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgiaBellablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,907
    572
    115
    42
    9
See reviews for
865
1,200
63
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

The Red Cliffs Lodge is really a special place nestled in some of the most beautiful canyon scenery in northeast Utah. We loved pretty much everything about our recent stay -- the rooms are large and well-appointed, the food in the lodge is excellent (and there are good kid choices), the pool is large and the perfect temperature for the weather, and the scenery really can't be beat. This is a property that does not cater to very young children (e.g., no cribs, a rather sad-looking 'playground'), and I'm pretty sure our 2- and 5-year-old were the youngest kids there. Nevertheless, our kids loved the big room, big pool, and big backyard. Our 2-year-old also got a huge kick out of the bighorn sheep statue in the lobby.

  • Liked — scenery, room size
  • Disliked — breakfast buffet
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank welovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2008

This property is located on an amazing piece of property. The scenery is incredible and the room we stayed in was right on the Colorado River. All of the employees were friendly and live in the area which is helpful when seeking directions, activities, etc. We spent some time talking to the wranglers who both take care of the horses and lead trail rides and were impressed with their care of the animals and their friendly manner. However, the room we stayed in could have used a thorough cleaning. The patio was full of spider webs and had not been swept in a very long time. The bed was not very comfortable and the room could use some updating. There was no screen on the patio door which was a shame since it would be great to keep the door open rather than use the A/C. The food at the restaurant is fair, at best. If you visit, take some time to go through the museum in the basement. I had no idea how many movies had filmed in Moab.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aprilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2008

The Lodge is in an absolutely beautiful setting and is remote but convenient to Moab and Arches National Park. Our cabin appeared to be brand-new (I don't know if they all are) and it was pretty and very clean. We put a mom in one room, a mom and young child in another room, and a teenage boy on the sleeper sofa in the family room. The water out of the faucets is safe to drink but full of minerals, so the Lodge has installed special faucets that provide filtered water. The A/C worked well on a hot afternoon, and we used the gas fireplace one cold night. The food at the Lodge was very good, but not great. They arranged a half-day rafting trip for us with Moab Adventures and we had an absolute blast. James and Derrick were the two college-age guys we interacted with on the rafting trip and they were so nice and wholesome, we just loved them. My petite nine-year-old daughter had a wonderful time rafting and felt strong and proud of herself at the end. The half-day trip was about 2.5 hours for us (the river was high and fast) and that was just right. The pool at the Lodge is nice but cold and there is no food or drink service.

  • Liked — The privacy of having our own cabin and the beautiful setting along the Colorado River.
  • Disliked — Freezing pool.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CAHBoulderCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

My wife and I planned a two week vacation from Pa to the southwest. We looked at the Red Cliffs Lodge pamplet and it really looked beautiful. We were very disappointed when we arrived because on that day the weather was changing and because the parking lot was not paved it was very dusty. It started to rain and the dust quickly turned to a red slime mud as we transfered our suitcases from car to our room.
As we opened our room door there wasn't a mat (just a tile floor)and now we have mud on the floor in our room. We checked out the room and found our own personal plunger in the bathroom when the sewage backs up. Our shower curtain smelled of mildue. The drinking cups were sitting there not wraped in plastic. They also wanted us to reuse the towels to save water.
The thing that irritated us the most was we arrived at 3pm and wanted to use the pool and hot tub to relax but couldn't because of bad weather. They need an indoor pool and hot tub like all of the other motels. They didn't have any vending machines and the restaurant was closed and it had a limited menu and hours. We should have ate in Moab before we drove out to Red Cliffs.
Our room cost us 195.97 and they didn't even have a complementary breakfast in the morning. All good motels give you an expanded breakfast in the morning. The cost of their breakfast was 10 dollars per person. When we checked out in the morning another couple was complaining to the manager and we should have complained also but I didn't at that time.
I am complaining because for 200 dollars a night I expect more. If I would stay at a motel 6, I would expect less. This place is way to expensive for all that you get and remember that the view is free.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank 71Z28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2008

This place was absolutely amazing. We found it by reading the reviews for the Sorrel River Ranch, which is just up the road. The reviews said that Red Cliffs was just as nice for half the price and we found this to be dead on. We drove up to Sorrel to check it out, and while it is beautiful, we found the view at Red Cliffs better and the atmosphere more relaxed. Red Cliffs is more of a real ranch feel, with a rustic look. We unfortunately did not get to partake in a lot of the activites they have as my wife is pregnant, but we will definitely do them them next time. The restaurant was good. The food was great and the view is of course incredible. Our room was a King River Suite, #405, which apparently has one of the best views. The Colorado River was right off our back porch and had geese and beavers hanging out. I have to be honest, I was not impressed with their website as it just doesn't do the property justice, they should update it. It would be nice if the pool was heated, and hot tub was a little too hot, but still nice. The wines they make on-site were great. The staff is very friendly. We'll definitely be back!

  • Liked — The views, the staff, the food
  • Disliked — Fix the wireless internet
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2008

The Red Cliffs Lodge is about 15 miles out of Moab, on the Colorado River. Its location outside Moab is both an advantage and a disadvantage. Moab does have all the stores and recreation services you could ask for. It was a nice little town 30 years ago, but it's an ugly strip mall today.

Being away from all that is great, but you have to drive 25 minutes to get from the Lodge to Arches Nat'l Park or to Moab. It's about 50 minute's' drive from the Island in the Sky section of Canyonlands Nat'l Park.

There's a main building with the restaurant, bar and sitting area. The lodge's rooms rooms & cabins are strung out in a line facing the Colorado or facing a creek that separates the lodge from the small ranch next door. We (4 adutts) stayed in a "queen cabin" facing the river - two bedrooms each with a queen beds, bathroom, small galley kitchen, living room/breakfast area and a deck facing the river. The view from the main lodge is truly spectacular, especially from the afternoon to dusk. The cabins and rooms look directly across the Colorado at a steep red cliff which is very nice but the view from the room is not the photo you see on the web site -- that's the view from the main building.

The theme is rustic, but everything you need and almost everything you're likely to want are there including both wired and wireless free broadband, a large bathroom and comfortable but somewhat sparse furniture. The kitchen in the cabins is quite adequate for making a light breakfast. (There's a microwave and small refrigerator, but no cooktop, so... no scrambled eggs.) There's a nice pool, a beautiful and underutilized exercise room and a coin laundry. There's a vinyard on the grounds and the wine is pretty good. The restaurant is good with traditional American cooking, but overpriced. But then you have to drive that 25 minutes to go somehere else (which you should do -- try the Center Cafe in Moab for superb fusion cooking).

The staff is friendly and knowledgable about recreation options and can help arrange horseback riding and rafting. There are many many other options in Moab, but the Lodge is a convenient place to make your arrangements. The housekeeping staff does a great job although you may have to remind them to leave bathroom supplies. There are a limited number of rooms and cabins for people who bring pets. (You're probably better off leaving your dog at home, because dogs aren't allowed on trails in tne national parks -- not even leashed dogs. And anyway it's hot and dry on those trails.)

There are a few odd things missing. There' no screen on the slider to the deck, so at night if the lights are on, a few insects come in. It's the desert, so you won't be covered with moths or eaten by mosquitos, but it's an omission. The drawers in the kitchen don't have drawer pulls. A simple wooden know would be helpful. The table on the deck is set up to mount an umbrella, but there's no umbrella provided. The living room in the cabins could use an extra upholstered chair.

Despite these omissions, we rate the place as Excellent. If you want nice, pleasant accomodations and stay close to wilderness rather than sleep in a strip mall in Moab, stay here.

  • Liked — Distance from Moab
  • Disliked — Distance from Moab
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msandman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#6 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Property: Red Cliffs Lodge
Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing