We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Taylors Island, Maryland
1 review
“Unbelievable Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

The River Queen cabin was wonderful! Spacious and comfortable. Beautiful setting, All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us good directions and suggestions of how to maximize our visit. The Cowboy Grill on site was excellent. Horseback riding was cool (and even made non horse lovers have a good time!). Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flatlander451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,930
    580
    115
    43
    10
See reviews for
882
1,214
63
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

While on a tour of several National Parks in the Southwest, my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Red Cliffs Lodge for 2 nights. Located some 14 miles from Moab, UT and situated along side the Colorado river, this lodge is one of the best we have stayed at. Our two level suite opened out to a specacular view of the red cliffs on one side and the swift flowing Colorado river on the other. Even though we stayed there in mid-October, we were still able to enjoy a glass of wine on the patio at the end of the day and ate outside at the restaurant. The lodge has a very friendly and attentive staff, a restaurant with a great breakfast buffett and a varied evening menu of fish, fowl and meat offerings. The 14 mile drive from and to Moab is both a positve and a negative. It is far away from the noise and traffic of Moab but far enough away that you don't want to drive the beautiful but swisting road more than a couple of times per day. We highly recommend Red Cliffs Lodge to both couples and familes and would definately stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyShore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

The worst part of staying here is that you have to leave to see the sights, but the sights are just as good at the hotel. The setting of the hotel is stunning, in a lush narrow canyon that is surrounded by walls of red rocks. Add the running rapids of the Colorado River, and it just does not get any more beautiful than this.

We stayed in a two bedroom cabin along the river. The rustic interior and heavy use of wood is just what you want while staying in this location. The cabin consisted of one large main room overlooking the river with the entrance and a desk at one end, couch, TV, and fireplace, in the middle, and table for four and a kitchen area at the other end. The kitchen had a small refrigerator and microwave, but no stove. From this room a sliding glass door opened to a large private deck with a table with four chairs plus two lounge chairs. The two bedrooms were smallish, about the same, with a bathroom between them. These rooms had windows overlooking other cabins and the gravel road that brings you to the cabins which are lined up in a row along the river, about a 3-6 minute walk to the main building of the hotel. Our only two complaints about the cabin was that the sliding glass door did not have a screen so we could not leave it open to hear the river because a few bugs would get in. Second, it would have been nice to have a coffee table in front of the couch for convenience and to a fill a large empty space.

We really enjoyed our time in the cabin, watching the river go by and having some light meals at night. A lot of guests seem to be gone most of the day, so if you get back a little early you can enjoy the place on your own including some daylight as the sun sets early behind the red rocks. During our free time we walked along the river and past the horses that are housed at the hotel in a large field. We also took advantage of the warm weather to enjoy the large pool that was barely warm enough to swim in, but there is also a nice hot tub if you cannot handle the pool water temperature. Both have great vistas of the canyon along with the large patio around the pool. There are other activities at the hotel to keep you busy too.

We had one dinner meal during our stay in the main dining room of the hotel. This rustic and charming room has a scenic view of a bend in the river, and if you get there before sunset you are in for a real treat. There are also tables outside and no matter where you sit, you will have a view. Our meal was very good, but we had to order a heavier meal than we really wanted because there were very few light choices. The restaurant menu is a little fancier then the overall hotel. We had breakfast here each morning. It is reasonably priced and it is a buffet with a good selection of hot and cold choices. Our only complaint was that the hot choices were the same each day of our stay.

There are also two computers in the lobby to check your e-mail.

The hotel, which is really set up as a sprawling motel with a simple rustic look, is a real treat to stay at and a place we will always remember. It is not luxurious, but it is very nice and the setting is truly something special. It was hard to believe where we were staying because the location was just so beautiful and amazing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Collins
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

Was sent here by the local HI that was sold out. The Inn is 14 miles from Moab, and I thought I had been sent to the Gates of Hell - instead I arrived at a truly wonderful property. The room had 2 bed, a full kitchen, and porch, big screen TV, coffee maker, and a wired internet hookup. The rooms are very large! Fod was excellent - great selection, excellent wine list. The views are truly breathtaking. Bring your camera or you will be sorry. Now those wanting a Motel 6 and $49.00 price need not make the drive. But if you want a fantastic experience, at less then you would pay at many Interstate Holiday Inn's, then please make the 14 mile trip. You won't regret it. I will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26statemobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

I experienced this facility during an adventure race and can't say enough about the lodge staff. They could not have been more helpful! They preemptively offered everything they could to the racers, race volunteers and race staff. The amenities were outstanding and the decor in the lodge and rooms was top notch. There is ample event space and a winery on site. The views were spectacular and the restaurant on property boasts great food and service. This is a unique getaway offering plenty to whisk visitors of any age and with any interest away for a relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skier28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Red Cliffs is so beautiful. We stayed for two nights while exploring Arches NP. Our room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. We enjoyed the small kitchen and dining area. We carried out dinner from the restaurant each night to eat in our room, very relaxing. Wine from the vineyard is good! It is a good 15 miles from Arches so we had to keep that in mind as we prefer to be "home" before dark. Hot tub was a welcomed activity after hiking. Be sure to see the museum.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

This place was great!! You cant go wrong in such beautiful surroundings and the stay made it even better!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fasfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
8.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Property: Red Cliffs Lodge
Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing