We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place but nothing fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A decent place but nothing fantastic”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This hotel met our expectations but wasn't "amazing" or memorable in any way. I'd say if you need a place to stay its perfectly acceptable but if you want a more memorable trip I'd pick a more unique place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view if there is a view at all to be seen. We didn't have a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Beth D,

Thank you for your review of your stay at our hotel. I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    386
    121
    46
    25
See reviews for
361
380
44
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
369 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here this past weekend and for the most part it was everything we have come to expect of an Holiday Inn Express...nice, comfortable, clean room and a great breakfast. It does feel a bit pricey --would be a better value if it, at least, had a microwave and mini-fridge. Hopefully they will get those in the newer rooms they are in the middle of constructing.

I read the other reviews, after our stay, and I agree that the walls are very thin but thankfully we didn't have noisy neighbors or experience any late-night construction in the two nights we stayed there. (So maybe they got the clue about that) Our biggest disappointment was the surprise that the swimming pool and hot tub were closed and under construction. That would seriously be something I would like to know when I book a reservation. I would have loved to have been given the heads up about that so I didn't waste any extra time packing or the extra space in our little car. I'd recommend calling first and asking if the pool and hot tub is done/open yet...it doesn't look like it will be anytime soon. :(

Also, you may want to know that the fitness room is under construction.

As for the breakfast... there was a large variety of foods to choose from: pre-made omelettes, French toast, bagels, cereal, granola, bacon or sausage (depending on the day), and my favorite cinnamon rolls! And yes, the juice was watery.

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the years and would stay here again. It would be nice if this hotel was closer to all the great shops but we don't mind the short drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esteph55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Esteph55,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience the pool renovations and room walls may have caused. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

the price of the rooms are to high for 2 beds 200.00 no micro,no frig. we always stay at holiday inns .walls are paper thin . its the first and last time for moab inn . its located on edge of town if you want to shop you have to drive in town to do so Not Recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Chris P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am disappointed to read that the room accommodations you were given did not live up to expectations. Your comments are will be reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken to rectify unsatisfactory circumstances.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This place was ridiculously loud all night long. Sound like a construction zone. They were remodeling the lower level all night long. I called the front desk about 3 AM to find out what was going on. They claimed they did not know what was going on. The girl at the front desk said she would go and make her rounds and find out. I never heard back from them. The noise continued throughout the night. I believe they were trying to get all their remodeling done before the busy tourist season at the expense of the guests staying there that night. Non-caring staff and construction zone made my stay a miserable experience. Beware if you book a room with them. They should have disclosed they were tearing the place apart. I paid close to $200 for a room there, which was a total rip off.

Room Tip: Way overpriced and a complete mess. Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear jeff h,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re deeply sorry for the inconvenience and discomfort you have experienced due to the on going renovations and level of noise encountered. We take all reviews positive or negative very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We value you as our guest and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel is VERY under construction, but the customer service is pathetic. I have stayed at many holiday inn express hotels and this one is not at all what I expect from this chain. The rooms are clean and the construction noise was not a problem. The laundry facility wasn't working and filthy, smelled of mildew and had powdered detergent left in them,when I went to the front desk to report it she told me that they were fine that someone just used them and didn't believe me until I took her down to see it for herself. The breakfast was poorly managed, at 8:00 in the morning there were empty pans, no spoons or forks, and tables filled with people waiting for them to get refilled. No juice, the girl that was working there acted oblivious to what was going on. We waited for 10 minutes before we ventured out to find something elsewhere. The restroom in the lobby had a toilet but no sink for washing hands (yuck). I think this team of employees needs to be retrained on Customer service. Next time I will stay at the best western.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Rose F,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor service from our staff and for the poor breakfast management. We will address these points. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The hotel looks fine from outside, but looks like they are renovating inside. They had no internet for 3 days. Every day they said that they were trying to fix it without giving any expected time to fix it. The breakfast was below average with the juice being heavily diluted with water. The mattress quality in the room was bad. Further there was no microwave or refrigerator in the room - All this for 120$ a night is a very bad value. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Hubbleflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Hubbleflow,

Thank you for taking the time to write our property a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I apologize for falling short of your expectations especially with the internet service, room accommodations and breakfast you received. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for your feedback. I hope to have the chance of serving you soon and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Hotel sits a couple miles north of Moab. Entrance is a bit tricky. Rooms were clean and breakfast was what you would expect at a HIE (a good thing). One interesting thing that stood out in my mind was they have a large bike storage locker in the lower level. A bit pricey, but everything is in Moab.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenegadeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Address: 1515 Hwy 191 North, Moab, UT 84532-2096
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#9 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the banks of the mighty Colorado river sits the Moab Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Artistically decorated, this three story, 79 room hotel is surrounded by the majestic red rock cliffs of southeastern Utah. All of our rooms and suites are beautifully appointed for business or pleasure. Each room has a 27' television, free wireless internet access, two line phones with voicemail, coffee maker, irons, and ironing boards. The one and two bed suites include a queen size sleeper sofa, refrigerators and microwaves. The Moab Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features the express start breakfast with a complimentary copy of the USA today to get your morning off right. Just a short drive by car brings you to the entrances of Arches and Canyonlands National Parks. For the more adventuresome, how about you at the wheel of a four wheel drive in the rugged back country experiencing awe inspiring scenery. If four wheels are to tame, consider two wheels on the infamous Slick Rock bike trail, or show no fear rafting the white water rapids of the Colorado river. Whether your looking for a relaxing weekend away or a week full of adventure, the Moab Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the place to be in South Eastern Utah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Moab
Holiday Inn Express Moab
Holiday Inn Moab
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing