We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room - thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The river canyon lodge is conveniently located between the city park and downtown. The front desk help was polite and friendly. The lodge is a plain place to stay like a motel six. Our room was clean and odor free. The bed and pillows were fine. The sheets and towels were clean. There was plenty of hot water. The microwave was not powerful enough to pop popcorn. The TV was an old analog tube, but it worked (I don't go to Moab to sit around watching the TV anyway). I thought the walls were very thin, I could hear normal conversations in the adjacent rooms. If we would have had late-night party types next door it would have been a bad night. It was the cheapest room left in town on a busy weekend so it worked.

Room Tip: Book Moab rooms early.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pleinairdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
There are newer reviews for River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

When you see lodge next to a name you visualize a serene setting with great views. Unfortunately, River Canyon isn't much of a lodge, more of an Inn. Days Inn, Holiday Inn, you get the picture. The rooms were very small but clean. In Moab you spend very little time at your "Inn" anyway so as long as the beds are comfy and the room is clean who cares. We went in early June so it was hot. The pool was a welcome site after a long day hiking in Arches.

Room Tip: If your looking for a Moab feel, seek another Lodge.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyP-upsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Motel was clean, adequate and dated. 3 story building with a swimming pool. Room is divided down the middle with a bar that contains a mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker. We found it a bit awkward. TV was old school projection mounted high in middle of room, similar to that or an old hospital room. It did the ability to pivot it one direction or another. Towels were thin and rough. Beds were not the worst, but not the best. Walls were thin. The staff was friendly and helpful. This motel is ok and was rated as high as it is due to the fact that the room seemed clean.

Room Tip: Book way in advance
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed in 7 different hotels/inns during our two-week trip through the desert southwest, and this was the worst!! Stayed three nights and couldn't wait to get the heck out of there. Beds/pillows so uncomfortable, only gave you one pillow each, clean towels were grungy looking and threadbare. Rooms so tiny you could barely move. Very outdated looking and dingy. We spent the previous two nights at a different inn, as we had to split up our time between the two, and for what you payed at the other inn versus what you got for your money at Canyon River Lodge, the other place was a much better value.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bun55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Hotel is a 3-storey building with an elevator, lots of parking, and an outdoor swimming pool. Our room had 2 queen beds, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, powerful AC that quickly cooled the room in the hot summer, and free Internet. Good supply of towels and toiletries, the TV was an old style 27” tube model that was placed on top of a very tall dresser and angled down towards the beds - weird looking and gave us a good laugh but it didn't fall down. There is also a computer with printer in the lobby that you can use for free, plus all-day complimentary coffee and tea there.

Hotel location is great, on a side road just off the main street in Moab, you can enjoy the surrounding fantastic landscape and scenery, and easily walk to all the area stores, restaurants, conveniences and attractions. Moab of course is a great staging place for trips to the area National Parks and attractions - Arches, Canyonlands, the Colorado river, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mr_cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Booked this hotel eight months in advance as Moab seemed to be very busy
Place is very tired looking and needs refurbished ,staff on arrival uninterested and no smiles or eye contact. Room was ok but not worth 150 dollars per night.Would not stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Remember Microtel's? Well, this is exactly what this hotel formally was! Filthy carpets in room, noisy AC and the room was TINY! The microwave filthy too along with the mini fridge. Free coffee in lobby was horrible and no coffee maker in room (but no room to put one in there anyway)! Trying to get on internet IMPOSSIBLE when hotel was crowded. The night male manager unfriendly and unhelpful, he was too busy playing games on his phone! Moab is beautiful enjoy it and do not stay here!

Room Tip: Stay at another place!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillZ0849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#21 of 35 in Moab
850 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
0.9 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#27 of 35 in Moab
360 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Moab
Motel 6 Moab
#31 of 35 in Moab
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bowen Motel
Bowen Motel
#17 of 35 in Moab
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites

Address: 71 W 200 N, Moab, UT 84532-2328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Price Range: £72 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value in downtown Moab. Modern 3 story hotel with elevator located in the heart of downtown Moab. Hotel guests can walk to many restaurants, bars, art galleries, and native retail stores.We offer Free Wi-Fi, large pool and Moab's largest hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Canyon Hotel Moab
River Canyon Moab
River Canyon Lodge Inn And Suites Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing