We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, but attracts a party crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice place, but attracts a party crowd”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We've stayed at River Canyon Lodge several times, most recently for two nights before and after a bike trip that happened to coincide with Jeep Week in Moab. The hotel itself is nice: very clean, friendly staff and the pool and hot tub are really appealing. Also, the hotel is in a quieter location than most in Moab, as it is off the main street and does not get a lot of road noise. You also receive a $5 coupon for the Pancake Haus which is awesome.

However, this hotel does seem to attract a party crowd: on both nights that we stayed during Jeep Week, we were woken up after midnight by drunken partiers screaming and running in the halls, bumping into our room door, etc. This would last for a few minutes and then stop (before it was worth calling the front desk), but as a very tired family returning from a long bike trip, it was unpleasant. This may just be the reality of Jeep Week in Moab, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel during high season.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cmckayboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. Jeep Safari is an annual special event in Moab. Other time of year, our hotel is fairly quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    211
    177
    59
    44
See reviews for
132
256
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

After camping a few days my wife wanted to spend the night in a hotel. and our favorite ones were sold out so she made a reservation here. I arrived at the hotel at 1:15 or so from a bike ride with my helmet and gloves still on! I was told rather abruptly that check-in wasn't until 3:00 and the fellow didn't even check to see if a room might have been available. For $150 bucks a night for a standard room with two beds, I expected a lot more. So after I called my wife after my first rejection, I decided to check in anyway so as to avoid the perceived 3:00 rush. I spoke with a nicer lady who checked the computer and said, indeed, a room was ready and I could get it right away.

The room was clean but didn't pass my own test: If you pay over $100 per night, you shouldn't have plastic cups wrapped in plastic. There was no coffee maker in the room either, and no breakfast service, even though the web site said there was. I witnesses another customer VERY upset with this and they did nothing to fix it for him.

I get the feeling the owner is trying to squeeze every dollar possible out of the place without providing any value for what you are paying. We would have gotten a lot more value camping one more night! This was our first and last stay.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspenleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not have a good stay with us. We strive to offer good value with our prime downtown location. We do not advertise we have free breakfast, so please let us know if there is an error with 3rd party website that may have the error.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moab hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was a last minute booking due to a flight cancellation. The room was very reasonably priced and clean. It is close to town which makes it very convenient for dining and shopping. If you are looking for a decent, inexpensive hotel to spend the night while you spend most of the day outdoors this is a very good option. If you plan to lounge in the hotel and relax for a couple of days in the hotel you may need something quieter and nicer.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nm323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a 10 day mini Utah Canyon trip, to have a taster of the Moab Canyon. Paid $70 per night. Overall, our stay here was ok and adequate for a one night stay. The place was nothing special but I wasn't expecting anything special. One thing I was unhappy about is that when we arrived after a long drive from Capitol Reef, the reception was empty and there was no one to be seen. We must have waited for 20-30 mins before someone showed up - not a pleasant experience especially when you're dead tired. Other than that, this place has all you need for a short stay - decent sized rooms, comfortable beds and pillows, plenty of hot water, and location that is quite central (provided you have a car).

Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. Sometimes our front desk staff has to step away to assist other guests. However, it should not have caused a 20 minute wait. We are very sorry and will share your experience with the desk staff to improve our guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

hotel room was clean and comfortable. we had a suite and def worth the extra money with a little kitchen counter and sink. Staff friendly and helpful. Location is close enough to walk to the center of town where restaurants are and an easy drive to Arches National Park.

Room Tip: the suite was great for being able to make our own sandwiches etc. worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I was there with a group and we all had different experiences with our rooms so I will just comment on my room. It looked like it had been recently remodeled--new paint, new wallpaper border, new mattress, and very clean. The staff was very friendly. The woman during the day was helpful as to places to eat. The man in the evening just described restaurants which were available. The room was small and if there was another person with me, we would have been crowded. Bathroom had a good shower head and the water was hot, but they skimped on the towels. One towel which wasn't very big, one face towel and 2 washcloths. Would I recommend it to a friend? I probably would say the same things as I have written here and let them make up their own minds.

Room Tip: This is advertised as an extended stay place, but evidently they have all sorts of rooms. Others in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annasplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights with a group and would seek better lodging on a future visit. Lots of updates are needed here (televisions, bedcovers, carpet, etc.). A mouse in our room was a first in any hotel and not a welcome visitor. Staff were both helpful and rude. What's good here is the location, the beds, free wifi and the plentiful parking, period; not much else. Even old TV in a relatively nice lobby. Recommendation: look elsewhere.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Biked_it_Liked_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for your helpful feedback. We will review your comments with the management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#22 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
0.9 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Moab
Sleep Inn Moab
#23 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bowen Motel
Bowen Motel
#16 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites

Property: River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Address: 71 W 200 N, Moab, UT 84532-2328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value in downtown Moab. Modern 3 story hotel with elevator located in the heart of downtown Moab. Hotel guests can walk to many restaurants, bars, art galleries, and native retail stores.We offer Free Wi-Fi, large pool and Moab's largest hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Canyon Hotel Moab
River Canyon Moab
River Canyon Lodge Inn And Suites Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing