We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Trust This Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do Not Trust This Hotel!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2008

I had made reservations for 2 bedroom suite 6 weeks in advance by phone with hotel staff. A confirmation number was given and proved to be worthless. Advised them we would be traveling by motorcycle and would be a late arrival. When we arrived, hotel had changed our reservation date by over 2 months. NO ROOMS AVAILABLE in the entire city due to an art festival. We had to drive south for over 100 miles to find a hotel. The last 35 miles through a heavy snow storm on motorcycles! Hotel clerk was a young woman that was good at stalling but that is all and manager was supposedly unavailable. They were no help at all. Put me and my traveling companions at great risk because of their ineptitude. Advise anyone to not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
3 Thank BlkHorsRdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    218
    193
    61
    48
See reviews for
139
279
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

Moab is a busy place &, unlike us, you need to book in advance. River Canyon Lodge was one of the few motels to have any vacancies as it is just off the main strip. The rooms are small and pretty basic. No breakfast is provided but it does represent fair value. Friendly staff.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moab hotels

Lewiston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2008

Booked the two bed suite on January 7 and was going to stay there on April 12 - 15 When a couple days before we were to arrive they called us and informed us that there computer had overbooked the room and we were out of luck. They did offer us a room with two queen and a single for the same price. Not sure how that would even make things right. We booked this room because of the space and deck and living area. We ended up getting a three bedroom condo for the same price thanks to Moabutahlodging.com. If you can I would suggest staying away from this place.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank tlmooers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Well, I'll start with the negatives. After first arriving in the room, we pull the the top blanket back on the bed and discover a large blood spot on it, then notice on both beds a large amount of hair on the top sheets. Then in the bathroom, it was obvious the toilet wasn't cleaned properly, both days we stayed, needless to say, the wife wasn't pleased with these things. This is too bad, because although the room was outdated, it was spacious as far as motel rooms go. Seperating the two queen beds was an island containing a good sized refrigerator and microwave, both big pluses in my eyes. The pool again, was good sized as far as motels go, with a connected jacuzzi, both were well heated. The ladies at the front desk both days were very friendly and very helpful. It's too bad housecleaning is draging this place down.

  • Liked — spacious room, frig, microwave
  • Disliked — room cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlinmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2008

I stayed here with my partner as a night's break from camping on the Colorado and was drawn by low rates and pictures on the website. I'll admit it: i'm more likely to stay at a place if they are cheap and have a fancy website. However the pictures of this hotel on their page were more favorable than the actual hotel.

We only stayed for one night in the cheapest room they had. Which was a tiny shoebox of a room in which most of the space was taken up by the queen bed. It had an interesting window seat and shelf behind the bed and a wall-sized mirror was above that. My largest complaint was the terribly squeeky bed. It squeeked loudly with just the smallest movement.

On the positive side, this hotel was very close to the main strip of Moab in which everything is within walking distance.

I would probably only stay at this hotel again if it was the cheapest option I could find.

  • Liked — the low price
  • Disliked — tiny room with awful bed
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roamingwildly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenia, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

This was a very nice motel located near downtown Moab. Very clean room and well eqipped. They do not serve breakfast, but offer coffee and tea throughout the day. Would stay here again

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy,MI
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2007

The River Canyon Lodge websight was quite the bit of ficton. Upon arrival it was one disappointment after another. There was nothing there that provided the "Lodge" atmosphere. It was more like an outdated days inn that sorely needed renovations. The only cozy feeling we felt was the darkness in the room due to one tiny window and light fixtures that did not work.
The room was extremely small and without the fridge and microwave that was advertised. Carpets were worn and furnishings shabby. The one one good thing...thankfully, we only booked for one night.

  • Liked — Convenient location, right in town
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Laine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#20 of 35 in Moab
827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
804 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
1.8 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bowen Motel
Bowen Motel
#17 of 35 in Moab
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites

Property: River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Address: 71 W 200 N, Moab, UT 84532-2328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value in downtown Moab. Modern 3 story hotel with elevator located in the heart of downtown Moab. Hotel guests can walk to many restaurants, bars, art galleries, and native retail stores.We offer Free Wi-Fi, large pool and Moab's largest hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Canyon Hotel Moab
River Canyon Moab
River Canyon Lodge Inn And Suites Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing