We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Broken Oar

The Broken Oar
Ranked #22 of 82 Restaurants in Moab
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Broken Oar Restaurant is the perfect Moab dining destination. Our wide variety of homemade food provides a great escape from the usual mass-produced chain food available. Come tap into something cold with one of our many draft beers, which includes a great selection of local brews, or if it's wine that fits the mood, you won't be disappointed as we have a great selection of local and imported wines. Our unique restaurant decor is best described as "cozy mountain cabin" meets "ski lodge." Relax by our stone fireplace in the cooler months or enjoy the warm atmosphere provided by our enormous outdoor deck If you are looking for a great spot to relax after enjoying the variety of Moab's activities, The Broken Oar is your place. The Broken Oar has a casual social atmosphere that is greatly enhanced by the excellent service provided by its staff
Greenwich, ct
Level Contributor
295 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The place is nice looking, the service was very good.
The BBQ was good, although not special.
Very good the signature sweet potato fries.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    291
    132
    46
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Plain food and awful service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The food was very plain, nothing special. It appeared when we were there that only one cook was available for the entire restaurant. We waited almost 90 minutes for our dinner. In the meantime we had to track down the server for an additional drink. When we she finally brought dinner she asked us, "was it worth waiting for"? The answer is an emphatic NO.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trip takker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good dinners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a fantastic dinner at the Broken Oar. The portion was way more than we needed so they are not stingy, and I will say the trout, potatos, and squash were very well prepared and tastey. My husbands steak was very tender so overall we were very pleased with this restaurant. We felt it was a bargin as each meal was only around $18 as I remember it and considering the portions and what we got, we felt it was a real bargin. There was no bread with the meal, but the salad was included so we were satisfied. We were there quite early so I don't know how service is when they are busy, but our service was very good. We also got a 10% off coupon from our hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarinet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOTHA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I had the Fish n Chips and my wife and daughter had the BBQ Brisket. The BBQ was like jerky for one, the other, was at least 40% fat. We know BBQ Brisket and this was some of the worst we've had. The Fish n Chips were excellent along with Sweet Potato fries.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank spyderman_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good, but is the crab special really available?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just like another reviewer we got a 10% discount coupon from Adrift Adventures with the additional recommendation about the $35 all-you-can-eat crab leg special (it was a Saturday). Good enough. Why not? Our rafting guide highly recommended it!

Got there at about 7:00 (our guide had warned that the special would be gone by 8, so we figured we were safe). We had to wait briefly upstairs and shortly thereafter were offered seats in the loft or out on the patio.

OK, the patio it was. Crab for three! As we were being seated our guide and others from AA were just arriving as well.

Our waitress said she would check as the crab was in great demand. A few minutes later and she returned to report that the last crab orders had just been given to the kitchen. Hmmm.

So, back to the menu. Ended up with the beef brisket. Home smoked. OK, but a little dry. Everybody else was happy but not ecstatic, all though the sweet potato fries (puffs? I don't remember the exact dish) were a big hit.

Short version - maybe it was just our bad luck, but I felt a little gamed that the very dish we came for an hour early was gone just before we ordered it. Got the discount but I wonder if our guide and party got the last orders of crab.

Just speculating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiloTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Broken Oar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing