We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Welcoming”

Castle Creek Winery
Ranked #46 of 96 things to do in Moab
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We produce Pinot Noir, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Chenin Blanc and Chardonnay. Using locally grown grapes, our winery has produced over 30 award-winning wines for your enjoyment. Castle Creek Winery currently produces over 8,000 combined cases of wine. Each bottle is filled, labeled, and boxed by hand on site.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
1 review
“Nice and Welcoming”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Castle Creek Winery is adjacent to the Red Cliffs Lodge. I found both to be very accommodating and friendly. The hostess at the winery was very informative and knowledgeable about all the store products, the surrounding area, and great places to eat in Moab. Although its a bit out of the way, I made a point to visit Castle Creek again on my way to NM from Utah. Worth the stop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Asia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    16
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location for wine tasting”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great location , Very nice building with a good selection of unique wine related gifts but the highlight is the wine ,it is quite good and it is east to see why it has won many awards .
We are partial to white wines and the chardonnay is now one of our favorites .
Surprising place to fine such a nice winery

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarleyTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, VA
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great wine tasting”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Taking the scenic route from Moab to Capitol Reef National Park, we happened upon this winery and decided to enjoy the scenery right along the Colorado River. The lady there was very cordial and since there were two of us, we each selected 3 different wines for tasting so we actually got to taste 6 cause we shared. It paid off cause we bought 6 bottles of wine, plus cheese and crackers to compliment the wine. The attached country club is also very nice and the public is allowed without membership.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GallivantingGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pick up at least 6 bottles of the wine!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

What a beautiful place! Along the Colorado River with the towering rock faces on either side and rafting or kayaking groups floating by, you can have a meal in the restaurant then go to the winery itself at the top of the entrance and taste the wines before buying them. The wines are surprisingly good, very good in fact, especially the red blends. Prices are reasonable and you are also tempted by a selection of cheeses and jams and jellies. Great little find and oasis in the middle of the desert.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdaPia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Reverse aging - drink red wine !!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

All members of our group of 26 just took another step to reduce aging, we drank red wine at the Castle Creek Winery near Moab, UT. This successful winery producing frequent award-winners is right on the property of the amazing Red Cliffs Lodge 14 miles east of town on the winding Colorado.
Red wine contains resveratrol and it's age-reversing properties, i.e. in appropriate quantities, red wine is very healthy for us. And there's plenty of it at Castle Creek under the direction of Charleen and Ray - both of whom can fill any position on the staff, and have; from front counter retail in the gift shop, all the way back to the beginning procedures of crushing and de-stemming of those tasty grapes.
Most of the grapes are either grown right on the property or very closeby, only a few are imported. But the imports come from no further away than Colorado, right next door.
Charleen always comes up with the nicest receptions for our group tastings in the accommodating confines of the banquet room, what a hostess she is !! No matter if it's cheese, sausage, crackers, fruit or her special treats of cream cheese with jalapeno jelly, it all allows the extensive sampling to become even tastier and more fun.
After the introduction, orientation, full tour and tasting -- I've yet to see anyone leave Castle Creek Winery less than delighted with the experience. You can make a purchase right there in the beautifully-decorated and appealing retail store, or have your wine shipped (to most any state), as I often do. There's a 3-bottle minimum, and the total cost still comes up short of $65.
I'll return with more groups this Summer and Fall to help continue the age-reversing process. If one of my next entries sounds like material written by a 20 year-old, you'll know where I've been. Feeling adventurous ?? Ask for the Outlaw Red.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank conradmilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Creek Winery also viewed

 

Been to Castle Creek Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing