We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat the view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moab Under Canvas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moab Under Canvas
Ranked #3 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Davis, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had some magical moments here. Had made reservations months in advance and the tent they selected for us was right by the road. With some negotiation and some extra money we ended up in tent 10 with a wood-burning stove and a shower and such. It was a lovely view of Arches in the distance, and a couple of nice flat rocks to do yoga on in the morning. There are definitely better tents in this facility and if you are looking for an away-from-it-all feeling this is a good one. The wood burning stove it fun. They light a campfire for you in the middle of the campground. They have a couple of BBQs spots you can use with chairs. The stars are amazing. Then the full moon came up right in front of us while we were sitting on our deck. It's camping, but barely. Staff around the grounds was sweet. Staff at the tent during the day... might have been friendlier. They don't want you to be early, but I'm so glad we were. Night staff was sweet. Want to go back, for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for the tents furthest back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darencole28, General Manager at Moab Under Canvas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Sharon

I’m happy to hear that the upgrade worked out well and we were able to provide a truly magical experience for you during your visit!

You did pick a great time to visit and the moon rise during your stay was simply amazing.

Take care and thank you again,

Daren

Daren Cole
General Manager
Moab Under Canvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    113
    47
    21
    17
See reviews for
128
166
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I was so excited at the idea but started regretting it from the beginning. the directions sent with the confirmation were wrong and I had to drive more than half an hour to find it: a dirt road on the hwy with a sign not visible from the road. from the pictures everything seemed nice and clean but the tent are gray and everything feels dirty. the shower did not work properly. breakfast costs a lot. there is nothing close by if you want to eat: Moab is 13 miles away. a couple of guys were kind and helpful whil the girl at the reception seemed bored and didn't even listen. all in all a huge disappointment!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElisadeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darencole28, General Manager at Moab Under Canvas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Elisade

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I'm so sorry we did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to provide a truly unique and memorable positive experience for each and every one of our guests.

We have upgraded the lighting on our entry sign to make the location much more visible from the highway at night.

If you find your way back to Moab please contact me directly so that we may have another opportunity to exceed your expectations and provide the exciting and memorable experience you were looking for.

Thank you again,

Daren

Daren Cole
General Manager
Moab Under Canvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We reserved a tent with a shower, sink and toilet inside. The room was really comfortable even given the fact that there was no electricity. Little battery lamps provided plenty of light, though taking a shower in the dark was interesting. The bed was really, really comfortable, and the sky view from the front porch was great! It is in a beautiful location; however there is a busy, noisy highway nearby that you don't really notice in the day time but you do hear at night. It really didn't bother us though and I would definitely go back. I charged my devices in the car on the way to and from Arches. My husband left his to charge in their main tent overnight. They provide coffee and tea in the mornings and you can buy a breakfast to be delivered but we went into Moab for our meals.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darencole28, General Manager at Moab Under Canvas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Sandra

Thank you for the review and I'm so happy to hear you had a great visit!

It sounds like you got to enjoy the full glory of the camp during your stay and enjoyed the luxury of one of our deluxe units and we look forward to your next visit!

Take care and thank you again,

Daren

Daren Cole
General Manager
Moab Under Canvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab, Utah
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel opened less then a year ago so I think they still have a few things to work out. Having said that, we would definitely stay there again. We had a tent with a bathroom, shower, and front porch. There is no electricity or air conditioning but sleeping in the night air was incredibly comfortable. If you have a solar charger, bring it. Otherwise they have a charging station at reception.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrysquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darencole28, General Manager at Moab Under Canvas, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and experience.

You are correct in the fact that we just opened on April 4th of this year and have hosted just over 4,000 guests to date! I learn something new each and every day with the intent of how we can continue and enhance our customer service, delivery and create a unique and memorable experience.

Thank you again,

Daren

Daren Cole
General Manager
Moab Under Canvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Fantastic view of Arches park and starry skies! This is THE place to stay if you want something more adventurous but don't feel like hauling camping gear. We have two kids, so we stayed in a deluxe tent with a shower/toilet attached, and a tipi adjacent. We had a king bed inside, with a dresser, two chairs and a coffee table. We had a deck with two reclining chairs, perfect for stargazing. The kids' tipi had three cots and plenty of space. The staff is wonderful, and they provide towels, washcloths, linens, soap, shampoo, and battery-operated fans and lanterns. You have an option to order breakfast and lunch (huge portions), and there is always water, coffee and tea available. We highly recommend Moab Under Canvas!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERHARTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darencole28, General Manager at Moab Under Canvas, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
I'm thrilled that we were part of your summer adventure and provided a great basecamp for your Moab excursion!

It sounds like you got to experience everything that Moab Under Canvas and the surrounding area have to offer.

We can't wait to see you during your next visit out west!

Take care and thank you again for providing us the opportunity to host your family,

Daren


Daren Cole
General Manager
Moab Under Canvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at this new site for 2 days in April. It had just opened the week before and was going through some understandable growing pains. The company had been running similar camps in near Yellowstone and Glacier national parks and was starting an expansion near Arches national park, with potential for additional facilities near the Grand Canyon and Zion. The facility has a number of campsites consisting of larger multi-person tents with enhanced amenities and a number of teepees, holding 3 cots, sleeping bags, a lantern and a couple of chairs. The sleeping bags provided enough warmth, even though temperatures dipped into the 30’s during the night.

The site is located about 7 miles north of the entrance to Arches national park, and just north of the turnoff towards Canyonlands national park. The camp is just east of the highway accessed by a paved road which trails off into a hard-packed dirt road at the facility entrance. There are no other facilities in the immediate area so plan your stay so that you stock up in Moab prior to arriving at the camp. Moab is approx. 13 miles to the south.

There is a registration tent near the parking lot with complementary coffee and tea available most of the time. No campfires are allowed at the sites, so a warm cup of coffee was appreciated in the morning. Lunches for the next day can be ordered at the registration tent and available the following morning to pack along on your sightseeing adventures.

One of the first problems they had to deal with is the wind in this new area of the country. The week before opening, winds were clocked at over 60 mph necessitating some redesign of the facilities. In fact, while we were there, there were gusts over 40 mph, that shook our teepee so much that we had to move our cots to the center a bit to avoid being ‘snapped’ by the side of the teepee. The teepee was solidly connected to stakes in the ground so This was not a huge problem.

There is a communal facilities trailer consisting of a number of private units, each with a sink, flush toilet and hot shower. The water in the shower was activated by pulling on a chain and stopped flowing when the chain was released. The was clearly a way to conserve water and was not a problem at all. The only slight inconvenience is that the one trailer with 6 units couldn’t handle the capacity of all the campers during the peak afternoon hours, thus, you may have to wait 10-15 minutes for your turn at a room. Clean towels are provided in a tent next to the trailer, and there are shampoo and soap dispensers in the showers.

No WI-FI was available at the site, though the staff said they were investigating the option. I had intermittent cell coverage which did not prove to be a problem. I did not see any other amenities.

The experience is somewhere between staying at a motel and actual camping. If you like the idea of ‘roughing it’ a bit under the stars but rather not deal with the hassle of tents, stoves, and primitive toilet facilities, this is a great choice. If you fall on either side of that spectrum, there are other options around Moab for you. We were happy that we made the choice and found it to be a unique change of pace. I’d recommend Moab Under Canvass for the adventurous in spirit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnZ-SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darencole28, General Manager at Moab Under Canvas, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
John

Thank you for the thorough review! I’m happy to say we just passed our 2 month anniversary and we have served just over 4,000 guest to date. I think you hit our target demographic perfectly and with those expectations our guests are having a wonderful time!

We do have our communal fire pit for evening gatherings for all on site and have recently added 3 in-ground BBQ pits and have two additional grills for guests to use for their evening feast.

We continue to improve on the flow and coordination for the showers both in the morning and afternoon and are looking at additional options to improve on this aspect of the camp.

I hope you are able to return soon to see the continual enhancements and changes we are implementing based on feedback such as yours.

Take care and thank you again,

Daren
Daren Cole
General Manager
Moab Under Canvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in a teepee! The teepees were clean simple and spacious. The hospitality crew was friendly and extremely helpful. They put us on a golf cart and gave us a four of the camp and helped us with our luggage. The teepee was probably the best deal in Moab for $60/night. It truly was so much fun! We just opened up the teepee and we were camping , no messing around with set up or take down. Sleeping bags and liners were clean. Tent interiors were clean and so was the showering facility. Be prepared for a pull string water flow. This is still camping but a lot easier. Rumor has it Darryl Hanna stayed here last week. Have fun!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieHuxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darencole28, General Manager at Moab Under Canvas, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Susie

Thank you for the kind words and I'm happy to hear you and the family had a great experience!

I can neither confirm nor deny the rumors!

Take care and I hope we see you back here soon,

Daren

Daren Cole
General Manager
Moab Under Canvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
13.3 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#6 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
9.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
8.8 mi away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moab Under Canvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moab Under Canvas

Property: Moab Under Canvas
Address: 13784 N US-191, Moab, UT 84532-9617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moab Under Canvas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moab Under Canvas is located 7 miles north of town. Just moments away from the entrance to both Arches National Park and Canyonlands National Park. The camp blends into its dramatic surroundings where deep canyons and towering plateaus create a raw landscape of immense power. This is no traditional camp site. This is camping as it should be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Moab Under Canvas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moab Under Canvas Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing