We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So bad we left after 20 minutes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Moab
South Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“So bad we left after 20 minutes”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I hate to write very negative reviews but this will be one.

The Greenwell Inn is a motel with a nice, newly renovated reception area.

Problem 1: one staff member at the desk during checkin times (3-5pm)
Problem 2. first room we were assigned stunk and the carpet was badly stained
Problem 3 2nd room was like the first

Staff was nice and offered a yet another room or a discount. Frankly, by that time we couldnt get the stench from our noses or the stinging from our eyes.
Rather than clean carpets they drench them in odor-cloaking chemicals that make the masked stench even worse. Unbreathable, can't be healthy. Not a value at any price

We were fortunate enough to find another hotel, much nicer and cleaner, withing 30 minutes of checkin here. Staff tried to accommodate us but the 2 rooms we tried were just nasty.

For the sake of the Best Western chain, I hope the two rooms we tried were not typical of the hotel. If they are, Best Western should come and rip their logo right off the building.

The lone front desk employee did his best but nothing can make up for poorly maintained, filthy, malodorous carpets soaked in sweet smelling chemical.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dive4Blood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We apologize you did not have a good experience at our hotel. Our staff works extremely hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment for our valued guests. We apologize we did not meet your standards. We are happy to learn our desk clerk was able to assist you with room change and when you were still dissatisfied, he was able to find a happy solution for you. We appreciate and value your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    385
    209
    75
    45
See reviews for
329
455
45
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Spent 2 nights here as base for visiting Arches and Canyonlands NPs. We had spacious, quiet comfortable rooms - rather beige - but equipped with hairdrier, efficient air conditioning and a fridge. There's a good open air swimming pool, a laundry (two out of three driers not working), free internet access and a fitness room.
Breakfast (nothing special) is available at the adjacent restaurant - but beware, it's not open on Sundays. Not the best Best Western, and a bit characterless, but equally nothing to compain about, and good central location in the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Because of weather and on our motorcycles. I had to change my hotel from Cortez, CO to Moab, UT. I choice this Best Western but did not have an opportunity to look at the reviews on the road with Tripadvisor. I wish I had and chosen the other Best Western in town. The person whom I checked in with had no customer service skills and was not much of a help. It was like pulling teeth to get answers and his answers were not forthcoming. Also for the price NO breakfast included. Not even a continental breakfast. Not sure how this place made it as a Best Western Plus. I chose the first floor because of health issues. That was a mistake. I have heard nothing but people walking on my head all day and night. I do not recommend this place and I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room. Also get one close to the ice machine. It's all the way down at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riderlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Our hotel offers a bed and breakfast package. We apologize that our front desk receptionist did not have the opportunity to reply to your breakfast concern. Had we known, we would have offered you our bed and breakfast rate. Our rates are typically $20 to $30 lower than other places that provide hotel breakfast. Many of our guests feel that can find a better breakfast for less in town than to spend $20 to $30 more for a standard hotel breakfast. We apologize for any inconience you had with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Spent 2 nights here as part of our fly-drive holiday and it is a motel type hotel.
Room was clean and the beds comfortable but the decor was dated and quite dark.
We slept well and there was very little noise as our room was set well back from the main road.
The hotel is very central but it does lack atmosphere as there is no breakfast room or bar in the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room well away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_T2646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and most importantly, we are happy to know you had a good stay with us. Our hotel offers direct guest room access. Many who come to Moab area appreciates such design as it is more convenient to load/unload from a car. Our loyal guests also appreciates the many tress that provide shades in our landscaped parking to Moab's hot summers. Nonetheless, all enjoys our central downtown location. We hope to see you again in Moab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

I was a little skeptical to stay here after reading some of the reviews, but I am glad we did! We were promptly greeted at the front desk, and checked in under a reservation made online. Keys were programmed for us ( I ought to mention here that they have updated all of their locks to RF keys, so no more sliding a key to maybe get in). Upon entering the room, I was astounded at how clean it was. The renovation is obviously complete. The room had nice wood fixtures and complete crown moldings throughout the room. It felt very comfortable, and secure. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are happy to know you had a fantastic stay with us. We hope you had a great time in Moab and that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

When all the renovation will be completed.
For now, I - a BW gold Elite- expected more from a "PLUS" BW hotel.
For starters: the lower lever rooms are super noicy.
Early check out travelers are dragging suitcases and don't use lower voices...so ask for an upper level room.
NO breakfast? what's up? EVERY BW I stay has some sort of Breakfast included.
Why should I go next door the the Chinese restaurant?
Beautiful rooms, great service...too bad.

Room Tip: If you don't have to check out early, be sure to ask for an upper level room. Do not go for brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlingdearest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreicate your stay with us and recognizing our great value. We hope you will come stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Part of the hotel was being rebuilt. The car park entrance was restricted. The reception desk (in a bedroom) service wasn't great. There was no breakfast (at the hotel, but plenty nearby). The room was very dark. Otherwise fine.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnGM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Your posting comments are from several months ago. Our hotel's new public area enhancements are now completed. We have also improved the lighting wattage in our rooms because of the suggestions from our other guests. We apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We invite you back to stay with us and see our new facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
2.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
Address: 105 South Main Street, Moab, UT 84532-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Moab
#10 Romantic Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully Italian Mediterranean architecture hotel in the hub of downtown Moab. We offer a relaxing and comfortable oasis stay in Downtown Moab. Hotel sits quietly along Moab's Mill Creek parkway. Moab's only hotel with in/out creek Trail access. We are in town center within easy walking minutes to Moab's many dining, shopping, and cultural places. Hotel features a large heated pool (seasonal) and hot tub, Free Wi-Fi, guest coin-up laundry, and a fitness room. Our guest rooms are professionally designed with either 1 King or 2 Queen beds (some with French door open out balcony). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Greenwell Hotel Moab
Best Western Greenwell Hotel
Best Western Moab
Moab Best Western
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing