We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was excellent. A little bit expensive compared to other hotels we stayed in on our travels. The room was large with two queen beds. Clean, comfy, with a large sitting area. The bathroom had two areas with a wash basin in each. Very conveniant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Situated just off Moab main street the hotel was very central. Breakfast was included in the price and they had a good selection. We had alovely swim in the heated pool. All in all excellent. No complaints.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road. There is a junction near the hotel which can be a bit noisy. This...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoabHotelier, Manager at Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review. I think that one of the best features of our rooms is the fact that they do have two vanity areas. The convenience of this amenity really adds to the overall comfort you experience while staying with us and I am happy to hear that it was such was the case for you. Please think of us in the future.

Thank you,
Cheryl Covey
BEST WESTERN PLUS
Canyonlands Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,757)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,324 - 1,330 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Not too easy to find first time as it sits a little back from the main road. We didn't try any other hotels in Moab but were well pleased with this one. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable and the hotel deserves top marks for its approach to recycling. Most rooms look out on to the car parks so there are few, if any, rooms with views.The pool was still under its winter cover which made it somewhat less attractive. There was (in march 2012) some building work going on at Reception but it didn't intrude into our stay. The upstairs breakfast room is being extended over reception and when finished will provide a superb outdoor but under cover breakfast room with views over to the surrounding hills. When we were there it seemed that some of the breakfast food (fruit and bagels for example) ran out quite quickly so it might be best to take breakfast early. Apart from this the range of food both hot and cold was good and frequently replenished.
The hotel is situated more or less in the centre of Moab so is well positioned for shops, the information centre and restaurants. It is also well placed for the Arches, Canyonlands and Dead Horse Park. The reception staff (particularly Michaela and her colleague) were very helpull particularly in identifying restaurants with gluten-free menus.

Room Tip: Most rooms face car parks so it is best to ask to see the room first if that is important to you.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petenbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoabHotelier, Manager at Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. I am always pleased when our guests notice our efforts to be more Eco-friendly. In 2009 we decided that as a hotel in such a natural location; we would make if one of our primary goals to lessen our impact on the environment. As a direct result of our efforts we have gained industry recognition. We will also continue to better our efforts as the opportunities present themselves. I am happy to inform you that the new breakfast/ lounge patio is complete. The new space has added so much to the overall relaxation of our guests. Not one days goes by that I do not see someone out there enjoying a drink and a book or the company of good friends and family. I hope that we have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Warm wishes,

Cheryl Covey
BEST WESTERN PLUS
Canyonlands Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Unless you're going really high end (Sorrel Ranch), there just aren't a lot of options in Moab. That said, this is an OK choice - all things considered. It's a Best Western, so you know going in that it's going to be pretty mediocre ... and it was. The rooms are clean but rather dated. The breakfast is average. The location is solid ... steps to the main drag of Moab and a couple of decent dining options (Pasta Jay's and Peace Tree) right outside the door. Parking situation is fine, staff friendly enough. LOTS of families with children ... which equated to LOTS of noise. We could hear everything in the hallway and adjacent rooms (whether it was just folks talking loudly or kids screaming). Internet slow. Price is much higher than it should be for what you get - but I guess that's how it goes in isolated towns.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellen0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoabHotelier, Manager at Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We get a lot of comments about how convenient our location is, I am glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of it as well. Please think of us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Cheryl Covey
BEST WESETRN PLUS
Canyonlands Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent two nights here and found it to be a very good place, although it was really expensive compared to other Best Westerns we've stayed at. All the hotels are expensive in Moab, though. The bed was very comfortable and the room was qute large. Everything was nice and clean and we enjoyed the breakfast. The only complaints I had were these: the parking is very tight, the price was high, and the internet service was very frustrating. It took a long time to load and when I called the front desk they said I needed to call the provider. I talked with a gentlemen who said there were a lot of people using the internet and watching Netflix at the time. It still was slow at other times of the day, and it was very disappointing, especially given the price of the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hendersonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoabHotelier, Manager at Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.


Kind Regards,

Cheryl Covey

BEST WESTERN PLUS
Canyonlands Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed in one of the family suites for four nights. First of all: the family suite we had is essentially one big dark room, which means there is no privacy or possibility to accommodate different sleep/wake needs for the different members in your party: the King size bed faces the two queens. The entrance area to the room features a kitchenette and three seater leather sofa and a table that seats four next to a gas fire place. This area is actually pretty nice, but it has no separation from the bedroom that would allow the older people to do something after the kids are off to bed. The reason for this is that the entrance area is the only area with windows. The bedroom essentially is a three bed dark room with a sky light and an emergency egress door to the back.

The "suite" features only one bathroom/shower-tub. Thus, considering that this place could in theory sleep six, there is clearly not enough bathroom capacity there.

Unfortunately, this place is not only not very functional, it comes with a bunch of pretty hefty nuisances: the family "suites" are in a building separate from the rest of the hotel OVER a restaurant. I guess the rationale here is that people with kids don't get any decent sleep anyway, hence putting them over a restaurant, kitchen, refrigeration room where even when the restaurant traffic has finally died down and when the kitchen has finally been cleaned and the garbage thrown out in the middle of the night, the air handlers and refrigeration equipment will continue their humming and rumbling all through the night until early morning when the deliveries and the breakfast crew start to crank up the noise again. Next: someone thought that having lamps burning on the outside these suites all night would be a great idea but failed to install curtains on the inside. Which means it is hard to get "lights out" - the roman shutters don't do the trick...

Third: the breakfast is disgusting - all processed food, crowded, thin coffee, no cooked oat meal, really the most unpleasant breakfast experience of all the hotels that we stayed in during this trip. Fourth, the most appaling room service experience in several years - of note: that makes it worst out of several hundred hotel stays: think "really really lousy. Haven't experienced anything like this even at backpackers: The only recognizable thing the room maids did, was wipe out the sink and replace towels that were on the floor. Empty shower gel bottles weren't removed, towels weren't folded, the kitchenette are wasn't tidied, coffee wasn't replaced - but the room cleaning tip was taken every day.

Finally, the price during the days of our stay was their rack rate, because the town was invaded by the Jeep Safari. Almost 400 bucks for this room and service level is a total rip and not only that, they even charge the full amount to our credit card on the day of our ARRIVAL; even if you hated the room and acted on it, they would have your money - this is not your usual preauthorization but the real charge. This makes me think that the management anticipates a considerable flight risk and makes sure they have you nailed the moment you walk in the door.

In summary: on our road trips we hit the occasional Best Western, which never has been an experience that would justify the term "Best" anywhere in their brand. This was our first Best Western Plus: which was clearly PLUS on the room rate and PLUS on the disappointment. I would adamantly recommend to stay away from this place and really don't want to know what the others are like if this is one of their better establishments - as is advertised.

Room Tip: don't book the family suite
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Finke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoabHotelier, Manager at Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is our goal to see that each and every guest has the most satisfying stay and leaves knowing that we did our best. I apologize that we were unable to do that for you. I wish I would have had the opportunity to make your unpleasant stay better before you left the property. Without the issues being brought to our attention during your stay we were unable to remedy them. I invite you back to visit us and assure you; given the chance we will not disappoint. Thank you again for your time.


Respectfully,
Cheryl Covey
Marketing Director
BEST WESTERN PLUS
Canyonlands Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel is definitely overpriced, but so is everything in Moab. I was not expecting much more than functional out of a Best Western, but this hotel worked out great. Staff was friendly. Beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast actually included pretty decent eggs, which I never expect from a free continental breakfast. We even got some fresh chocolate chip cookies on our second evening in the lobby. We were located on the back side of the hotel and did not face the the pool (which was closed but due to open soon when we were there). Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you can't carry your own luggage down a couple of stairs, you will need to stay on the first...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CincyWahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Positives - it was clean and convenient. You can walk to lots of restaurants and shops in the heart of Moab.

Negatives - Bring your earplugs - Man our room was noisy! Next to the pool, people yelling well past pool curfew. Trucks and other load vehicles driving by even later. Then the sanitation department picking up garbage around 7am. There's free breakfast, but it's the standard rubber scrambled eggs. Skip the freebie and go next door to The Peace Tree.

Kind of overpriced, but I get it, it's in an awesome location among so many awesome national parks.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are super noisy! Ask for a room in back.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eortman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoabHotelier, Manager at Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

I would first like to apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay. The pool does close at 10 p.m. and the noise level is significantly reduced at that time. We have called the sanitation company and have arranged a later pick up for the trash at the Peace Tree. Again I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

Respectfully,
Cheryl Covey
BEST WESTERN PLUS
CANYONLANDS INN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
9.3 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 35 in Moab
2,913 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Moab
Hampton Inn Moab
#8 of 35 in Moab
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn

Address: 16 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Moab
#3 Family Hotel in Moab
#4 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#4 Green Hotel in Moab
Price Range: £70 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Canyonlands Inn located in the heart of downtown Moab, Utah. If you're planning a vacation to Arches National Park or Canyonlands National Park this is the hotel for you. Our Location at Center and Main St. Is within walking distance of many local restaurants and souvenir shops. A short drive will get you to many of Moab's finest attractions including: Arches National Park, Canyonlands National Park, Dead Horse Point State Park, Mountain biking, Road biking, Hiking, White water rafting and off road 4-wheel drive adventures. The Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn proudly offers 80 spaciously appointed, non-smoking guest rooms that have been recently remodeled. Guests will wake each morning to a delicious complimentary full hot breakfast buffet. This Moab Hotel's additional amenities include: seasonal pool and year-round jacuzzi, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour guest laundry, complimentary high speed internet access, children's playground and secured bicycle storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Hotel Moab
Best Western Canyonlands Hotel
Best Western Moab
Moab Best Western
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing