We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay. Still a winner!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Moab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
az
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Our second stay. Still a winner!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This B and B continues to provide a high quality experience.
Location: a 6-7 minute drive south of downtown, on a quiet neighborhood street, with lovely views of the surrounding area. Easy safe parking.
Breakfast: Always something homemade and healthy, e.g. French toast with cconut topping, pancakes with berry topping, omelet. Plus yogurt, toast, cereals, fresh fruit. Hot drinks. You sit family stye with the other guests and learn about the area.
Open kitchen: Fridge is stocked with yogurt, cold beverages, ice and is always available.
Computer available for guest use. Hot tub outside.
Bedroom was nicely decorated, very clean, had lots of plugs for our gadgets to charge. Large closet with small refrigerator. Our room, the Sunrise, also had a bathroom with a large double sink, good lighting, bathtub. Flat screen v with DVD player.
The owners are always available, live on site,and are happy to help with day planning. Anna even did our laundry which had accumulated during our trip. What an unexpected treat!
Many thanks to Anna and Vic for being such gracious hosts.

Room Tip: Sunrise , a corner room, has nice mountain views, 2 dble beds. They also have a larger room for fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertHillsBnB, Owner at Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much Hereford for the nice review.
It was great to have you guys back at our home, we hope to see you again soon, maybe next year, we have a few other spots for you to check out!
Thank you again
Vic , Anna and Andre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    25
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
83
294
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was our first time staying at a bed and Breakfast and while there was some trepidation to begin with, once there all fears were calmed. Vic and Anna were wonderful hosts and we had a wonderful time. The location was just right for us as we preferred the quiet of the desert to the hustle of being in town.

When we arrived we were offered either a discount on the room we booked or an upgrade to the Sunset Room at the same price we paid. We took the suite and were very happy with those accommodations. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large and the shower/whirlpool tub was very nice.

Vic is an excellent chef creating delicious breakfasts and was very helpful with what and where to visit and when.

We spent one evening in the hot tub under the desert stars and that was a wonderful end to a delightful day.

Not being an expert on B&Bs we have nothing to compare it to, but this experience will certainly not be our last. We would highly recommend the Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesS916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertHillsBnB, Owner at Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for the great review, Charles!
It was very nice to meet you and your wife I certainly appreciated the chats before the breakfast! We are very happy that your first experience at a B&B was a positive one . Hopefully from now on you'll be tempted to experience more B&Bs and enjoy the diversity of this type of family run establishments.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thank you again.
Vic, Anna and Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Our second visit to Moab led us to the Desert Hills B&B, based on reviews on Trip Advisor. While not a “poor” or “terrible” experience, it was far short of a 5 star one and atypical of the gushing reviews here. The B&B is located about 3 miles outside of Moab in a residential neighborhood. Part of the fun of a bed & breakfast is the charm and character of the home and accommodations. The home is a tri-level that was simply converted to a B&B, and felt like you were staying at Aunt Martha’s thin-walled home, complete with a set of stringent rules.

Our room was clean and comfortable, but very basic. They do offer laundry service which appears to be a big selling point for travelers. The property and views were very nice as it’s located on several acres. The friends and family room had a separate rear entrance and offered more privacy and its own porch. On the downside, there is a room directly above and one wall backs to the kitchen.

Breakfast, while presented nicely, fell short of similar B&Bs. On both mornings, the entrée consisted of one item (eg. Pancakes). Missing were sides, meats, etc. There is a station where you can have breakfast cereal and toast (yogurt is also available), but this is typical fare for any basic motel. This is the first B&B we’ve stayed where all of us left breakfast still hungry. I’m not sure if it was an intentional ‘vegetarian only’ menu that was being imposed, but it was not enjoyable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Daytonablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertHillsBnB, Owner at Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Daytonablue,
Thank you so much for taking your time to review us on Tripadvisor, it is very appreciated and important to us.
We are very sorry that our Home did not work for you and we were unable to hear any of this comments from you when you were here.
We really appreciate how in detail you described exactly how our Bed and Breakfast is set up, the description of the Friends and Family Suite and also the description of our breakfasts which indeed are not high in saturated fats but plenty of options for a fresh and healthy start of the day.
We apologize about the rules that we have at our Home, but it is our home and it is the home of the thousands of people that come and stay with us each year, and one of the most important things that we like every guest to respect are the quiet hours ( 10 pm to 8 am)
If you scroll down and read some of the answers that I constantly post after the reviews of our bed and breakfast you'll read :
As I mentioned in the past reviews it is important for us that our future guests reading this great reviews understand that our Bed and Breakfast is nothing but our Home, in a residential neighborhood south of Moab, where we offer accommodations in a family friendly and relaxed environment.
We hope the many great reviews about our home won't be deceiving to some of our future guests who may be expecting too much from us or from our place.

That said , we thank you for coming and staying with us on your second visit to Moab, we hope next time you'll find accommodations that much better suit your needs
We also thank you for explaining in details to all of our future guests that rely on Tripadvisor
what to expect and to find at our Home when they come and stay with us.
Thank you again
Vic, Anna and Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The best Bed & Breakfast that I have ever stayed. Vic and Anna are fantastic hosts. We occupied almost the whole house in October during the shut-down. Anna was a great help and offered us tons of alternatives to replace our original plans. We ended up in not missing the NP of the Arches and Canyonlands which were both closed and spent 3 wonderful days to do some hiking (the Negro Bill Canyon trail), took a boat ride along the Colorado River, visited the awesome Dead Horse Point etc. etc. Anna even booked the restaurants for us. They have a beautiful place. The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated. They also have nice porches where you can relax. Vic spoiled us with his warm dishes every morning. You really feel at home at their place since we can use the small living room with computer access and the fridege. We are welcome to help ourselves with the various soft drinks in the fridge. Anna even offered to do the laundry for us with no extra charge. There are enough places to go to in Moab that we regret that we didn't stay more than 3 nights. Wonderful experience with the Desert Hills Bed & Breakfast. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiuMui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertHillsBnB, Owner at Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you so much SiuMui for the very nice words in your review.
We are so happy you enjoyed your time here at our Home and were able to have a great vacation even with the National Parks being closed at that time.
It was great to meet you and show you around
We hope next time you come you'll be able to spend more time here and get to visit the Parks.
As I mentioned in the past reviews it is important for us that our future guests reading this great reviews understand that our Bed and Breakfast is nothing but our Home, in a residential neighborhood south of Moab, where we offer accommodations in a family friendly and relaxed environment.
We hope the many great reviews about our home won't be deceiving to some of our future guests who may be expecting too much from us or from our place.
Thank you again
Vic, Anna and Andre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Vic and Anna offer a very clean and peaceful place to stay in Moab. Vic is an excellent cook. Anna excels at providing their guests with travel information on Utah. We shared the travel information with our friends and neighbors (senior's baseball team), and they greatly appreciated Anna's advice! They definitely go the extra mile for their guests! We wish we would have stayed there one week as there is so much to see.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Sunset room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertHillsBnB, Owner at Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Hi Don!!!
Thank you so much for your nice review!!!
It was great having you here, we had a fun time chatting away , we really enjoyed your presence here at our home!
We really hope to see you again when your travels take you back to our little corner of the World.
Vic, Anna and Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goddard, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Vic and Anna are wonderful hosts. We stayed in the Red Rocks room - very comfortable king size bed and everything was so clean and fresh smelling! We had something different for breakfast every morning for five days and each creation was wonderful. They were almost completely booked each day, so there were interesting people to visit with at breakfast every morning. Anna customized our agenda for each day, making us feel extra special. This is the place to stay in Moab!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnightHawk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertHillsBnB, Owner at Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear KnightHawk9
Thank you so much for taking your time to review us on TripAdvisor,
It was our pleasure having you here for the longer period of time, we really like when our guests are able to pend 5 or 6 nights here or even longer, it gives them a chance to really enjoy and explore the many things that our area has to offer besides the Great National parks of Arches and Canyonlands.

As I mentioned in the past reviews it is important for us that our future guests reading this great reviews understand that our Bed and Breakfast is nothing but our home, in a residential neighborhood south of Moab, where we offer accommodations in a family friendly and relaxed environment.
We hope the many great reviews about our home won't be deceiving to some of our future guests who may be expecting too much from us or from our place.
Thank you again,
We hope to get to see you again in the near future!
Vic, Anna and Andre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Vic and Anna are great hosts. Vic is a talented chef and they both really seem to have a passion for sharing the great things to do in the area. Anna gave us great restaurant recommendations for the two nights we were there. She even called to make our reservation for us. My wife and I even were able to use the hot tub underneath the fabulous Utah stars after a long day of hiking. I highly recommend Desert Hills!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
3.9 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
716 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,328 reviews
9.9 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 35 in Moab
2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
804 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
3.7 mi away
Cali Cochitta Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast

Property: Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1989 Desert Hills Dr, Moab, UT 84532-3329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is situated in a quiet residential area that offers our guests a relaxing coziness of a home like feel. From our backyard you can unwind amidst the sounds of nature enjoying the commanding views of stunning red rock formations and snow-capped mountain peaks. Desert Hills Bed & Breakfast is just minutes from downtown, Arches National Park, Canyonlands National Park, Dead Horse Point State Park, and just a short walk from Moab’s Golf Course where you can play 18-holes in one of the most visually appealing courses in the state. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Hills b&b
Desert Hills Hotel Moab
Desert Hills Bed And Breakfast Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing