We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Moab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Angeles, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hosts!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Anna showed us around and told us to help ourselves to coffee, tea, or cookies at night. The home cooked breakfasts were amazing. Vic made most of them but when Vic was gone Anna did an amazing job as well.
Anna was a gift from God when it came to arranging times and dates so that we could do everything we wanted in such a short time.
It was very hard to leave but rest assured if we go back, we will be staying here.
Thank you Vic and Anna for making our time so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rock room. It had it's own personal bathroom and close to the door for in and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaze39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    25
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
84
296
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This is by far the most home-away-from-home type experience I've ever had with a B&B. The room feels like a bedroom, not a hotel room, and in the mornings, Vic and Anna prepare a wonderful, home-cooked breakfast for everyone. The huevos rancheros are the best!! The conversation around the breakfast table was so enjoyable that many of us lost track of time and ended up leaving later than we'd planned!

The wifi speed is very good, there are laundry facilities available, and if you're tired out at night from hiking, biking, or the myriad other outdoor activities nearby, you can relax with a movie (they have a TON!) or in the hot tub.

Come for the breakfast, stay for the convivial company and home-like welcome!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Anna is right in her notes on trip advisor - you are staying in her home! Vic and Anna and their son Andre are great and stay out of your way while making you feel at home. Breakfast was delicious and they offer an "open kitchen" with soda, fruit, yogurt, juice, etc. The room was quiet - good thick carpeting. I was nervous at first to be a true guest in their home, but they're were so lovely and accommodating without being too "in your face." Also well known in town. We stayed in the sunrise room. About 45 min from canyon lands and 20 from arches. We ate at desert bistro (awesome) and Moab brewery (not good food but a fun watering hole). Loved our stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorain, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights here in mid March. The first night we were the only occupants and Anna was running the place solo. She made us feel right at home with her graciousness and hospitality. Even with a family of 4 plus grandparents the second night, we were unaware of their presence until we met them at breakfast. The location is perfect for travel to the local parks. We took in Arches and Canyonlands while there and have nothing but good things to say about both. Anna gave us excellent directions and advice on where and when to go to the parks. We will be back some day and hope that DHB&B is still there for our stay!

Room Tip: The sunrise room has a much less obstructed view than the sunset room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimW59GoTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertHillsBnB, Owner at Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much JimWW59GoTribe for the great review,
it is always nice to hear that our guests had a good time while staying at our home.
One thing that we really like to do is point you in the right direction so you don't have to spend time doing research especially when you have very limited time here in Moab like 2 or 3 days. There is so much to do and see that it could get overwhelming!

As I mentioned in the past reviews it is important for us that our future guests reading this great reviews understand that our Bed and Breakfast is nothing but our Home, in a residential neighborhood south of Moab, where we offer accommodations in a family friendly and relaxed environment.
We hope the many great reviews about our home won't be deceiving to some of our future guests who may be expecting too much from us or from our place.

That said we really enjoyed having you here and sharing our knowledge of this area with you
We hope to see you soon again
Vic, Anna and Andre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
az
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This B and B continues to provide a high quality experience.
Location: a 6-7 minute drive south of downtown, on a quiet neighborhood street, with lovely views of the surrounding area. Easy safe parking.
Breakfast: Always something homemade and healthy, e.g. French toast with cconut topping, pancakes with berry topping, omelet. Plus yogurt, toast, cereals, fresh fruit. Hot drinks. You sit family stye with the other guests and learn about the area.
Open kitchen: Fridge is stocked with yogurt, cold beverages, ice and is always available.
Computer available for guest use. Hot tub outside.
Bedroom was nicely decorated, very clean, had lots of plugs for our gadgets to charge. Large closet with small refrigerator. Our room, the Sunrise, also had a bathroom with a large double sink, good lighting, bathtub. Flat screen v with DVD player.
The owners are always available, live on site,and are happy to help with day planning. Anna even did our laundry which had accumulated during our trip. What an unexpected treat!
Many thanks to Anna and Vic for being such gracious hosts.

Room Tip: Sunrise , a corner room, has nice mountain views, 2 dble beds. They also have a larger room for fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertHillsBnB, Owner at Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much Hereford for the nice review.
It was great to have you guys back at our home, we hope to see you again soon, maybe next year, we have a few other spots for you to check out!
Thank you again
Vic , Anna and Andre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was our first time staying at a bed and Breakfast and while there was some trepidation to begin with, once there all fears were calmed. Vic and Anna were wonderful hosts and we had a wonderful time. The location was just right for us as we preferred the quiet of the desert to the hustle of being in town.

When we arrived we were offered either a discount on the room we booked or an upgrade to the Sunset Room at the same price we paid. We took the suite and were very happy with those accommodations. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large and the shower/whirlpool tub was very nice.

Vic is an excellent chef creating delicious breakfasts and was very helpful with what and where to visit and when.

We spent one evening in the hot tub under the desert stars and that was a wonderful end to a delightful day.

Not being an expert on B&Bs we have nothing to compare it to, but this experience will certainly not be our last. We would highly recommend the Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesS916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertHillsBnB, Owner at Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for the great review, Charles!
It was very nice to meet you and your wife I certainly appreciated the chats before the breakfast! We are very happy that your first experience at a B&B was a positive one . Hopefully from now on you'll be tempted to experience more B&Bs and enjoy the diversity of this type of family run establishments.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thank you again.
Vic, Anna and Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Our second visit to Moab led us to the Desert Hills B&B, based on reviews on Trip Advisor. While not a “poor” or “terrible” experience, it was far short of a 5 star one and atypical of the gushing reviews here. The B&B is located about 3 miles outside of Moab in a residential neighborhood. Part of the fun of a bed & breakfast is the charm and character of the home and accommodations. The home is a tri-level that was simply converted to a B&B, and felt like you were staying at Aunt Martha’s thin-walled home, complete with a set of stringent rules.

Our room was clean and comfortable, but very basic. They do offer laundry service which appears to be a big selling point for travelers. The property and views were very nice as it’s located on several acres. The friends and family room had a separate rear entrance and offered more privacy and its own porch. On the downside, there is a room directly above and one wall backs to the kitchen.

Breakfast, while presented nicely, fell short of similar B&Bs. On both mornings, the entrée consisted of one item (eg. Pancakes). Missing were sides, meats, etc. There is a station where you can have breakfast cereal and toast (yogurt is also available), but this is typical fare for any basic motel. This is the first B&B we’ve stayed where all of us left breakfast still hungry. I’m not sure if it was an intentional ‘vegetarian only’ menu that was being imposed, but it was not enjoyable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Daytonablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertHillsBnB, Owner at Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Daytonablue,
Thank you so much for taking your time to review us on Tripadvisor, it is very appreciated and important to us.
We are very sorry that our Home did not work for you and we were unable to hear any of this comments from you when you were here.
We really appreciate how in detail you described exactly how our Bed and Breakfast is set up, the description of the Friends and Family Suite and also the description of our breakfasts which indeed are not high in saturated fats but plenty of options for a fresh and healthy start of the day.
We apologize about the rules that we have at our Home, but it is our home and it is the home of the thousands of people that come and stay with us each year, and one of the most important things that we like every guest to respect are the quiet hours ( 10 pm to 8 am)
If you scroll down and read some of the answers that I constantly post after the reviews of our bed and breakfast you'll read :
As I mentioned in the past reviews it is important for us that our future guests reading this great reviews understand that our Bed and Breakfast is nothing but our Home, in a residential neighborhood south of Moab, where we offer accommodations in a family friendly and relaxed environment.
We hope the many great reviews about our home won't be deceiving to some of our future guests who may be expecting too much from us or from our place.

That said , we thank you for coming and staying with us on your second visit to Moab, we hope next time you'll find accommodations that much better suit your needs
We also thank you for explaining in details to all of our future guests that rely on Tripadvisor
what to expect and to find at our Home when they come and stay with us.
Thank you again
Vic, Anna and Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
3.9 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
726 reviews
9.9 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 35 in Moab
2,844 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,338 reviews
3.4 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
815 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cali Cochitta Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast

Property: Desert Hills Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1989 Desert Hills Dr, Moab, UT 84532-3329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is situated in a quiet residential area that offers our guests a relaxing coziness of a home like feel. From our backyard you can unwind amidst the sounds of nature enjoying the commanding views of stunning red rock formations and snow-capped mountain peaks. Desert Hills Bed & Breakfast is just minutes from downtown, Arches National Park, Canyonlands National Park, Dead Horse Point State Park, and just a short walk from Moab’s Golf Course where you can play 18-holes in one of the most visually appealing courses in the state. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Hills b&b
Desert Hills Hotel Moab
Desert Hills Bed And Breakfast Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing