We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kokopelli Lodge & Suites
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Was more than we expected even after reading the great reviews. pros: not like a regular motel more like home. exceptionally clean and well kept, outside yard to sit in at cool hours. Kitchen supplied with everything we needed to cook with. would stay here again. Cons: "swamp cooler" , the evaporative cooling system is loud but effective. In cooler months this should not be a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thank you for such a positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to enhance every guest travel experience with value and genuine hospitality and it looks as if we have done so. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

In the 1950's, we had huge cars and small houses with small bedrooms. (My brother and I shared 110 sq. ft. and thought nothing of it.) When we travelled, we stopped at "motor courts" and parked our huge car outside a small room. Call it what you will, the Kokopelli Lodge is still a motor court and the rooms are very small.

In the 50's, of course, there were precious few king-size beds so the rooms probably didn't seem so small but, when you put a king bed into the Kokopelli's lodge rooms, there isn't room for much else. There is a stack of television, microwave, and refrigerator (all small) in the corner, a small desk, and two nightstands. No room for any kind of dresser so that you can unpack your bags. The bathroom is bigger than on a cruise ship, but not much.

Given what they have to work with, Kokopelli's management does the best they can. The rooms are neat and clean. The towels are first rate. The jacuzzi is nice. The location is good.

But the air conditioner is loud and labors hard to beat the heat and you just cannot get away from the basic fact that the property is old and dated and the rooms are small by any modern standard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I agree with others that the place has friendly people. The visitor center a block away had some very helpful people who obviously love Moab and Utah in general. The rooms are small, but the outdoor patio in the shade makes up for it. Kokopelli was built a while back for miners so it is not shiny and new. It's definitely for those that like offbeat places as compared to Holiday or Hampton Inns. Our room was clean and neat. I would go back given the opportunity to travel in the Moab area again.Let them know if you are checking in later than 8! We forgot we had driven into a time zone change.
Close to Arches and Canyonlands National Parks, staff gave us ideas of other places to visit that were not as busy in the peak season.
Most people come down out of Arches and back in town by 6 pm. The remainder leave soon after sunset so if you like the twilight hours, it is worth the wait until you have the whole place lot to yourself. We had Garden of the Gods to ourselves in the twilight. Take a little flashlight if you are unsure of yourself. It is worth waiting out the crowds. By the way, watching shooting stars in the parking area at Panorama View parking lot, was excellent after 10 pm.

Room Tip: I chose the Inn over the Suites based on Trip Advisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northcaptivaisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Our room had the feel of an older beach cabin, with some whimsy to the decor. Not much in the way of furniture, though. Only one chair along with small tables on each side of the bed. At a block off the main drag, most everything is within an easy walk. Compared to the prices for other places in town, this was cheap. I'd definitely stay here again if traveling to Moab.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here after reading positive reviews and weren't disappointed. It is a small establishment and you get excellent friendly service. The room was fine and although it seemed at times that some fittings were about to drop off everything worked and we were comfortable. We loved Moab and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Room was very large, had fridge & microwave. Nice yard to set in & they except pets too. It was like being with friends. Would recommend to all, & close to everything too.

Room Tip: PETS ALLOWED, niee extra, because so many don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyjo913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Great location and our room was simple and very clean. Perfect for us.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1largemarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

We are so pleased that you and your dog enjoyed your stay at the Kokopelli Lodge. We look forward to having you and your dog stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.6 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 37 in Moab
864 reviews
9.3 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 37 in Moab
2,962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#27 of 37 in Moab
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#6 of 37 in Moab
759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopelli Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopelli Lodge & Suites

Address: 72 S 100 E, Moab, UT 84532-2638
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Moab
#3 Best Value Hotel in Moab
#7 Family Hotel in Moab
#12 Romantic Hotel in Moab
Price Range: £23 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopelli Lodge - 9 unique & colorful rooms with small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Full bath. 1 block off the highway at the center of town. Kokopelli Inn Towner - 4 apartment style units with full kitchens. Fenced front yard. Located 1/2 block from Main street at the center of town. Kokopelli 100 West - 10 modern style cabins surrounding a courtyard. Extended kitchenettes, shared hot tub and BBQ grill. 1 block off Main St. Meadow House at historic Pack Creek Ranch - sleeps 5 people. Full kitchens. Seasonal, community swimming pool. At the foot of the La Sal mountains about 20 minutes from Moab. A beautiful year-round cabin. All properties have onsite recycling, Wi-Fi , green cleaning, shared hot tub and are pet friendly. Our mission: "To enhance every guest's travel experience with value and genuine hospitality." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Lodge And Suites
Kokopelli Hotel Moab
Kokopelli Motel Moab
Kokopelli Lodge & Suites Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing