We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super pet friendly, cute updated retro motel, walking distance to shops/restaurants”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kokopelli Lodge & Suites
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Super pet friendly, cute updated retro motel, walking distance to shops/restaurants”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay here! This motel is an updated, retro motel with just 8 rooms. It was quiet, cozy, and cool. The rooms are small but functional, with comfortable beds, a desk, plenty if room for belongings and plugs throughout. The bathroom is tiny but well-appointed for the space (great sink and storage but the shower is small!). I do recommend bringing your own toiletries. The TV is tiny, too, but we weren't in town to watch TV.

Pets stay free and there is a great outdoor yard with grass, tables, and benches that is completely enclosed and well-shaded, it was a great spot for our pooch to play.

The motel is very near to shops and restaurants, too. We walked to dinner and for coffees and breakfast in the morning. It's also close to a creekside trail (right at the end of the street) that I walked the dog on in the morning (we even saw deer!).

The staff was wonderful as well, very friendly and helpful.

There's a hot tub, too, though we didn't get a chance to use it.

Loved this motel and would definitely stay again. Highly recommend for anyone traveling with a dog, especially!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MyCuppaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Owner at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We love our pet guests (and their people)! So glad you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    198
    52
    23
    17
See reviews for
127
232
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We go to Moab often. Have stayed at several of the conventional hotels. Felt like I was getting totally ripped off. Rooms were usually pretty awful and riduculously priced. Have stayed at a couple of these properties, and love them all. Very clean, delightfully eclectic, fun, funky and eco-friendly. Quiet, all the tenants are very respectful. Sleep is a rare commodity for me. These units are so quiet, I can and have slept til noon. Love that there is recycling available in your room. The 1 bedroom units are warm, colorful, cozy, great for a couples weekend. The bathroom doors are a little heavy, on a slider and ARE NOT sound proof. The larger units are wonderful when we bring the family along. Full size kitchen appliances, so we can bring food to prepare. We always use the hot tubs and the barbecue grills. Yards are spacious, with lawn chairs; great place for the pup and grandkids to safely play. Wouldn't mind the curtains on the sliding glass doors looking out on the yard to be a little wider, for privacy and security.

Prices are in line with conventional hotel rooms. We are usually in Moab on high season weekends, when rooms are at a premium, but these rooms always remain reasonable. The staff is great, happy, cheerful and very helpful. Last time we stayed, I actually got a call from the front desk, concerned that we had not checked in yet and wondering if we were ok on our travels there. Don't get that attention and caring from a chain.

Have already made several reservations for our next visits to Moab.

Room Tip: Never had a bad one yet. The front desk is really helpful explaining what is available and what the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Really appreciate that these practices are firmly in place at these rooms.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Owner at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Reviews like yours make our day! Thank you so much for appreciating what we are and what we stand for. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The rooms are small but adequate. We like the friendly, warm atmosphere and proximity to town. If you are looking for fancy, don't go here. If you are looking for a room for the night and your activities are outside, this is the place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bins outside the main office and one in the room.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Owner at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Our goal is to "enhance every guest's travel experience with value and genuine hospitality". Sounds like we nailed it in your opinion! Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a nice quaint little lodge! The rooms are decorated in colorful colors and everything is very clean. Also the location is great. It's tucked away just one block from the main street. I like it because it's close to Pasta Jay's, Zax, and the diner. Also the staff are super friendly and it was probably the most convenient check-in experience I've ever had. Will stay here again :)

Room Tip: Book early during peak season and weeks where big events are going on like the car show and jeep jam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VentureRider11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Owner at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for the pat on the back. We did our job and you noticed. What more could we ask for? See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Hmmm...my feelings on the Kokopelli Lodge are mixed, thus the 3 star rating. It feels like the lodge isn't sure what it wants to be: budget motel, eco-friendly lodge or a boutique hotel. The price is too high to be budget, yet I didn't find enough eco-friendliness to make it quality. For example, if they're going for eco-friendly they could charge even more if the place was solar powered. If they're going for budget, lower the price. If they're going for a boutique experience, add more personal touches and service.

Now the good stuff. The location is amazing! Downtown dining and shopping were quite literally a block away. I liked the decor. It was kind of modern-retro-chic. The room and bathroom, though small were cozy and just fine. I didn't have an issue with space that other people have noted. If you have a pet with you, that would probably bump this up to a 4-star experience.

I was satisfied, but left feeling...meh. Nothing really stood out to me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Owner at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We don't think of it as an identity crisis, more like a hybrid, non-traditional lodging option! We certainly are a value option by any Moab standard, and we are the only gold rated eco friendly lodging in Moab as rated by trip advisor. Not so much boutique, but unique - not a lot of motels with purple towels and lime green sheets! We aren't trying to be anything but clean, affordable, and a little bit of fun while respecting the earth. I wish we could have impressed you more, but hopefully you will give us another shot. Thanks for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The owner and manager are both very pleasant and appear to be custumer focused. The notice on the room wall indicated that they would straighten and resupply the room. However, when we returned at 4 pm nothing had been done. We were completely out of TP (because there was no back-up supply), the towels were still on the bathroom floor, and the coffee supplies hadn't been restocked. When brought to their attention they promptly remedied it.

We also asked for a blanket as the bed only had a sheet and bedspread, with a small additional wool throw. Again, when we returned there was no blanket, so I queried the manager and was told there were none available, which seems remarkable. Later, the owner produced one, but rather than going the extra mile and remaking the bed with the blanket, it was just placed, folded on the bed.

Finally, the window in the bedroom (unit 9), although frosted, needs a curtain to reduce early morning light; and there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom, which means the mirror is unusable for shaving and make-up after showering. The carpet is badly stained at the entrance area and should be cleaned or replaced.

Again, good intentions, but the attention to detail is lacking, and the room needs upgrading, as noted.

Room Tip: Avoid room nine, unless improved as described.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Owner at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
I am so sorry you were disappointed with your stay. While we are aware that we are not everyone's cup of tea, we do try hard to make everyone's stay pleasant and truly apologize for failing in your eyes. We do appreciate your comments though as we grow from all types of feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in the 1BR Suite, was very clean and comfortable and came with all the amenities - pots/pans/plates/silverware etc. We stocked up on food at the supermarket and saved lots of $$$ by making our own meals. Located on a quiet side street only blocks from the main drag. Gas grill and hot tub but we did not use these. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had unit # 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madler718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Owner at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you, thank you for your kind words! We truly appreciate hearing that we met your expectations and contributed to the enjoyment of your vacation. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#22 of 34 in Moab
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 34 in Moab
1,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
0.7 mi away
Inca Inn
Inca Inn
#2 of 34 in Moab
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopelli Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopelli Lodge & Suites

Property: Kokopelli Lodge & Suites
Address: 72 S 100 E, Moab, UT 84532-2638
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Moab
#1 Best Value Hotel in Moab
#7 Family Hotel in Moab
#12 Romantic Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopelli Lodge - 9 unique, colorful rooms each with a small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Located 1 block off the highway at the center of town. Kokopelli Suites - 3 apartment style units with full kitchens. Fenced back yard. Located 4 blocks from the center of town. Kokopelli Inn Towner - 4 apartment style units with full kitchens. Fenced front yard. Located 1/2 block from Main street at the center of town. Kokopelli Golf Condo - 2 level townhome on Moab's stunning golf course about 6 miles from downtown. 2 bedrooms plus a single bed in a nook. 2 full bathrooms. Full kitchen. Seasonal, community swimming pool. Kokopelli Creekside Cabins at historic Pack Creek Ranch - 2 units, each sleeping 4 people. Full kitchens. Seasonal, community swimming pool. At the foot of the La Sal mountains about 20 minutes from Moab. All properties have onsite recycling, Wi-Fi (creekside cabins have a community supplied service), green cleaning, shared hot tub (except Golf condo which has a community pool in season) and are pet friendly.Our mission: "To enhance every guest's travel experience with value and genuine hospitality." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Lodge And Suites
Kokopelli Hotel Moab
Kokopelli Motel Moab
Kokopelli Lodge & Suites Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing