We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great value in expensive Moab!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kokopelli Lodge & Suites
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the lodge rooms for just two nights earlier this month while we explored the nearby Arches and Canyonlands NPs. We thought this was a fantastic place to stay for the money. The email communication prior to us booking the room was also great- All of our questions were answered promptly. The location was great in that we could easily walk to all the shops and restaurants in Moab, but it was quiet where we didn't hear any noise at night. The room was a bit tight, but it was just fine for the two of us. The free WIFI was a nice bonus as well! This budget-friendly place definitely exceeded our expectations.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for such a fabulous review, it sounds like your stay in Moab was truly wonderful! We are so happy to know that we were able to provide a great location for you. All of our in town properties are perfect because they are so close to main street yet quiet and peaceful. We do our best to keep our prices competitive so you can relax and have more fun, we hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We found Kokopelli quite by accident. We were staying at a different small motel in Moab, Utah and were driving down the street and saw their sign on a side street. We went in and made reservations for the next night because we were drawn by the quaintness of Kokopelli. Beautiful garden where we could sit under a shade tree and enjoy the peaceful tranquility of the surroundings. Then we met Frank, the host puppy, well, full grown dog, actually and we hit it off very well (because we gave him treats). Great staff, great rooms and pleasant surroundings. A must stay in Moab and treats for Frank.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and mentioning Frank! All of our properties allow pets and if you have to travel without your fur-babies, you may be lucky enough to meet Frank (or one of our other part time staff dogs) and receive some loving animal therapy. Our shaded patio area is a real treat, we are so glad you were able to take some time to kick back and enjoy this peaceful area. We look forward to seeing you next time and let us know you are coming because Frank would love to see you again too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It was the most pleasant overnight stay on our two-week´s trip through South-West States of USA.
Located in a quiet place in the center of the city, near of Arches National Park.
Pleasant and very helpful staff. Discount at the City Market. We can fully recomend this lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mirko J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Wow, we are so pleased to hear that our place was so nice for you on your southwest adventure! We are a small locally owned business and it means a lot to us to make your stay the best it can be, we truly love Moab and love to share it's beauty with you on your vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Often times hotels this cheap are dirty/scuzzy. Not Kokopelli! I stayed here on the nights of Tuesday, Aug. 12, and Sunday, Aug. 17 -- just before and after a 4.5-day canoe trip on the Green River. Some might consider the rooms a bit "primitive", but, hey, try sleeping in a tent on sandbars for 4 nights and you'll find out what primitive is.

Good location: one block from the center of town. Pleasant, cooperative staff.

My only complaint is that the rooms have no phones. (They *do* have air conditioning, refrigerator, and microwave.) I guess they figure most all travelers have cell phones these days....

Note 1: Kokopelli is not a turn-of-the-century Italian hotelier, but, rather, "a [Native American] fertility deity, usually depicted as a humpbacked flute player" -- see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kokopelli for more.

Note 2: Don't be confused by the big "Atomic Motel" sign in front of the lodge. When you see that, you're in the right place. ("Atomic Motel" was its former name. There *is* a smaller, newer Kokopelli sign closer to the street.)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank specht3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

We are so happy that you took the time to review, thank you! Also thank you for your notes on what the Kokopelli actually is. We bought and restored the Atomic Motel sign this past year. The hotel was originally built to house miners for the uranium boom of the fifties and we thought it would be really neat to have the original sign, history buffs love this! Sorry about no phones in the rooms, but yes most people do have a cell now, though we are happy to let our guests use our office phone if they need to. We are also happy to hear that you mentioned our green efforts, every bit counts to keeping this planet beautiful!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Here are the details:
Staff:
Very friendly at the check-in.
The price-performance ratio was very good..
Room:
Clean rooms with colourful interior.
The hotel has free WiFi and a hot tube
You can park in a safe parking lot in front of the hotel.
Area around the hotel:
Shops and restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to point out these features of our hotel! We take pride in our work here and it's truly important to us to provide a great experience for our guests. We love to see you smile! We have a few properties in town Moab (from hotel rooms to full suites) and keep prices competitive for a more relaxing stay, and we love to provide perks like free wi-fi when so many establishments charge extra. Thank you for mentioning our colorful interior, we try to stand out from the rest and be pleasantly different. We hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good value for a well located motel. The rooms were spacious with unique decor. There were numerous restaurants within walking distnce and it was relatively close to Arches National Park. We would recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for a nice review, it really means a lot to us! We are a small local establishment and we love to do our best to make our place unique and enjoyable. Thank you so much for recommending to friends. We also enjoy our location in Moab, being so close to main street yet very quiet and it's so nice to be close to local attractions. We look forward to you next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A work colleague suggested this motel to me. Fancy? No. Clean? Absolutely. Reasonable. You bet. Kitschy? A bonus!. We stayed in room 9 (near the outdoor Jacuzzi) on the evening between a whirlwind trip to both Arches and Canyonland National Parks. The staff was super friendly and the room was just perfect for our needs. They allowed us to leave our well-behaved dog in the room during the evening hours when we hiked to Delicate Arch for the sunset. A great property that I’d definitely would return to and would already recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lilysdads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate it! We love being a unique establishment and standing out from the standard hotel room. We also love providing a place to stay while traveling with pets, sometimes they need to come along too. Were you able to relax in our fenced in garden area with your pooch? Be sure to check out our other properties which all allow pets (with no pet fee) on your next stay, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.3 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 37 in Moab
2,973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 37 in Moab
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#6 of 37 in Moab
762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
2.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 37 in Moab
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopelli Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopelli Lodge & Suites

Address: 72 S 100 E, Moab, UT 84532-2638
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Moab
#7 Family Hotel in Moab
#12 Romantic Hotel in Moab
Price Range: £23 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopelli Lodge - 9 unique & colorful rooms with small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Full bath. 1 block off the highway at the center of town. Kokopelli Inn Towner - 4 apartment style units with full kitchens. Fenced front yard. Located 1/2 block from Main street at the center of town. Kokopelli 100 West - 10 modern style cabins surrounding a courtyard. Extended kitchenettes, shared hot tub and BBQ grill. 1 block off Main St. Meadow House at historic Pack Creek Ranch - sleeps 5 people. Full kitchens. Seasonal, community swimming pool. At the foot of the La Sal mountains about 20 minutes from Moab. A beautiful year-round cabin. All properties have onsite recycling, Wi-Fi , green cleaning, shared hot tub and are pet friendly. Our mission: "To enhance every guest's travel experience with value and genuine hospitality." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Lodge And Suites
Kokopelli Hotel Moab
Kokopelli Motel Moab
Kokopelli Lodge & Suites Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing