We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great basic motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kokopelli Lodge & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kokopelli Lodge & Suites
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great basic motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

This place is a great find and provides perfect access to downtown Moab, without being right on busy Main St.

The room was basic (as you would expect in a motel) but really, really clean. The owners also brighten things up a bit with coloured towels and sheets, which helps to make it feel less motel-like.

The bathroom was spotless and the shower was nice and powerful.

They have free wi-fi and the owners provide lots of great info when you check in too, including a discount card for the local market.

The only reason I have rated 4 rather than 5 here is because our room was not serviced during our stay, but I do think that this was an oversight rather than being the standard procedure.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Front Office Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for the great review! I am so sorry we did not do your stay-over service, we have been training some new housekeepers for our busy season and it must have been missed, usually we do everything we can to make our guests experience enjoyable! Thank you for mentioning our decor, we strive to be a fun and unique place to stay, and we love to tell our guests about all the best things to do in Moab. All of our in town properties are off of the main street but within perfect walking distance of restaurants and shops. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    189
    52
    23
    17
See reviews for
121
220
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the lodge rooms for just two nights earlier this month while we explored the nearby Arches and Canyonlands NPs. We thought this was a fantastic place to stay for the money. The email communication prior to us booking the room was also great- All of our questions were answered promptly. The location was great in that we could easily walk to all the shops and restaurants in Moab, but it was quiet where we didn't hear any noise at night. The room was a bit tight, but it was just fine for the two of us. The free WIFI was a nice bonus as well! This budget-friendly place definitely exceeded our expectations.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for such a fabulous review, it sounds like your stay in Moab was truly wonderful! We are so happy to know that we were able to provide a great location for you. All of our in town properties are perfect because they are so close to main street yet quiet and peaceful. We do our best to keep our prices competitive so you can relax and have more fun, we hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We found Kokopelli quite by accident. We were staying at a different small motel in Moab, Utah and were driving down the street and saw their sign on a side street. We went in and made reservations for the next night because we were drawn by the quaintness of Kokopelli. Beautiful garden where we could sit under a shade tree and enjoy the peaceful tranquility of the surroundings. Then we met Frank, the host puppy, well, full grown dog, actually and we hit it off very well (because we gave him treats). Great staff, great rooms and pleasant surroundings. A must stay in Moab and treats for Frank.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
Green Features: The Kokopelli staff are doing a great job in helping the environment by using environmentally friendly machines and composting waste.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and mentioning Frank! All of our properties allow pets and if you have to travel without your fur-babies, you may be lucky enough to meet Frank (or one of our other part time staff dogs) and receive some loving animal therapy. Our shaded patio area is a real treat, we are so glad you were able to take some time to kick back and enjoy this peaceful area. We look forward to seeing you next time and let us know you are coming because Frank would love to see you again too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

It was the most pleasant overnight stay on our two-week´s trip through South-West States of USA.
Located in a quiet place in the center of the city, near of Arches National Park.
Pleasant and very helpful staff. Discount at the City Market. We can fully recomend this lodge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirko J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Wow, we are so pleased to hear that our place was so nice for you on your southwest adventure! We are a small locally owned business and it means a lot to us to make your stay the best it can be, we truly love Moab and love to share it's beauty with you on your vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Often times hotels this cheap are dirty/scuzzy. Not Kokopelli! I stayed here on the nights of Tuesday, Aug. 12, and Sunday, Aug. 17 -- just before and after a 4.5-day canoe trip on the Green River. Some might consider the rooms a bit "primitive", but, hey, try sleeping in a tent on sandbars for 4 nights and you'll find out what primitive is.

Good location: one block from the center of town. Pleasant, cooperative staff.

My only complaint is that the rooms have no phones. (They *do* have air conditioning, refrigerator, and microwave.) I guess they figure most all travelers have cell phones these days....

Note 1: Kokopelli is not a turn-of-the-century Italian hotelier, but, rather, "a [Native American] fertility deity, usually depicted as a humpbacked flute player" -- see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kokopelli for more.

Note 2: Don't be confused by the big "Atomic Motel" sign in front of the lodge. When you see that, you're in the right place. ("Atomic Motel" was its former name. There *is* a smaller, newer Kokopelli sign closer to the street.)

Green Features: They have a good conservative ethic: they asked that I return a local hike pamphlet they gave me, when done with it (to be reused).
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank specht3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
We are so happy that you took the time to review, thank you! Also thank you for your notes on what the Kokopelli actually is. We bought and restored the Atomic Motel sign this past year. The hotel was originally built to house miners for the uranium boom of the fifties and we thought it would be really neat to have the original sign, history buffs love this! Sorry about no phones in the rooms, but yes most people do have a cell now, though we are happy to let our guests use our office phone if they need to. We are also happy to hear that you mentioned our green efforts, every bit counts to keeping this planet beautiful!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrhardt, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Here are the details:
Staff:
Very friendly at the check-in.
The price-performance ratio was very good..
Room:
Clean rooms with colourful interior.
The hotel has free WiFi and a hot tube
You can park in a safe parking lot in front of the hotel.
Area around the hotel:
Shops and restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to point out these features of our hotel! We take pride in our work here and it's truly important to us to provide a great experience for our guests. We love to see you smile! We have a few properties in town Moab (from hotel rooms to full suites) and keep prices competitive for a more relaxing stay, and we love to provide perks like free wi-fi when so many establishments charge extra. Thank you for mentioning our colorful interior, we try to stand out from the rest and be pleasantly different. We hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good value for a well located motel. The rooms were spacious with unique decor. There were numerous restaurants within walking distnce and it was relatively close to Arches National Park. We would recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moabinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Kokopelli Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for a nice review, it really means a lot to us! We are a small local establishment and we love to do our best to make our place unique and enjoyable. Thank you so much for recommending to friends. We also enjoy our location in Moab, being so close to main street yet very quiet and it's so nice to be close to local attractions. We look forward to you next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.6 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#3 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
9.1 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
0.7 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inca Inn
Inca Inn
#2 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopelli Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopelli Lodge & Suites

Property: Kokopelli Lodge & Suites
Address: 72 S 100 E, Moab, UT 84532-2638
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Moab
#2 Best Value Hotel in Moab
#7 Family Hotel in Moab
#12 Romantic Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopelli Lodge - 9 unique, colorful rooms each with a small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Located 1 block off the highway at the center of town. Kokopelli Suites - 3 apartment style units with full kitchens. Fenced back yard. Located 4 blocks from the center of town. Kokopelli Inn Towner - 4 apartment style units with full kitchens. Fenced front yard. Located 1/2 block from Main street at the center of town. Kokopelli Golf Condo - 2 level townhome on Moab's stunning golf course about 6 miles from downtown. 2 bedrooms plus a single bed in a nook. 2 full bathrooms. Full kitchen. Seasonal, community swimming pool. Kokopelli Creekside Cabins at historic Pack Creek Ranch - 2 units, each sleeping 4 people. Full kitchens. Seasonal, community swimming pool. At the foot of the La Sal mountains about 20 minutes from Moab. All properties have onsite recycling, Wi-Fi (creekside cabins have a community supplied service), green cleaning, shared hot tub (except Golf condo which has a community pool in season) and are pet friendly.Our mission: "To enhance every guest's travel experience with value and genuine hospitality." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Lodge And Suites
Kokopelli Hotel Moab
Kokopelli Motel Moab
Kokopelli Lodge & Suites Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing