We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay in Moab.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunflower Hill, A Luxury Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Moab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Moab.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

What a glorious find. Sunflower Hill is the perfect B&B in Moab.
We were greeted with a warm welcome, shown around the premises, and then to our room, which was perfect.
Spotlessly clean, well appointed, nice bed, good view, thoughtful decoration, slightly small tub, but brilliant shower all made for a great stay.
The buffet breakfast was good, and a lovely touch was the coffee and treats laid on in the day room.
It was unfortunate that the pool was closed during our stay (understandable as the blossom was falling off the trees) but the hot tub was available and was nice at the end of the day exploring the National Parks.
All in all a great stay and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulWhitehead409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    56
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
429
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights and loved this place! The location was great, close to all restaurants and shops. The property was lovely and extremely well maintained. There were many areas where you could relax and share a glass of wine or read. The staff was knowledgable and friendly and eager to please. We stayed in "The Garrett" which had two bedrooms decorated in a "Pottery Barn style". The linens were fresh, towels bright and furnishings new. The breakfast was very good and featured a spread of eggs,sausage, pancakes, fruit, muffins, toast and oatmeal. Juice, coffee and tea were also served. The pool area was inviting and the hot tub was enjoyable after a day of hiking and riding ATVs. I would recommend this property to anyone! It was so much better than staying at one of crowded, noisy touristy hotels in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyLeo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We just checked in with Janice and I know I don't need to wait to write this review. The place is beautuful, the cookies ,which we enjoyed while soaking in the hot tub(fresh baked homemade cookies, mind you) are such a nice touch, and our bed feels PERFECT after a great day on our bikes. Ahhhh...so nice to splurge every now and then!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

If you have never stayed in a B&B or Inn before, this one will spoil you on future visits because few others (at least in this price point) will measure up to the Sunflower Inn. Yes, it’s that good and you will have to book early because rooms tend to fill up quickly. Our 3 night stay in Moab was booked about a month prior to visiting and we were unable to stay in the same room for all three nights (due to availability). Some might be deterred by this but we saw it as an opportunity to sample a variety of rooms to get a real feel for the Inn as a whole.

The Sunflower consists of two main houses privately nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood just a short walk from the Main St. It offers abundant off-street parking in the rear as well as a garage for locking up your bikes. There’s a pool and Jacuzzi which are equally inviting to recharge after a day of hiking, biking, and sightseeing. The main house has a common room that always has nice snacks, coffee, tea, and homemade goodies. There’s also a free laundry room for use. The secondary house has a large breakfast area as well as refrigerators for your use.

The Rooms:
Lookout – a basic room with a balcony set in the secondary house.
Garret – a charming two bedroom suite with plenty of room and a nice balcony. This was our favorite room as it had it’s own private stairway entry that popped out near the breakfast area.
Bowery – a large room with sitting area located in the main house. Nice balcony.

The Breakfast:
Unlike traditional B&Bs where the breakfast is predetermined by the innkeeper, the Sunflower offers a wide variety of breakfast offerings plus the chef special of the day. The setting is buffet style but much better than your typical buffet. Eggs, meats, fruits, breads, yogurts, and homemade granola (excellent, this coming from a non-granola eater!). The breakfasts were excellent, offered something for everyone, and allowed you the flexibility to power up on whatever items you desired. This provided us a great way to start each day’s adventure in Moab.

All things considered, I didn’t encounter a single “con” for staying here. This place is the real deal for which all future B&Bs are compared to.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Daytonablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
247 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was our second visit to Sunflower Inn and it was just as good as it was 9 years ago. The Inn is very comfortable and in the main house there is a nice common area with magazines, books, coffee, tea and cookies daily. We have stayed in the main house twice and because we were moved both visits, we stayed in three different rooms, The Apple Cellar, The Bowery, and the French Bedroom. Each one was large, well appointed, clean and comfortable. I would not recommend The Arbor Room because it was very small, old appointments, old TV, and by itself, not in the main house. Breakfasts are wonderful and generous in portions. We had loved their special steel cut oatmeal so much I had asked for the recipe in 2004 and am using it still!

Gregg, the Innkeeper, is personable and very helpful offering excellent choices of activities in the area. This was especially helpful because we were there during the sequester and Arches was closed! Gregg had some wonderful options (like Corona Arch, Castle Valley and the Petroglyph Drive) up his sleeve and we were more than satisfied with the substitutions. This is just another reason why you get more bang for your buck with wonderful hosts and personal attention.

This inn or B&B is located on a quiet side street but it is within walking distance of town. It does not have views of the desert or red canyons but the places we checked that did have views were either dumpy or way too expensive and far out of the area for dining etc.

Room Tip: If you like spacious, well appointed rooms, stay in the main house, you can't go wrong. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelleygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This B&B was the first stop on our 3 week tour of the southern Utah National Parks and what a great way to begin the trip. On a quiet street a short walk to some great restaurants and shops in the main part of the town of Moab this gem was perfect in every way. Comfortable, clean, can walk to town, great breakfasts (available anytime between certain hours – and you wouldn’t want to miss their terrific breakfasts). They have thought of all the amenities to make your stay comfortable. Can even do your wash here, and their common room in the main house with its cozy fireplace is always open to have a cup of tea or coffee (with delicious cookies every pm) or just sit and read a book! We stayed in the main house (Loft room) and would stay there again or in the French room next door (we took a peek). Everyone from the owners to the house keepers and the help in the dining room were just so pleasant. A special shout-out to Kathleen who was so helpful in getting our reservations sorted out. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LUV2TRAVELU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a lovely inn. We were greeted very cheerfully, the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The room was lovely and comfortable, and the location was very convenient, yet quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simplegifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.5 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
2.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
9.0 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hill, A Luxury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hill, A Luxury Inn

Property: Sunflower Hill, A Luxury Inn
Address: 185 N 300 E, Moab, UT 84532-2421
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and attentive service, superior comfort, and uncommon style combine for an exceptional getaway experience. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with jetted tubs and private balconies. Situated in a spectacular garden setting with wooded pathways, flower gardens, shade trees and a pool, the inn provides an oasis of peace, relaxation and beauty. Enjoy a sumptuous breakfast buffet each morning, refreshments in the afternoon. Perfect location just three blocks from downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hill Hotel Moab
Sunflower Hill, A Luxury Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing