We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older updated property that is a great deal in an expensive town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rustic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rustic Inn
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
242 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Older updated property that is a great deal in an expensive town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

It's your classic, built in the 50's/60's motel that has bveen recently updated. Nothing fancy, just basic and comfortable. The Bathroom/Kitchen setup is kind of odd, as you use the kitch sink area as your bathroom sink as well, but it works. The pool is a good outdoor one and the front desk staff (probably the owners) are a wealth of local knowledge. In a town where most places charge well over $100 a night during the summer months, this place is a great deal (I paid $85).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007DAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    231
    72
    26
    11
See reviews for
110
205
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

After finding no vacancy at a number of inns recommended in lonely planet, we were recommended Rustic Inn. Delighted to find a place off the main street, the staff was very friendly and we ended up staying two nights instead of one. After a night of bad sleep near Bryce Canyon, we needed a quiet place to stay and found it at Rustic Inn. The interiror was clean, the beds comfortable, and while it was a little bizzarre brushing one's teeth in the kitchen sink, we really did not care. The location allowed us to walk to various places as well, always a plus!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katealur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

For the price and the location this is the best deal in Moab. The rooms were very large, very clean and quiet. It is only a few yards away from mainstreet. We stayed five nights in this motel and loved it. We will return next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilma61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

Our expectations weren't too high for Moab after reading many reviews for different motels, all of which seem to have a mixture of positive and negative reviews, but we've had a wonderful time at the Rustic Inn (3 nights).

It's a basic motel, very reasonable priced. One block off main street, so it's quiet, but still close to shops and dining. Outside of motel doesn't particularly look attractive, but room was clean with a large fridge and microwave. Laundry room was clean as well. Friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay, would stay at this motel again and can recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fjorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Or
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

We Loved the Rustic Inn!
The rooms are clean, large and quiet. The queen beds are very comfortable! Full sized frig. The staff were helpful, accomodating, fun and friendly. Located a block from the center of town. We just loved this place for the three nights in May we stayed in Moab - one night before a rafting trip down the Green River and two nights afterwards. Also went to Arches and Canyonlands for hikes. The area with its outer-worldly red rock formations and canyons is incrediable. A must see!

The rooms have a well used look about them so don't expect a new, shiny, sterile motel experience at the Rustic. There are a couple chain hotels in Moab for that experience. But if you want a quiet, comfortable, clean and friendly place to stay right downtown at reasonable prices (complete with real glasses and cups (no plastic!), come to the Rustic Inn!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

Our family of three stayed here in the one-bedroom apartment. My overall perception of the Rustic Inn is that it may be a good value for some wishing to find a cheap, clean place to sleep. The staff was friendly. However, we won't book this hotel again.

The old room was clean, but the aesthetics were missing. For example, the screen on the window left giant gaps that bugs came in. None of the doors (inside or out) could be closed without pushing hard. The toilet seat slipped, and there was no operating fan in the bathroom (there was a fan - we could unfortunately see it by a bare light bulb). The tv was placed on top of the full size refrigerator. The sofa bed was the least cushioned I've ever seen (our daughter had to sleep on top of pillows so the bed wouldn't hurt her back). Paint was sloppily sprayed partially across the entry door on the inside. And, it felt quite dark (only the front door and the poorly screened window in one bedroom could be opened). My wife commented that "this is like camping - only with an oven" (later she mentioned something about camping next time instead).

In terms of noise, every flush in the rooms above us went down through pipes immediately behind the headboard of our bed (i.e. it wasn't quiet so we didn't sleep well). Frankly the "apartment" felt like an extra area that was converted into rental space - except without adequate utinsels (three motley spoons?).

The pool was still quite cold (even in mid May) and clearly not heated. However, it was nice to have it to ourselves. The area around the pool was a bit like our room - some places there was only a foot or two space between the pool and the fence to get by, with a wall/building cobbled together as the back wall. One of the two lights in the pool was burned out. However, the pool was quite clean. The location of the Rustic Inn is excellent for walking to downtown. And, as mentioned, the staff is quite friendly.

If you're looking for old, partially functioning, clean, and cheap, this might be an ok choice. But based on the overall value and functionality, it's our opinion that there are better places to stay in town.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live4VacationTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

We chose to stay here mostly because of price as we just needed beds/bathrooms to sleep at night. However, after we arrived, we found out that the rooms are very large, got a fridge and microwave, with a counter too. Its also got Wi-fi, which they didn't advertise on their websit efor some reason. At night, its very quiet as its 1 block away from the Main Street. Staff was helpful as well. While its not the best looking hotel at Moab, it served its purpose for us.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yacro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.6 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
0.4 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Inn

Property: Rustic Inn
Address: 120 E 100 S, Moab, UT 84532-2642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rustic Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rustic Inn is one block east of downtown Moab but walking distance to the most popular bars, restaurants and shopping. The rooms are quiet and large with a few family units. A heated pool, with picnic cabana is available. Coffee pots, microwaves, and refrigerators in every room. The Inn is adjacent to the Mill Creek Parkway for shaded walking with or without your pet. Pet rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rustic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Hotel Moab
Rustic Motel Moab
Rustic Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing