We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you for letting us take refuge for a little while”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in McLean
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Thank you for letting us take refuge for a little while”
Reviewed 2 February 2011

During the snowstorm last week (January 26th) my wife and I were traveling through McLean, when the roads became impassable. After several hours on the road, we walked to the Staybridge to get a room. They were unfortunately sold out, but let 50-60 of us hang out by the fire in their great room, watch tv, and use their phone to contact family. We were told several hours later that they couldn't allow such a large crowd to sleep in the lobby, and we were asked to leave due to Fairfax County regulations. I'm not sure why some would post the reviews that they have, claiming bad hospitality by this property - we were treated well, and the Fairfax Police were the ones that asked us to leave.
This is a great hotel (I've stayed in it before) - I got married in Tysons Corner and almost all of our out of town guests stayed at this property due to its reputation.

Thank you for helping out a stranded motorist for a few hours!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnonLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    56
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
113
29
17
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I usually don't feel the need to write reviews, but I had to after reading the comments alleging that the management is "heartless." From what I can tell, the management allowed DOZENS of people -- not guests --- to stay on their premises for 6 hours or more because of the weather. That means using their bathrooms, telephones, TV sets, wi-fi, etc. The management correctly informed everyone there were no rooms at the outset. Rather than take umbrage at the fact that the management quite reasonably asked them to make other arrangements, they should appreciate that they were given those hours of comfort. These people could have been camped out in one of the nearby restaurants and would have been required to pay for food/drink and use of those premises, but for some reason they think a hotel -- private property -- has some obligation to provide free amenities for as long as the refugees want?

I lived in DC, and McLean specifically, for 25+ years and the failure of the community to prepare for snow removal, or better yet, stay home and not clog the roads was not the fault of this hotel. These people have no basis to post any sort of negative comments since they were not guests of the hotel and did not make use of the rooms, buffet, or anything else. They need to appreciate that they were provided for at all!.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LongtimeFan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2011

I arrived at Staybridge Suites during the snowstorm that hit Northern VA on January 26, 2011. After being in the car for 4 hours and not moving, I joined about 70 other guests in the lobby. Even though the hotel didn't have any vacancies, they were extremely helpful and very accommodating given the circumstances. This hotel is an extended stay hotel where they don't have a large room to accommodate the surge of guests they experienced.

I want to thank Staybridge and their staff for everything they did for us during a stressful situation. I live locally but will definitely recommend this hotel to any out of town guests coming to the Tysons area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank my2kids0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

How about a cold & heartless award....

Shortly after work in Mclean, Virginia, traffic was at a stand still. As such, I stopped at the local Staybridge Suite Hotel on Old Dominion Drive in Mclean hoping to find a room.

Unfortunately it was sold out and so I stayed in the waiting area. As time passed, numerous other stranded motorists had the same idea congregating in the comfortable and (especially) warm spacious lobby. Around 30 of us were relaxing and passing time watching TV, working on computers and chatting on the phone or with each other. Around 11 p.m., the night manager said that we (30 peaceful "refugees") posed a security risk since there would be only one front desk person and we did not have reservations. Notwithstanding my numerous personal interactions and attempted compromises, the Fairfax County police showed up to remove all parties. 30 people disbursed who had been previously in the car for 5/6 hours and had just as much time to reach their final destination.

What a sad testament to humanity, to the owner and to what they consider the \"hospitality\" industry.

Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank WriterMo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

This hotel has the aboslute worst management I have ever experienced. January 26,2011 there was a snowstorm that started in the Northern VA Area at about 3pm. After 6 hours of driving (less than 5 miles) and getting stuck or turned aroud due to downed power lines, overturned tractor trailer's, or wrecked cars, I managed to make it to this staybridge Inn & Suites. When I arrived, I was told there were no vacant rooms, and there were no other hotels with availability in the area. There were about 65 other people just sitting in the lobby in the same predicament as I was. I joined them and we all hoped to just wait out the storm, and wait for the roads to be cleared.

At about 11pm the Hotel Manager came out to tell us that he was going to make us leave the hotel at 11:30. Everyone was concerned, because the roads were impassable, some people had abandoned their cars and walked to the hotel to seek shelter, and the roads were still in bad condition. At 11:30, the police arrived telling us that we would have to leave or would be charged with trespassing since we were not paying customers. We all were shocked and more than willing to pay any price just to be able to sit in a chair in the lobby but they would not allow it.

I completely understand in usual circumstances that a hotel would not want non-paying guests to be loitering in the lobby. HOwever this was an extreme circumstance, and think it was completely heartless and unprofessional to kick out 65 people into the cold/unpassable roads. I am a 25 year old girl, who was forced to go out into the dark, cold, snowy roads completely alone. Or the 65 year old woman who had abandoned her car on a nearby street and got a ride from a stranger to the hotel. THis is the worst display of customer service i have ever experienced, and I will NEVER EVER give business to any Intercontinental Hotel Group Hotel as a result.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cunninkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I stay here frequently, as I telecommute to a firm in Tysons Corner. This is a great choice for the Tysons Corner area for these reasons:

Location: Only 2 miles from the heart of Tysons Corner, but not crammed in the middle of the hotels clustered across from the mall at the intersection of Routes 7 and 123.

Cleanliness: Very clean, but without that invasive smell of cleaning fluid that offends the nostrils at some hotels.

Service: Cheerful, fast and accomodating.

Rooms/Sleep: Very quiet rooms with excellent beds and most importantly pillows lead to a good night's sleep. Flat-screen TVs with 50 channels (including multiple HBO and ESPN), along with the requisite movie menu. Since this is a "suites" hotel, you have a full size refrigerator, microwave, stove top and flatware.

Value: If you book ahead, you can get a rate under $100, which is a steal in this area. Otherwise, the price is on the high end for those not on an extended stay, for which this hotel chain is targeted. They also have a good breakfast and nightly "happy hours" with dinner food and drinks.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTambor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

This is a very good location for most conferences, meetings and business in Tyson Corner and McLean area. Very good freeway access. Close to restaurants and shopping if you need it. Staybridge is Holiday Inn's long term stay lodging - with all the pluses of a Holiday Inn and the extras of a fully equipped apartment.

Room was really clean and well maintained. Lots of little extras for the long term business traveller.

Suite is well equipped, small kitchen, fully functioning. Living area and separate bedroom, bathroom areas.

Very nice breakfast buffet (7 days a week) and simple but satisfying managers dinner (Tues - Thrs).

Very good WI-FI and lined internet access - FREE for both.
FREE Parking; NON Smoking rooms. Nice gym and laundry room.

Super nice bed and well equipped clothes closet - hamper, iron, ironing board, etc.

My only OTHERs comment:
- hallway noise a little excessive when you are sitting in kitchen/desk area. however, it is very quiet in bedroom areas. I needed to conduct business at desk, which is in kitchen area - so noise was a little distracting during conference calls.

- curtains don't close all the way - let in way too much light and being on the first floor lets the entire parking lot transients check things out --- a few well placed hair clips solved this - but they probably should look at a better solution (other than the visitors hair clips)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYSAILORGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLean
2.0 mi away
Hilton McLean Tysons Corner
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
#7 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
#3 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tysons Corner Marriott
Tysons Corner Marriott
#6 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner

Property: Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner
Address: 6845 Old Dominion Dr, McLean, VA 22101-3725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > McLean
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in McLean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Comfortable at the Staybridge Suites McLean Tysons Corner in McLean, VA. The Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner is located close to the METRO RAIL SILVER LINE at the MCLEAN STATION. The hotel is located in the heart of McLean, Virginia within a few short minutes from the CIA and major corporations like Northrop Grumman, Mars, BAE, IBM & Mitre. Our location offers convenient access to Tysons Corner (shopping), Downtown Washington, DC, I-495, I-95, Route 66, Washington Reagan (DCA) and Washington Dulles (IAD) Airports. The AAA Staybridge Suites McLean Tysons Corner offers Apartment-like suites featuring free wired and wireless Internet access, fully equipped kitchens and all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term real estate needs. Our smoke free, pet friendly hotel offers Studio, One-bedroom, and Two-bedroom / Two-bathroom apartment-like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV with in-room entertainment, free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, two phone lines with a direct dial phone number and personalized voice mail. Other apartment-like conveniences include 24-hour business center which offers free Internet access, printing, faxing, and copying capabilities, library, complimentary guest laundry facilities, fitness center, outdoor pool, courtyard with guest accessible BBQ grills, daily complimentary deluxe breakfast bar and evening SOCIAL receptions (Tuesday-Thursday). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Mclean-Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Mclean Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing