We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, charming, and refreshing”
Review of Main Street Berlin

Main Street Berlin
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Berlin Main Street is a thriving and diverse community designated both as a Maryland Main Street Community and an Arts and Entertainment District located just 7 miles from Ocean City. Our Welcome Center is always open with someone to help you Monday-Friday 10am-4pm and 11am-1pm on the weekends. Our Main Street boasts over 50 retail shops and 10 dining establishments, coffee shops, bakeries, sweets, antiques and more. The Arts are alive in Berlin with galleries featuring fine art, local and national handcrafts. We have an Art Stroll the 2nd Friday of every month. History is everywhere with 47 structures on the National Historic Register. The Taylor House Museum is the local archive for all things historic in Berlin. Come visit Berlin and join us for a quiet journey back in time where we are Historically Charming & Artistically Alive.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Quiet, charming, and refreshing”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Imagine going back in time to days when you could sleep with doors unlocked, everybody knew you by your first name, and days went by slower. This is Berlin. Narrow streets, brick faced Victorian style buildings, lovely green gardens, farmer's markets, and shops filled with things from days gone by. Everything from antiques and new furniture to bistros and quaint bakeries. It's a must stop for us every time we're in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank momoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    66
    19
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming Historic Town”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I've visited Berlin many times. My favorite stores are the multi-dealer antiques shops. There's something for every taste! If you prefer boutiques or art, Berlin has you covered. Some day, I may even stay at the historic hotel in town!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OpenGatesFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, DE
Level Contributor
169 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Short drive from Ocean City”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were in OC, MD for the weekend and decided to take the 20 minute drive to Berlin. Very quaint, small town just off of Route 50. I love to browse through antique shops so I was in heaven. Many shops and vendors to see, as well as restaurants. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MMB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
372 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Small Town for Antique Shops”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A great small town. Main Street is really only a few blocks long but there are a few good places to eat or just get a soda. Several very good consignment antique shops with tons of vendors. If you like browsing or buying, it is worth the trip from OC. Less than 30 minutes but a world away from the beach. Check the times stores are open. Things tend to close early on certain days, like Fridays.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keedysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
252 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Quaint, clean and friendly”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a beautiful town, just minutes from Ocean City MD. We parked in a public lot, and walked around. The Atlantic Hotel was very beautiful and there were antiques galore. The toy store alone was a trip down memory lane. Most wasn't open, since it was off season but I will go back. The Globe restaurant is definitely great and I want to try some of the other places. Definitely worth a drive to see.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Main Street Berlin also viewed

 

Been to Main Street Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing