We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B and amazing breakfast”
Review of Waystead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waystead Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Berlin B&B and Inns
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B and amazing breakfast”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had an excellent time at the Waystead Inn. We stayed one week-end in November, the house and the room were great and warm, decorated with a lot of taste. Eric the Inn keeper was very friendly, had very good advice for local food options and cooked amazing breakfasts for us!
Berlin is a charming small town, close to Assateague Island, Ocean city and other attractions.
We definitely recommend the Waystead Inn!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amaury A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    4
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingburg, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My wife and I just came back from two of the most pleasurable, memorable, restful days of our entire lives. We arrived at the Waystead Inn tired and cranky from hours upon hours of travelling and were met with the warmth of an old friend we did not know that we had, Eric, the Inn Keeper. We were shown to our room, which was not only clean and comfortable, but was also graciously appointed in both modern as well as colonial décor. We were asked what time we would like breakfast. We replied, "eight o'clock, please". It was not a problem for this innkeeper who proved over the course of our visit to be sincerely interested in both the pleasantness and restfulness of our much anticipated vacation time. For the next two mornings we were treated to the breakfast creations of this classically trained chef who has, by his culinary acumen, raised breakfast making to the state of an art form.

In our opinion, the Waystead Inn is the place to go when visiting Ocean City MD. It is close enough to enjoy all that Ocean City has to offer (it is literally a hop...skip...jump to Ocean City) as well as providing a clean, quiet room where the summertime breezes blow away from the hustle and bustle of the busy waterfront. Truly the best of both worlds!

The Waystead Inn is within walking distance to the center of Berlin, which all on its own, is a jewel of a Town just aching to be explored by the weary traveler looking for an old fashioned town where people are still just plain nice just because it's nice to be nice.

So to be short...go to the Waystead Inn in Berlin Md...the accomodations, the food, the Innkeeper, not to mention the town, are worth your hard earned time away. I give it a 5 star rating, only because that is the maximum amount that this site would allow. Otherwise, I would have given it more.

The Waystead Inn will be a favorite vacation place of ours from now on.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of equal value and residual quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnthonyandLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

You might not know that the B&B has special dinners available. My wife, friends and I went to a wonderful dinner the other night. The food was out of this world. High end restaurant quality. Eric the chef is extraordinary!

If you haven't checked it out, do yourself a favor.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Selliboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013

When planning a stay at the Eastern Shore this charming B&B is as the local's say Delmarvelous! It is charming and welcoming. The rooms are clean and spacious and a nice blend of the period with modern amenities (flat screen tvs and wifi). We are currently staying here so although it is seriously off season there is still enough to do. however the real surprise is the culinary expertise of Innkeeper and chef Eric. The perfectly prepared and presented breakfast was exceptional. The Inn is small enough(5 rooms) that if planned well could be reserved to host a private event as we are considering for the future. I'm confident that any other meals prepared for a birthday or small event gathering would be as wonderful as the breakfast!

Room Tip: We are staying Blue Bay room however all the rooms seemed equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Fleeing hurricane Sandy, we found high ground at the Waystead Inn located in the charming town of Berlin, Maryland. We had our choice of any of the 5 rooms and upon inspection found them all to be clean and fresh smelling, not heavily perfumed. Each room is a suite with sitting area, bedroom and bathroom. Modern flat screen HD television and vast selection of cable channels. Rates seem a bit steep until you are exposed to Chef Eric's fine breakfasts. Prepare to be pampered by his ministrations in the kitchen. This is not your typical "Continental Breakfast" buffet offered by every other $100 dollar a night B & B. You will be exposed to a well planned and executed culinary masterpiece every morning. You can even have Chef Eric prepare other meals of the day for a very reasonable fee. There is much to see and do a short walk from the Waystead in the town of Berlin. Or you can spend quiet time in the large reading room downstairs by the large open fireplace. You will come away refreshed and renewed.

Room Tip: They are all quiet due to the location off of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highcamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdsboro, PA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Newly renovated property with five rooms located on the edge of Berlin. Close enough you can walk to center of town in ten minutes. Extensive renovations have converted an old house into what could be a very nice B&B. Even the 200 year old oak floors have been brought up to good condition. If you are looking for a romantic, charming old B&B this is not it. It leans a little to the spartan side even though they have decorated with period pieces. The dichotomy between the renovated part of the house and the section that had to be rebuilt totally is glaring. Going from the oak floors in the hall to the pergo laminate of the dining area was like going through a time warp. It seemed out of place with the rest of the house. There was no room service at all, not even making the beds, during our stay. The shower had used soap inside from the previous tenant which makes me wonder if it was cleaned prior to our arrival. The floors in the room did not look like they had seen a vacuum for some time. Even though we were on the second floor the water pressure was lacking and it took forever for the hot water to arrive. One of the owners Eric is a gourmet chef trained in Europe and he made the breakfast. When he brought out the food he gave a description of each dish. The quality was good and the portion size average. They do not have breakfast hours here, instead you tell them what time you want to eat and they will accomodate you. They have been open for about a year and still have work to do. I will not return because of the lack of room service and cleaning practices.

Room Tip: Web site recommends you bring your own toiletries. They will provide some organic bar soap but that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcarmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berlin
139 reviews
5.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#45 of 103 in Ocean City
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites West Ocean City
17.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Salisbury
Sleep Inn Salisbury
#2 of 14 in Salisbury
434 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bedtime Inn
Bedtime Inn
#79 of 103 in Ocean City
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waystead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waystead Inn

Property: Waystead Inn
Address: 15 Harrison Ave, Berlin, MD 21811-1042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Berlin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waystead Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly-restored Bed & Breakfast in historic Berlin, Maryland, featuring five en-suite Guest Rooms and great breakfasts to your liking. Walking distance to downtown Berlin. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing